Body Stuff
Body Stuff


3.5
great

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (85 Reviews)
August 21st, 2013 | 14 replies


Release Date: 07/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Body Stuff?

I’ve watched enough movies in my day that involved a lot of bodies being stuffed into a bag. In fact, you couldn’t stuff enough body bags full of movies I’ve watched that have involved such a dehumanizing end to life. I’m simply trying to make meaning/ humour out of the name Curran Reynolds – drummer for Today is the Day and Wetnurse - solo E.P. and I’m coming up with nothing. Maybe after recording this strangely haphazard piece of music, Reynolds decided it was too eclectic to be called anything but a bunch of awesome ideas stuffed into the human mind. No? Forget it! Let’s focus on what’s created within these six short but sweet tunes. Reynolds plays for two of metals most underrated and unique bands on the face of the earth and I don’t say that very lightly. Both bands have had their fair share of influential albums and it’s important to note how many genres both of these bands are made up of. This is all reflected unto Body Stuff while every track represents something unique to the quirks of metals past glory. Some places, it feels like Michael Gira is taking the wheel with a twist for the post-metal avant-garde; in others, Justin Broadrick’s crunchy hypnotic guitar chords ring out with a sense of atmosphere. Reynolds has even decided to bring Killing Joke’s post modern metal to the table and it works extremely well. Through the haze of influences, Reynolds locks onto an efficient use of peaks and valleys, but only for moments of time as if to tease the listener for what’s in store when he unleashes a full-length. The drawback to Body Stuff is that it’s done and over too quickly, making me click to the first track before I just put the E.P. on repeat. I damn well hope he continues on with this band if this is what’s to come on future releases.



Recent reviews by this author
The Austerity Program Beyond CalculationGodflesh Pure
Sun Worship Elder GiantsLord Mantis Death Mask
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
user ratings (1)
4.5
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
August 21st 2013


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Short and sweet like the E.P. Digging this hard!

http://bodystuff.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

BallsToTheWall
August 21st 2013


44473 Comments


Good review brother, need to hear this.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Relinquished
August 21st 2013


25097 Comments


nice find bro, great review too

you're missing a couple apostrophes here also

CaptainDooRight
August 21st 2013


29419 Comments


Have a pos.

Listened through but unfortunately didnt dig.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Wizard
August 21st 2013


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank you boys. Review number 80 is a big surprise and will most likely get featured (hopefully).

Captain, it's not for everyone but thanks for taking 10 minutes of your life to try it on : ).

you're missing a couple apostrophes here also

Where about? If you're referring to Reynold(s), it's actually his name.

CaptainDooRight
August 21st 2013


29419 Comments



'Thank you boys. Review number 80 is a big surprise and will most likely get featured (hopefully).'

I'm guessin Vermis, Ulver, or new Ataraxie.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2013


8368 Comments


I think Relinq was mainly aiming at the "metals".

I have no idea if this is my thing or not but I'm confident I can also take the 10 minutes to give this a shot.

EDIT: @Captain, I'm pretty sure you're wrong (also pretty sure I know what it's going to be)

CaptainDooRight
August 21st 2013


29419 Comments


Yeah I figured Wiz would be a little more obscure than that. Let me try another stab since its so obv now:

Vasaeleth...

CaptainDooRight
August 21st 2013


29419 Comments


Also, someone needs to call dibs on new Obliteration EP.

MO
August 22nd 2013


18755 Comments


nice wiz

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2013


6145 Comments


Good review, pos.

Interesting music, but the songs are too short temporally.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

Wizard
August 22nd 2013


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think they're just a glimpse/ experiment into what he can do.

Yeah I figured Wiz would be a little more obscure than that. Let me try another stab since its so obv now:

Vasaeleth...


I will probably do that one too. The review is of something I don't think you like too much ; ).

CaptainDooRight
August 22nd 2013


29419 Comments


;)

Sounds good. Regardless, even if I don't like it, I plan to support your work man. I should stop guessing though as blowing your cover wouldn't be any fun now would it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2013


8368 Comments


Yes, let's keep the anticipation and tension levels high!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy