Born of Osiris
Tomorrow We Die Alive


3.5
great

Review

by voiceofresistance USER (1 Reviews)
August 21st, 2013 | 128 replies | 3,888 views


Release Date: 08/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So do we still need to bow down...?

13 of 16 thought this review was well written

Born of Osiris is one of the most popular deathcore bands, and for good reason. Their debut The New Reign was a hard hitting release in 2007 and featured some of their most memorable songs. What they did on TNR was lay it all out on the table so that we can see the potential they had. Then A Higher Place came out and they seemed to have dropped a lot of the synth/keys. The whole album mainly revolved around the great riffs Lee wrote, and not much else. Then The Discovery was released and it projected BoO into the higher echelons of metal. The Discovery was chock full of shredding by Jason Richardson, and Joe Buras provided some of the best synth and keys I've ever heard on a metal album.

Some say they'll never be able to write better material than what was on The Discovery. Is that true?

Well here we are 2 years later and Born of Osiris just released their new album, Tomorrow We Die Alive, and its easy to understand the path they chose to take with this release. This album is packed to the gills with great synth. TWDA is what AHP was for its guitar riffs, except its all about the keyboards and synth this time. It all revolves around the uplifting, enlightening, and at times dark and ethereal synth/keys. As for the guitars its easy to tell that Lee just isnt Jason, but he CAN write some really melodic leads and it all fits so well with the entire vibe of the album. A lot of people will complain about how less technical this is, and that its just a bunch of open chord chugging and whatnot but the truth is technicality isnt the only thing that pleases the ear. Sometimes simple riffs can be even more enjoyable that super technicality.

As for the vocals, the only change up is clean vocals. Ronnie has a great mid scream that he utilizes a lot, which I personally like. Joes backing vocals are decent, nothing that stands out. Now the cleans arent you're normal whiney 'core' clean vocals but it almost sounds a bit like This Or The Apocalypse-esque type strained clean singing. And it only appears on Mindful, Exhilarate, and Absolution.

The drums are top-notch. Cameron never disappoints. I find this album very drum oriented along with the synth. There are some great fills scattered throughout. The production can be compared to The Discovery, it just feels a little empty at some points throughout the album.

So is this album better or worse than The Discovery?
Generally it is a step below The Discovery, but it makes for a much more fun listen.


Top Tracks:
Illusionist
Aeon III
Source Field
The Origin


user ratings (423)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Deuce8311 (2.5)
"Your soul's reflection, is it what it used to be? So take another look at yourself. Tell me, what d...

phggt (2.5)
Tomorrow We Die Alive is trying too hard....

Esoteric (3)
While Born of Osiris loses almost half of their charm on The Discovery, Tomorrow We Die Alive is a r...

Jacquibim CONTRIBUTOR (2)
Tomorrow We Die Alive either represents a band in a stylistic mid-life crisis, or one that just does...


Comments:Add a Comment 
voiceofresistance
August 21st 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I know im gonna get a lot of bullshit for this first review... so let the shit roll in

joshuahuntkc
August 21st 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm glad you changed the rating. Because it is NOT a 4. It really isn't even a 3.5 but you did an alright job with your case for your 1st review. I see a few grammatical errors, and there are probably a few more. You should edit them out before more people see it or you are more than likely going to get neg'd. In the future go into more detail on the album. You hardly covered anything other than the sound and skill of the individuals and that doesn't support your rating. In the future try talking about whether or not it is cohesive, address the stand out songs in detail and rather than basing the review on a comparison, consider it it's own entity. Just some tips and good luck in the future.

Mabbitt
August 21st 2013



1328 Comments


First sentence "Born of Osiris are undoubtedly one of the most popular deathcore bands that have
existed." seems pretty awkward, consider trying to reword it? Also, you shouldn't put "this is my
first review" at the very top. The comments section will do just fine. Some grammar issues, but a
decent review.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

voiceofresistance
August 21st 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

ill take more time when writing my next review to check for grammatical errors

voiceofresistance
August 21st 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I wanted to do a track by track review but ive noticed that those dont generally go over well on sputnik

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2013



4921 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I completely disagree with your rating, but review was well written, so pos.

Digging: Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow

oltnabrick
August 21st 2013



30160 Comments


A generic, lackluster effort by a band that once specialized in technical progression.

Digging: Miyuki - Fellow Citizen

jacobybelgium
August 21st 2013



67 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can't say I agree this is "fun" as the only good tracks were 8 9 and 10, but I'll pos

JustinKing
August 21st 2013



1286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think the album has its moments of greatness, like Illusionist. Not deserving of much higher than a 3.5 at most, but I personally find it more interesting than A Higher Place, for the most part. This is a bit disappointing and underwhelming, yes, but not terrible.

voiceofresistance
August 21st 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

TWDA and A Higher Place are my favorites. I love The Discovery, but the second half of the album is sometimes hard to digest. This I can listen to all the way without losing interest.

DANcore
August 21st 2013



201 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sounds sort of lazy compared to The Discovery, but definitely has its moments.

Digging: Mobb Deep - The Infamous

JustinKing
August 21st 2013



1286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Discovery is actually the only release by these guys that holds my interest all the way through. The rest of their stuff is really solid, but a little monotonous to my ears.

ILJ
August 21st 2013



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"Then the infamous The Discovery was released and it projected BoO into the higher echelons of metal. "

infamous implies for bad reasons. serial killers are infamous. albums that are generally regarded as good are not.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

pjquinones747
August 21st 2013



763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad someone put up a positive review on this. It's not all that terrible, and has some really grabbing tracks.

Digging: Wovenwar - Wovenwar

JustinKing
August 21st 2013



1286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree. I don't think it's bad at all, just a bit safe with a few decent little quirks at the right time. Also don't see why people are taken aback at the use of cleans. They used them back in the Rosecrance EP on a song or two. Regenerate on The Discovery had a quick moment of cleans, and A Solution was all cleans. Was that just entirely forgotten?

JustinKing
August 21st 2013



1286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also, nice avatar and dig, PJ.

pjquinones747
August 21st 2013



763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Right back at you, pal.

bloc
August 21st 2013



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Haha love the summary

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

CK
August 21st 2013



4888 Comments


FUCKING BOW DOWN

Fluttertrank
August 21st 2013



17098 Comments


i like that song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy