Green Day
iDOS!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Townsendium USER (10 Reviews)
August 20th, 2013 | 10 replies | 869 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The tasty filling of a pretty fiiiiiiiine sandwich

1 of 10 thought this review was well written

A lot of people consider Green Day (and punk rock as a whole) to be dead. And it's safe to say when Green Day announced a trilogy of albums, people thought they were completely bonkers, especially in this day and age. However, with this trilogy, Green Day proved they still have it, and there is a future for punk rock.

¡Dos! (My favourite of the trilogy, ¡Uno! In a close second) is far more diverse than Green Days earlier works, spanning from Punk rock to garage rock (which is continued into ¡Tré!). The majority of the songs on this record are listenable, with a few that really are skippable. "F@#k time" whilst being a very catchy song, and one of the best on the album, is rather cringe worthy at times and just sounds as if Billie is trying his hardest to remain young and "with the kids". Someone should probably tell him that most kids these days are more into drinking themselves to death, and less into pre-marital sex. "Makeout Party" is similar in this aspect, about "spinning the bottle" and the dreaded game of truth or dare. Again this is one of the best songs on the album, but you will find your self grimacing a little.

"Lazy Bones" and "Ashley" are far more like old Green Day, drawing similarities with songs from Nimrod and Warning, and consequently my favourite tracks. They may not be new and original but they're very listenable, very catchy and just in general fun to listen to, well, for me anyway (I get the feeling 90% of people are gonna disagree with everything I've said).

"Lady Cobra" is by far the worst track on the album. The majority of reviews I've read for this album have said this is the best track on ¡Dos!, but I'm afraid I strongly disagree. It's irritating, it's bland, and the lyrics are just plain stupid. "Nightlife" is an alright track, but it just sounds too much like filler, its listenable, but you'll no doubt find yourself skipping it.

Recommended tracks:
Stop When The Red Lights Flash
F@#k Time
Makeout Party
Lazy Bones
Ashley
Wow! That's Loud
Amy



Recent reviews by this author
Korn The Paradigm ShiftMy Chemical Romance Danger Days
Runaround Kids Linked ArmsGreen Day ¡UNO!
Metric Old World Underground, Where Are You NowBreaking Benjamin Breaking Benjamin
user ratings (633)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kronzo
August 20th 2013



991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you listed half the album as reccommended tracks and barely talked about the album's sound

Townsendium
August 20th 2013



51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You see I'm not reviewing this for other critics to judge, cos frankly I couldn't give less of a shit what they think, Im reviewing this for the general public, giving my opinion. I can see on this website that's wrong, it's like being on a website with a bunch of nazis

DegausserGuernica24
August 20th 2013



1134 Comments


If you didn't want this review to get criticism, you shouldn't have posted this on a public reviewing website where ANYBODY could voice their opinion. Including you.

ConorIsNotHere
August 20th 2013



1245 Comments


Review is pretty bad for the same reasons Kronzo has stated. And there is a lack of confidence in your writing, for example: "for me anyway (I get the feeling 90% of people are gonna disagree with everything I've said)." This has no place in a review.

slep
August 20th 2013



1604 Comments


"Someone should probably tell him that most kids these days are more into drinking themselves to death, and less into
pre-marital sex. "

wut

Also, I agree with what everyone else has said so far. Way too much first person, "I feel this way but other don't" type of
dialogue going on here without any real objectivity in critically analyzing the album.

DegausserGuernica24
August 20th 2013



1134 Comments


Do your English teachers NOT teach you this shit? This first rule of writing a standard essay is NOT to use personal pronouns, and the same rules apply for writing a review on this website. The only people that should be allowed to use personal pronouns on this website are staff & contributors.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2013



3414 Comments


The only people that should be allowed to use personal pronouns on this website are staff & contributors.


I see where you're coming from with this, but it's not like people have to be like "Well, now that I'm a contrib, I can start using personal pronouns! Whee! Time to write horribly!" That said, if you mean it in a way like "If someone can use personal pronouns and write really well regardless/use them to actually improve the quality of his/her writing (cough cough Irving cough cough)" I totally agree. I'd love to see more people work on the art of personal pronouns that are really well done, when it's done well the writing really shines.

On an unrelated note, HI EVERYBODY I'M BACK

DegausserGuernica24
August 20th 2013



1134 Comments


Yeah, I was referring to Chan's review of TDAGARIM.

JS19
August 20th 2013



4215 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If you have a personal connection to an album it's difficult not to use personal pronouns in an anecdotal way. other than that they are not for serious reviews. A well written review sounds professional and flows well like a good piece of academic or journalistic writing, not a schoolyard conversation with a friend (this).

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 20th 2013



49957 Comments


Personal pronouns are only appropriate if you're taking about a personal connection with an album

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy