Hammock
Stranded Under Endless Sky



Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take a little walk through the back of your mind...

How long does it take for a band to prove to it's audience what they're truly capable of? A few years? A few albums? Well, the truth is that the time it takes for a band to fully live up to their potential varies from band to band. With Hammock, however, the post-rock duo hit the ground running with their debut album Kenotic, a record that would no doubt please the handful of fans that they managed to garner in those early days. Their 2005 EP, Stranded Under Endless Sky, serves as nothing short of an outstanding follow-up to the debut release just earlier that year. Stranded Under Endless Sky is everything that a fan of Hammock would expect them to release, yet manages to remain exempt of predictability. It contains four beautifully crafted songs that are some of their most uplifting and yet melancholic to date. One of the greatest things about this EP is the fact that each tune is a highlight in and of itself. The opening title track, for example, kicks the record off with the sound of a train whizzing by, then quickly transforms into one of the most melodically depressing yet undeniably addictive ambient pieces of music one's ears could have the pleasure of encountering. The band continues to keep true to their trademark blend of ambient music and post-rock on tracks like "Birds Flying in Sequence," a song with a much happier tone that other musicians in the genre strive to achieve without sounding forced. When all aspects of the album are considered, the only criticism that can really be made about Stranded Under Endless Sky is in regards to the record's short length. Typically, making this sort of a claim about an EP sounds unreasonable, but here the songs feel as though they were meant to be supported by other tracks that aren't here, like something is just... missing. Also, the music on this EP is so magical that you're going to wish it was much longer than a mere twenty-five minutes. Regardless, these are factors that can mostly be overlooked in the long run. What you really got in the end with Stranded Under Endless Sky is one of the deepest, most spectacular EPs you will hear in a long time, which is just one of the many things Hammock proves to be capable of here.



Recent reviews by this author
Cold Mailman Heavy HeartsPolyenso One Big Particular Loop
Spider Island Dark NovaPestilence Doctrine
Hammock Departure Songs
user ratings (51)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
CK
August 17th 2013


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Short release deserves a short review. Seriously though, I hope I did it justice. This is seriously amazing stuff. If you haven't heard this, you need to fix that:



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5BPfeS6LRA

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2013


53942 Comments


Dude this isn't even short

CK
August 17th 2013


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review or album?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2013


53942 Comments


It's 25 damn lines

Call me when you write a 12 liner

CK
August 17th 2013


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have failed as a human being

JS19
August 17th 2013


5634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome - this isn't one of my fsvourites by them but it's still damn good. Love the review as well

Digging: Kammarheit - The Nest

CK
August 17th 2013


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! This has some of my favorite Hammock songs

p4p
October 30th 2014


1608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Birds Flying In Sequence is lovely

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2014


37225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bonus track Sora is the bees knees

Digging: Childish Gambino - "Awaken, My Love!"

CK
March 6th 2015


6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So I don't believe Sora is a bonus track on this album, I think that it was a demo or a b-side for Raising Your Voice...



EDIT: You're right actually. It apparently was a bonus track for the vinyl release of this. I actually remember contemplating buying it and am a little upset I didn't, since this EP has my favorite Hammock cover art and the song rules

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2016


18081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best bands ever, Birds Flying In Sequence is a god tier Hammock track.

zaruyache
December 3rd 2016


14823 Comments


I've somehow never listened to this. :-[

Digging: City of the Sun - To the Sun and All the Cities in Between

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2016


18081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ohhhh get on this man, they have some nice unexpected tribal drumming in that track. I wish they'd do that more often it suits them well.

zaruyache
December 3rd 2016


14823 Comments


This is on my shortlist for today, definitely.

budgie
December 3rd 2016


741 Comments


zaru you havent rated raising your voice.. trying to stop an echo

have you skipped that one?

Digging: Radio Moscow - Brain Cycles

Artuma
December 3rd 2016


26630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

less length, more beauty

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - In My Blood

zaruyache
December 3rd 2016


14823 Comments


Raising Your Voice... Trying to Stop an Echo
135 scrobbles


I've jammed all their albums I think, but their first few only casually from stereo speakers but not yet from headphones, which I usually need to do before rating something. I'm sure I'll 4/5 them all at some point.

budgie
December 3rd 2016


741 Comments


haha right on.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2016


18081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I gotta jam a bunch more of their eps and The Sleepover Series. Having more Hammock to listen to is always great.

zaruyache
December 3rd 2016


14823 Comments


this is rly pretty. I love droney ambient junk like this, Celer, Willamette, SotL.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy