Palms
Palms


4.0
excellent

Review

by AaronBatt USER (50 Reviews)
August 16th, 2013 | 19 replies


Release Date: 06/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A super-group that's worth more than the sum of it's parts

After the break-up of post-metal darlings Isis, drummer Aaron Harris took a break. That is, until Isis guitarist Bryant Clifford Meyer and bassist Jeff Caxide invited Harris to jam. And with that, the group Palms was born. However, the group needed a singer. So, they reached out to Deftones frontman Chino Moreno, who quickly signed up. Two years later, we have the results of this "pairing", their self-titled album. And it's ***ing amazing.

I must warn you, if you were expecting to hear Isis with the guy from Deftones singing, you're going to be extremely disappointed. This is not, I repeat this is NOT metal. Instead, we get a ***ing great shoegazing rock record. Mind you, there is still aggression to be found (the chorus & back end of "Future Warrior" for example), but on most of Palms, the boys from Isis provide us with some of the most beautiful and most relaxing atmospheric rock music in quite awhile. Seriously, you could put this record on, meditate and fall into a trance. "Future Warrior" drifts along over the course of four-odd minutes before the song shifts into a slightly more aggressive tone, as distorted guitars lead the way and the drums crash like waves on a dark night.

"Patagonia" and "Tropics" both sound like they could soundtrack a deep-sea dive, as the dynamics of both songs give off a feeling of drifting down slowly. Caxide's bass really shines on "Patagonia", as his melodic playing circles gently around Moreno's vocals instead of smothering them. "Mission Sunset" and "Antarctic Handshake" and both 10 minutes long, and while they do drag on a wee bit too long, it's an enjoyable ride. These songs were composed very cinematically, and for some people that may not be their thing, but I absolutely love this album. Although there is almost no real metallic aggression or explosive venting of anger, Palms does have a ton of emotions to it. The music is very beautiful and seductive, and each song will make you feel something different. This album is great for those days when you just want to go for a peace & quiet type of drive through the middle of nowhere.

While for some, Palms (the album) may be underwhelming because of it's lack of aggression, the album itself presents a whole different type of beast for both the former Isis members and Chino Moreno. The production is fantastic, as each instrument has air to breathe and the dynamics are simply flawless. As a whole, Palms is a great shoegazing rock type of album that is the ideal soundtrack for pursuits of mind expansion and for listening in a euphoric haze. It's taken long enough for Palms to arrive, but the end effect is a hypnotic ride through emotions and dynamics. Expect this one to be on some AOTY lists.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyCirca Zero Circus Hero
Zac Brown Band The Grohl Sessions, Vol. IMetallica St. Anger
Gary Clark Jr. Blak and BluJack White Lazaretto
user ratings (364)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Ryan Kroner (2.5)
An aesthetically pleasing effort that utterly fails to satisfy on an emotional level....

RivalSkoomaDealer (3.5)
While often overly-indulgent, Palms offer a debut that is at times equally rewarding....

Peter K. Mark (4.5)
A cinematic odyssey of majestic proportions....


Comments:Add a Comment 
johnnydeking29
August 16th 2013


9045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rating above 3.5; neg

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

johnnydeking29
August 16th 2013


9045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Am joking - good review, am glad someone can really dig this (I only have it above a 3 because of Tropics)

InbredJed
August 16th 2013


5884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Isis are only "darlings" on this site.

This is a decent review but comes off as kinda
fanboyish.

Digging: JJ Cale - Okie

minty901
August 16th 2013


1999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

...no they're not. isis are pretty much highly-regarded everywhere you look.

InbredJed
August 16th 2013


5884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Darling implies "sell-out" to me, I guess that's just a hang up

InbredJed
August 16th 2013


5884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or maybe "flavour of the week" rather than sell out

AaronBatt
August 16th 2013


113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly I'm not even that much of an Isis fan, I just put that quote in there because that's how Isis seems to be regarded. Just thought I'd clarify it.

Butkuiss
August 16th 2013


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, Isis are pretty universally critically praised.

AaronBatt
August 16th 2013


113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually meant darlings as a compliment, now that I think about it, I could've chosen a better way to compliment Isis.

minty901
August 17th 2013


1999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no that word is fine and it applies. to me it means the one band that stands out in the genre as being the most loved and important band in it.

InbredJed
August 17th 2013


5884 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ya I apologize for gettin caught up on the word.

Also, I wasn't saying the review sounded Isis-fanboy, I was sayin it praises Palms a lot. I think this DOES sound exactly like Isis with Chino singing instead of its own project.

I'm of the opinion that Chino has exponentially raised his game album by album w/ deftones, so I was hoping for something newish from.him here. I haven't heard any difference between the vox he does here and the work he's done on Deftones and Team Sleep.

Just feels like a missed opportunity to me

TheSupernatural
August 17th 2013


1177 Comments


Why do people put asterisks in their cuss words in their reviews on Sputnik? If you're going to bother using the words, fucking use them. We all know what you're trying to say and seeing the letters put together isn't going to make it any different.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

sixdegrees
August 17th 2013


17047 Comments


lol idiot

Digging: Foreground Eclipse - Stories That Last Through The Sleepless Nights

AaronBatt
August 20th 2013


113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TheSupernatural I used the curse words, Sputnik put those asterisks in on their own.

premmisseth
August 28th 2013


26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

does anybody else see Cthulhu on cover artwork?

Evreaia
August 28th 2013


4034 Comments


no

Milpool
August 28th 2013


162 Comments


what the fuck are you on about

premmisseth
August 29th 2013


26 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You see it on a small cover like on this page.. Behind the 'palms' text. Seriously, when I first saw it I though it's some kind of giant octopus/cthulhu there.

TheSupernatural
August 29th 2013


1177 Comments


Sputnik censors reviews? wut...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy