Sed Non Satiata
Mappo


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
August 16th, 2013 | 102 replies


Release Date: 08/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The envy of the crowd

Sed Non Satiata have been tearing up the European hardcore scene since 2003 with their not so unique, but very well done Envy inspired blend of emotional hardcore sentimentality and post-rock song structures. The screamo four piece from France could easily be seen as the poster child of consistency, as all four of their releases up to this point have been superb works filled to the brim with creative drumming, heartfelt and varied vocals that range from heart wrenching screams to tender clean vocals, and of course dual guitar parts comprised of swaying and emotive guitar chords, and shimmering arpeggios cascading out of the ashes of dissonant desolation. Contrasting the band's consistent quality of releases was the hardly constant and heterogeneous songwriting contained within these albums. A seven minute slow burn of a track would be complimented by a two minute mad dash to the finish line that flexed the band's hardcore roots. A song with a truculent vocal performance would be complimented by a calming and serene instrumental. This is not the case with Sed Non's second full length album Mappo, which is easily the band's most consequential and homogenous release. Before, songs would usually consist of intense moments and climaxes strung together by long buildups and a level feel, but now there's a stronger sense of urgency, where only one song crosses the six minute mark, and instrumental sections are few and far between. There's nothing wrong with this approach, as the band is no longer about a series of amazing moments strung together by great ones, but rather momentous pieces of music constantly flowing with great moments.

No matter the approach to song structure, Sed Non Satiata are always able to combine equal parts consonance and dissonance, light and dark, beauty and discord, culminating in the emotional roller coaster. And while Mappo may lack the mind blowing climaxes of previous releases, it more than makes up for it in its consistency, the complete lack of a single dull moment, and its tendency to never stop moving forward. Sed Non Satiata, now with five excellent releases under their belt have proved that they are a force to be reckoned with not only in their native France, but in the hardcore scene in general.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (65)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This needs more ratings, come on guys

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2013


15743 Comments


who do you think you are adam thomas?

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Ire
August 16th 2013


41795 Comments


y have i not heard this

XingKing
August 16th 2013


10855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

French skramz, best skramz

You should break that first paragraph up. It hurts my eyes

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

what the fuck ramy, not cool

i always knew you were a no-good phony

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I feel like the first paragraph is gonna sit and the second paragraph and squash it

Kman418
August 16th 2013


10748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

need to give this more spins but it's not hitting me as hard as i'd hope

Digging: Teebs - E S T A R A

Ire
August 16th 2013


41795 Comments


been jamming this band for 4 years suck my dick

amemento
August 16th 2013


1425 Comments



Report this Post

been jamming this band for 4 years suck my dick



Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

btw this would be a 3.8 if I had staff privileges

Ire
August 16th 2013


41795 Comments


HINT HINT

jdennis31
August 16th 2013


6511 Comments


what is jr smith dunking in electric city's avatar?

oltnabrick
August 16th 2013


31094 Comments


yeezus


Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

XingKing
August 16th 2013


10855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

3.8 is about what I'd give it. Shame, since I consider the S/T to be damn near perfect and have it 5'd

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"what is jr smith dunking in electric city's avatar?"

Yeezus

oltnabrick
August 16th 2013


31094 Comments


hmmmm lol

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2013


50553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Into the recycling bin which doesn't make fuckin sense

No wait, it's like a deep meaning, like yeezus is already recycled, so like, he's putting it in the recyclying again, which is like the mainstream will ape what he's doing, you know, recycling a recycling, like 808s and Heart Break oh man I cracked the code

jdennis31
August 16th 2013


6511 Comments


No clue, but listening to this album now and it's about 777 x better than Yeezus

jdennis31
August 16th 2013


6511 Comments


Not that they are comparable or anything.

ShadowRemains
August 16th 2013


21054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

some good shit right hurrr

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy