Oathbreaker
Eros|Anteros


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunn177 USER (10 Reviews)
August 16th, 2013 | 78 replies | 7,116 views


Release Date: 08/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oathbreaker continue down familiar territories while also exploring ways of combining the chaotic and intense with their own style of heavy and progressive sounds.

3 of 4 thought this review was well written

For the past few years Belgium has been slowly making it's mark in the world of underground extreme music with bands, more notably, such as Amenra with their heavy, dark, sludgy yet at times atmospheric music or Rise and Fall with their abrasive sound coming from the world of hardcore punk and metal established by bands such as Converge. With the band Oathbreaker they fall more in line with what Rise and Fall do but go about it in a different direction and that is especially the case with "Eros|Anteros". Now with an album like this or even a band like this for that matter the old and worn out saying must be said which is that this album is really not reinventing the wheel rather Oathbreaker are adding to it and creating their own spin on a genre that has been used and abused. "Eros|Anteros" shows a lot of the heavy hitting aspects that Oathbreaker are known for but it also shows a lot of progression in it's music making sure this album is not a one trick pony with hint's of influences coming from black metal and at some points sludge.

Tracks like and "No Rest For the Weary" or "Condor Tongue" keep the energy levels high and in your face with the heavy d-beat drums and frenzied guitars that at some points have a black metal-ish type feel to them and earsplitting screams coming from vocalist Caro Tanghe. As Intensity and rage play a big key factor to what this album is all about Oathbreaker make sure things stay interesting and engaging so as to not lose the listener to the overbearing nature of this album. "The Abyss Looks Into Me" is one of the more interesting and longer tracks on here as the bands explores the heavier and slower aspects of their sounds as all the instruments trudge at a slow and heavy pace for almost five minutes until it's just cleanly sung vocals and a melodic guitar passage then explodes back into a climatic ending. The song that probably separates itself from the other tracks on here is the closer "Clair Obscur" which has a very airy sort of vibe to it and some points is atmospheric with melodic distant guitars and clean vocals and as the song goes on for it's eleven or so minutes of music each member of the band adds their sounds to it until it gets into heavier territories.


What Oathbreaker brings to the table with "Eros|Anteros" really isn't going to surprise a lot of people as Oathbreaker prefer to maintain their sound in a play it by the book kind of way but that doesn't necessarily mean that they are rehashing ideas or copy catting other bands who have laid the ground work for this genre either. They try, and in a lot of ways, succeed in carving their own niche for themselves in a genre of extreme music that is becoming increasingly hard to do so by mixing the chaotic with heavy and progressive elements as well.



Recent reviews by this author
Harm's Way BlindedDeafheaven Sunbather
Corrections House Hoax The System/Grin With a PurposeBaptists Bushcraft
Early Graves Red HorseCode Orange Kids Love Is Love // Return To Dust
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
kvltwalter (3.5)
Black metal and hardcore play nice on Oathbreaker's latest, and greatest, release....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunn177
August 15th 2013



285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought I'd write this review a little differently then most of my others but hopefully you all will find this adequate. Really enjoyed this album and thought it deserved a review.

Digging: Have A Nice Life - The Unnatural World

Hawks
August 16th 2013



33352 Comments


I need to hear this.

FearThyEvil9
August 16th 2013



11324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goddamnit, I forgot they were releasing a new record. I was literally listening Maelstrom the week before this release saying a new one was coming. What do I do? Completely forget about it.

EaglesBecomeVultures
August 16th 2013



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos the shit out of this, great record

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

TooLateToGoBack
August 16th 2013



1671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah son, this shit is phenomenal

XingKing
August 16th 2013



8982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band has been obscenely average prior to this point. Glad they decided to become good

Sunn177
August 16th 2013



285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I'm always a little bit hesitant when I'm checking out Deathwish bands cause they're either hit or miss for me but this thing really surprised me.I really like "Agartha" the clean vocals sound pretty good to me.

henryChinaski
August 16th 2013



2455 Comments


Damn gotta check this out.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Ecksavie
August 16th 2013



282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wat. Have you listened to The Abyss Looks Into Me?

Ecksavie
August 16th 2013



282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm tempted to comment on your other ratings, but I won't. Not your thing, I suppose.

Zantera
August 16th 2013



93 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^comes from a person who 5'd black veil bride and 4'd bring me the horizon

lol

Digging: Neurosis - The Eye of Every Storm

shaolinmonk
August 16th 2013



35 Comments


Hey man, some people are into the glam rock new age hair metal bullshit faggotry thing. You can't judge a man for that.


Owantjaaaa
August 16th 2013



2772 Comments


the album release show was cool, but I have to listen to this again to rate it

Digging: Calvaiire - Forceps

HenchmanOfSanta
August 16th 2013



1641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really solid all-around. Funny you should mention Amenra in the review because they share a guitarist.

Sunn177
August 16th 2013



285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I figured that might have been him.When I saw the video for "No Rest For the Wary" I thought he looked familiar. I've been really digging a lot of whats been coming out lately from the Belgium scene especially Amenra.

wacknizzle
August 16th 2013



11882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Glad this is got a review, and a well written one at that. The Abyss Looks Into Me is one of the best songs I've heard all year, Caro's clean vocals on it are absolutely haunting yet beautiful.

Digging: Fall of Efrafa - Inle

FearThyEvil9
August 16th 2013



11324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Checking this out after I finish Amorphis-Silent Waters.

zxlkho
August 20th 2013



3424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is so fucking good

Sunn177
August 26th 2013



285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Starting to really like "Agartha" on here. Caro's vocals sound awesome on that track.

wacknizzle
August 26th 2013



11882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Caro's vocals rule this album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy