Beartooth
Sick


3.5
great

Review

by Italianjesusfootball USER (7 Reviews)
August 15th, 2013 | 36 replies


Release Date: 07/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's better than Attack Attack! That much is certain.

Caleb Shomo is pretty much a household name for many fangirls and metalcore/post-hardcore fans. Most notably being the keyboardist for possibly one of the most hated bands of all time "Attack Attack" After numerous lineup changes he became the lead vocalist. After a few years, he left and created "Beartooth."

The main question to be answered here is "What does it sound like?" The simple answer is that "Sick" is basically a continuation of the last "Attack Attack" album. Only a little heavier and much, much more catchy. Focusing on lyrical themes such as alcoholism and religion it's safe to say that Shomo has grown quite a bit since his "Attack Attack" days.

Don't be misguided, this is metalcore. The musicianship isn't all that great. Quite a few chugs and and above average breakdowns. Although, there are some memorable riffs to be found here you aren't going to be all that impressed overall. The songs have meaning and purpose and quite a bit of replay value.

Shomo has a great vocal style. He stands out from the countless other vocalists in this increasingly boring genre. His screams are very raw sounding and his cleans are fun to listen to. Although at times, you can get sick of the fact that he only has one type of scream (A mid range type of yell). I have a feeling that his vocals are going to be the determining factor for many on if they like this or not.

Now before you go thinking that this EP is absolutely fantastic, be warned: You've heard it all before. This is not a groundbreaking release at all. It's basically a better version of that last "Attack Attack' album. That being said, it's short and enjoyable. I guess we'll just have to wait for a new release to see if "Beartooth" is going to mature at all and do something new in this dying whatever-core genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Bleach Blonde Starving ArtistThe Killing Tree The Romance of Helen Trent
Above This TitaniumBlessthefall Hollow Bodies
Hands Like Houses UnimagineHousefire! Street Party!
user ratings (153)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
MetalHead03 (4)
Crazy = "Sick"...

related reviews

Disgusting
recommended by reviewer
Attack Attack! This Means War

Comments:Add a Comment 
Italianjesusfootball
August 15th 2013


275 Comments


I was bored so I wrote a quick review for this. Nothing groundbreaking, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Digging: Ryan Hemsworth - Alone For The First Time

wowyouresohxc
August 15th 2013


94 Comments


One review a day plz

Italianjesusfootball
August 15th 2013


275 Comments


k

Kelseybooo
August 15th 2013


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How hard does it bring the junz, jon?

merpmerp
August 15th 2013


803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rules. decent review as well, pos'd

Italianjesusfootball
August 15th 2013


275 Comments


Ohhhh it brings the junz.

And thanks man!

skoopy48
August 15th 2013


1563 Comments


I enjoyed this as well, good review

Italianjesusfootball
August 15th 2013


275 Comments


Thanks man.

HypedMerchant
August 16th 2013


333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn i love whatever-core
btw I Have A Problem is the only reason this is bumped up to a 3

pjquinones747
August 16th 2013


766 Comments


Will listen to this sooner or later but good review.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

KenboSlice
August 16th 2013


1072 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Brokencyde, Blood on the Dance Floor, Design the Skyline aren't better than AA!

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

wowyouresohxc
August 19th 2013


94 Comments


"this guy is really lucky the public is giving him a second chance in music" [2]

nononsense
August 26th 2013


3429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was surprisingly really good. He's come a long way as a vocalist.

Italianjesusfootball
August 26th 2013


275 Comments


"this was surprisingly really good. He's come a long way as a vocalist."
I agree, I was pleasantly surprised.

MarkTheDead
August 27th 2013


665 Comments


I enjoyed this VERY much so.

tresm87
August 29th 2013


1286 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

a more boring version of AA

Digging: Midnight Clear - Midnight Clear:A Solid State Christmas Compilation

KenboSlice
August 30th 2013


1072 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A more awesome version of AA

tresm87
August 30th 2013


1286 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the instrumentals on this ep are dreadfully boring. at least AA albums had fun guitar work/programming though still a novelty band.

DatBeefPudding
August 30th 2013


1359 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i cant stand calebs vocals. so monotonous

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

Mort.
August 31st 2013


3977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

cannot understand in the slightest how this is getting 4s. hopefully they focus more on the clean singing for their next release and actually come up with some decent riffs.

Digging: Warren of Ohms - The Wolf and The Fox



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy