Sara Bareilles
The Blessed Unrest


4.0
excellent

Review

by HypedMerchant USER (5 Reviews)
August 13th, 2013 | 21 replies | 3,355 views


Release Date: 07/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sara Bareilles has found solace with her music, a way to get from her restlessness

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Melancholy: it's a feeling that we all get (or will get), an unwanted lingering of sadness; sometimes, despite your most courageous attempts to break away from the awful feeling, you can't seem to pull through anything. It makes you feel restless, it makes you feel constantly drained, it simply makes you feel overall terrible. You feel helpless, you feel as if there's no solution to your constant slump.

This is what Sara Bareilles is going through. She's restless, she's battling with her despondency through out The Blessed Unrest. She pins it right on her sleeve, slightly shrouded in the piano-driven, upbeat and beautiful pop music she creates. She perfectly arranges the songs in a way that the melancholic atmosphere never fades, even through the most poppy songs on the album. It might not start with it right away, as the seemingly happy opener, "Brave", has a hopeful undertone: a poppy, uplifting song, egging someone -- perhaps even an self-moving anthem -- for someone to be courageous, to be outspoken and get out of the hole you've fallen into; in the least, it's catchy -- and it's just the beginning, and you wouldn't be expecting the dejection that's to come.

The restlessness doesn't surface until "Hercules" comes along, as it begins with "I miss the days my mind would just rest quiet"; it's becoming apparent. Bareilles wants to overcome this sense of unhappiness, she wants to be her own warriors against her own depression -- she wants to be her own Hercules, as she was "meant to be a warrior". The saddened piano keeps the gloomy tone for awhile, no break from the atmosphere she creates, and continues with "Satellite Call". The instrumentals on this particular song has one of the most somber tones, marking it as one of the most emotional songs, as the lyrics give a shout out to the ones who weren't as strong she with their melancholy. Here, Bareilles leads the album to a more up-tempo direction shortly for "Black Little Dress", which is a personal favorite; the melancholy is still reserved in the lyrics, but it's one of the catchiest songs on the album and contains one of the most infectious vocal melodies. The emotion still tags along, going on through "1,000 Times", on through "Islands", and finally up to the closer: "December". The mid-tempo song rounds up the gloominess, not completely ridding it, but she sings when the climax of the song comes "It can't be a mistake if I just call it a change" over a short break, making it feel as it has come to a conclusion, musically and internally for Sara.

Sara Bareilles knows how to create a saddened atmosphere through a catchy pop album. The album flows perfectly, making it feel as is the melancholy is constantly brimming to the tip; she knows how to create catchy songs through her depression, making you feel hopeful for her -- maybe feeling hopeful for herself; she knows exactly what to do to give herself a place of solace, and that's to put it into music, making her restlessness come out in her music and making herself grow as an artist. She's becoming one of the best piano-driven pop artists, continuously growing as a songwriter. She may not be incredibly unique and lacks her own personal and distinct style, but she's crafted a brilliant pop album; she's added new elements to her music and made some of her most dramatic-sounding and bursting songs to date while sticking to the foundation of piano-driven pop.


user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
HypedMerchant
August 13th 2013



329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A different angle than my other reviews, trying to connect more emotionally.


constructive feedback will always be welcomed, I'll work on what you guys have to say about my reviewing (I need to get more serious about reviewing, this is the review I've actually tried the most on).

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013



28420 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

glad someone took a swing at this!

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Decayingmajesty
August 13th 2013



5394 Comments


Have not heard this,review is really good.

HypedMerchant
August 13th 2013



329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@theacademy thank you! i honestly didnt know about this until about a week ago or two, although i found kaleidoscope heart
great. if i found this earlier, i wouldve reviewed it sooner. im just glad it didnt have a review yet, i like to review stuff that
doesnt have one

@decayingmajesty ive seen you commenting and stuff lately and this might not be your thing, but if you have a lightheart for
pop music, then this might be something you'd enjoy

Decayingmajesty
August 13th 2013



5394 Comments


I like gotta get thru this by Daniel bendingfield,ill give this a listen.

Ecnalzen
August 13th 2013



6495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The chorus of Hercules is fucking magic. I like this quite a bit and still want to check out her other stuff.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013



28420 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i really dig track 9 on the cd whats that one called again

Ecnalzen
August 14th 2013



6495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's a good choice on that there number nine.

HypedMerchant
August 14th 2013



329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All of her stuff is pretty good (except I never listened to her very first album), so whichever album you go to next would be a good move.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2013



31072 Comments



this chick is mad underrated


How does she fare in say, America? Over here in NZ I don't think she's even gotten airplay. I came across her from a download blog and youtubed her because I liked the album cover (it was this album as well)

Digging: Banks - Goddess

HypedMerchant
August 14th 2013



329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album debuted number 1 on billboard 200, so I can't say that she's badly off

Keyblade
August 14th 2013



14682 Comments


A couple of her singles were all over TV here in Asia back in like '08

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Ecnalzen
August 14th 2013



6495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember Uncharted getting played a lot when it was a single on the radio. I just didn't know it was her until recently.

DyingAtheist
August 21st 2013



110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't like this one nearly as much as Kaleidoscope Heart. Maybe it'll grow on me, but I'm really only liking "Brave" too much so far, the others are all 3/5 songs for me.

HypedMerchant
August 21st 2013



329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brave, Hercules, and Little Black Dress are my favorites

GiantSpeck
August 27th 2013



202 Comments


this album debuted number 1 on billboard 200, so I can't say that she's badly off


It actually debuted at #2 and never went higher than that. Also, it doesn't really mean much nowadays to reach #1 if you don't stay there. That said, the album is currently at #30 after sixteen weeks.

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2013



10311 Comments


love song was literally all over the radio for a year hard to say she doesn't get airplay here. granted that was years ago but still

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Decayingmajesty
August 27th 2013



5394 Comments


Her debut is decent.

Decayingmajesty
October 9th 2013



5394 Comments


This rules!

CushMG15
January 1st 2014



1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album with some of the best songs she's written. Eden is such a departure from her usual style that it's almost criminal you didn't mention it in the review, as it's also one of the better songs on the disc. Chasing the Sun, Satellite Call, and Manhattan are all some of the best songs she's come out with. As far as the more poppy songs go, she's done much better on previous albums but there isn't anything remotely bad on this disc. Great stuff from a great talent.

Solid review too, tho I feel as tho you could have given more detail about the album. It feels like you focused a bit to much on describing the restlessness of the album and kind of shortchanged the actual music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy