Coffins
The Other Side of Blasphemy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andy H. B. USER (27 Reviews)
August 12th, 2013 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I wonder what restaurant sells human pancakes.

Coffins should've been out on the Japanese coast during the tsunami of 2011, for this rotten, sickening slab of death/doom generates a sound so massive and bludgeoning that it probably could have repelled the waves. The Other Side of Blasphemy is an exercise in steam-rolling the sh*t out of anyone that dares to venture near, approach at your own risk (preferably with protective gear of some sort).

Upon passing go (and possibly collecting two hundred dollars), brash, thunderous riffage blasts out the rear end as such death/doom cornerstones as Ziyadah, Into Darkness and Mental Funeral are channeled in the opening track, "Blood and Bone". Smashing bodies into pulp is undoubtedly the main goal that Coffins seeks to fulfill as they roll along at a medium pace through galloping drum lines and a bass with the bottom end near the edge of the universe. Adding on to this, vocalist Uchino's hurling, blood-soaked bellow of a grunt wrings out the sham-wow of terribly crushing musicianship with the occasional upper-pitched shriek or wallow from bassist Koreeda, which create a sense of uncertainty and unpredictability from time to time.

The sound will also slow to a wretched crawl as expected and positively bury those who are false or unprepared under a mountain of destructive excrement. Ravaging through relentless calls back to the classics and a production job so filthy it could give Musta Seremonia a run for its money, this monstrosity is simplistic in its method, but devastating in its execution, to everything around it.

Above is a warning to those who dare give this album a spin, it is not meant to be taken lightly, it is meant to be taken like an asteroid about to crash into the planet. The Other Side of Blasphemy is a modern death/doom essential and anyone taking an interest to this type of madness ought to give it a listen, but for the love of Satan don't come crying to me when this motherf*cker levels your house like a mega-thrust earthquake.



Recent reviews by this author
Hypocrite Into the Halls of the BlindAdramelech Psychostasia
Youth Avoiders Youth AvoidersA Wilhelm Scream Partycrasher
No Fealty In the Shadow of the MonolithKeaton Henson Birthdays
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yup i used sham-wow in a review

TrueBlood
August 12th 2013


1388 Comments


'which create a sense'

*creates


ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

create without the 's' works there as well

TrueBlood
August 12th 2013


1388 Comments


women

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what? that doesn't need a period

edit: nice edit, "a run for its money, this" does not need a period after money

evilford
August 12th 2013


22655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd

Heard a few songs from this band but haven't fully checked an album yet, must do soon. Def liked what I heard

Digging: Cadaver - ...In Pains

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you don't mind your face being crushed

evilford
August 12th 2013


22655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoy it actually

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well then by all means

Relinquished
August 12th 2013


25097 Comments


"I wonder what restaurant sells human pancakes."

are u hoping that ICHOP does? cuz that's only during the latenight shifts

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i believe it

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2013


16410 Comments


satan

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Wizard
August 12th 2013


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the only Coffins album I really like, the rest if kind of boring. I like the rasputin review format a lot Shadow. Short, sweet, informative!

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers

i think their split with arm and sword (who also need a full length), mortuary and buried death are good stuff, although I haven't heard their most recent full length and their last EP was lackluster

Owantjaaaa
August 12th 2013


3271 Comments


Saw these guys live last weekend, where should I start?

Digging: Look What I Did - Atlas Drugged

ShadowRemains
August 12th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

here

Owantjaaaa
August 12th 2013


3271 Comments


alright, thanks

TrueBlood
August 13th 2013


1388 Comments


I've enjoyed what I've heard from this album so far. And now after listening to it I feel your review was well written. Also I don't think this review by any means deserves a neg so have a pos.

ShadowRemains
August 13th 2013


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

enlightenment

Wizard
August 13th 2013


19437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't heard their most recent full length and their last EP was lackluster

Don't bother, it was boring. Much better dm/ doom out there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy