Yezda Urfa
Boris


4.5
superb

Review

by JP Patino Izquierdo USER (4 Reviews)
August 5th, 2013 | 73 replies


Release Date: 1975 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Saviors who have crossed the ages... to revive classic-prog

In the 70's there was a "collapse" of prog bands, that's why it was inevitable that some of them, with good material didn't reached success, one of these bands was Yezda Urfa.

Very little is known about the band, formed in 1973 in the United States, they only released three albums (one of them is a live one), the first one, Boris, was released as a demo in 1975 but got rejected in every the music label. Decades later, in 2004, the band made a recording deal with Syn-phonic records and the album was finally released to the public.

Boris if often compared to some Yes albums, however, it manages to create its own identity. The first song, Boris and his 3 Verses, Including Flow Guides aren't my Bag is a ten-minutes epic that has some acoustic guitars and catchy vocals... but it is the impressive synth work what makes of this song arguably the best on the album, what Phil Kimbrough does with the keyboards is nothing but exceptional.

The album varies its styles at many moments, some of them being dominated by synthetizers or electric guitar riffs and some other by acoustic guitars or flutes, like in 3, Almost 4, 6 yea , the best example of this constant (yet awesome and well worked) style changing is Texas Armadillo a two minutes instrumental ruled by the sound of a banjo that can even make you forget that this is a prog album.

Certainly, it sounds like Yes at some points, but not like some kind of copycat band, it sounds just as good as the best material Yes did, with a synth work that is on par with the one of Wakeman and also adding some instruments that this band wasn't used to play, like flutes or banjos.

Definitely an essential album, is one of the biggest examples of a band that didn't get the recognition it deserved: catchy vocals, INCREDIBLE synth work, awesome guitar riffs, etc... makes of this album one of the strongest in the genre.

Yezda Urfa would release in 1976 Sacred Baboon (that would also get rejected and was released to the public only in 1989) but it consists mainly of reworked material from Boris so it won't impress as much as this album does.

Yezda Urfa is:
-Brad Christoff- Drums, percussion
-Phil Kimbrough- Synthtizers, mandolin, vocals
-Mark Tippins- Guitar, vocals
-Marc Miller- Bass, cello, vocals
-Rick Rodenbaugh- Vocals

Special thanks to: Syn-phonic Records, the only label that recognized the talent this band has.


user ratings (48)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I got surprised when I saw this album so high in the prog charts of sputnik time ago, that's why I gave it a try and hell... I wasn't dissapointed

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Damn it. I was just planning on reviewing this next week. I've had some written notes that I've been meaning to turn into a review for a while, so I hope you don't mind. Good work though, man POS'd. This is a really great album. It definitely has some Yes-like synths and balladry arrangements in a few sections, but Yezda certainly add their own touch of weirdness and cleverness that really makes it their own.

Have you heard Sacred Baboon? I personally still haven't gotten around to that one.

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've heard only the new songs, the other ones are just reworked material, so I don't think it would interest you that much, however the new songs are pretty good, not as much as these ones, but very interesting tho

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

I didn't know they had new material. I thought it was just this and Sacred Baboon. I might check them out, out of curiosity since you say they are good.

Anyway, really great work here. It's nice to see some lesser known stuff get covered.

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listen to their live album YEZDAURFALIVE it is on their site, very interesting to listen to them live

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Oh, cool I'll check that out as well. Is it a recent concert or a recording from the '70s?

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2004, but it is the original line-up

danielcardoso
August 5th 2013


2311 Comments


Short and simple, Pos'd.
I heard Texas Armadillo and it rules.

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha thanks, it is really hard to write short reviews for me, but it seems like I finally did it

manosg
August 5th 2013


6258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good call for a review, album rules hard. Well written, pos.

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

oltnabrick
August 5th 2013


31109 Comments


well this album is ruined.

Cygnatti
August 5th 2013


21353 Comments


this ruin is albumed.

oltnabrick
August 5th 2013


31109 Comments


u got me

MeatSalad
August 5th 2013


14712 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Review has a ton of typos and shit

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^English is not my first language

oltnabrick
August 5th 2013


31109 Comments


This review is terrible for real but I wont neg

MeatSalad
August 5th 2013


14712 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ye same

MrSirLordGentleman
August 5th 2013


4555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was my first attempt on a short review, so yeah, I understand that it isn't good, it would really help me a lot if you could tell me what do you think is wrong with it

MeatSalad
August 5th 2013


14712 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You should've used the words "swag" and "420yolobitch" more often.

danielcardoso
August 5th 2013


2311 Comments


I pos'd it but i think you could write a longer review.
You tried to keep it simple but don't keep it way too simple.
You know what i'm sayin'?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy