Causa Sui
Euporie Tide


4.5
superb

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
August 5th, 2013 | 97 replies | 14,605 views


Release Date: 08/05/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ride the abundance tide.

Each summer calls for a new Causa Sui album and after a two year gap, the prolific Danish four-piece have finally dropped Euporie Tide. More concise this time, the band have separated their often lengthy psychedelic jams into several, more manageable pieces, without losing their mesmerizing appeal.

After the release of the highly acclaimed and successful Summer Sessions, Causa Sui have become an underground force in the psychedelic stoner scene. Their musical formula, usually consisting of intricate, dynamic tunes that build up from laid back, jazz-influenced jams to heavy, focused outbursts, has improved a lot along the decade. For Euporie Tide, the brass instruments were shelved to make room for the mellotron, to gently complement the guitars, adding a lovely, summery vibe.

Feeling more connected to the aforementioned Summer trilogy rather than the Pewt'r Sessions, their latest effort also carves a path of its own. All encompassing opener, 'Homage', contains just about anything you'd expect and love about the band: tightly knit rhythms and soaring guitars. The main riff is simple yet essential Causa Sui, while the mid-section jam is truly hypnotic, slowly rising for the hard hitting finale. 'Boozehound' merges groovy, wah guitars with some perfectly placed, mellotron stabs, culminating into a heavier, more distorted "chorus". Most of Euporie Tide is centered around Jonas Munk's guitar, however, upon closer inspection, anyone listening has to admit Jess Kahr and Jakob Scott's bass and drum interplay plays a crucial role in the grand scheme of things. They keep the pieces together, thus allowing the rest of the instruments involved to freely roam.

The mellow side offers some gorgeous moments too, that include the closing track, 'Eternal Flow', where Kahr steps out of the usual loop to play some soft bass leads, while the clean, eerie guitar licks behind it create a lush atmosphere. It's truly the perfect ending for such a dynamic record. At the same time, 'The Juice' and 'Ju-Ju Blues' mix some of the most pristine moments with heavier progressions. The former starts with a pastoral motif that frequently gives way to marching, Black Sabbath-like build-ups, while the latter jumps from waltzing, organ rich patterns to pile-driving segments with several wah guitar washes and solos, before returning to its initial phase. There are few tunes here that can actually be grouped into soft or heavy categories, the guys opting instead for a constant change of gears.

Whether classic or not, this is hands down Causa Sui's best effort so far. The complete, 65 minute journey that was reportedly developed over the past three years, further solidifies the band's leading position in the psychedelic stoner field. Each track adds something different to the whole, having been carefully constructed without feeling stiff. A very expansive, yet accessible record for anyone, even newcomers to the genre, Euporie Tide is an essential release.



Recent reviews by this author
Amplifier MystoriaCausa Sui Pewt'r Sessions 3
Karma To Burn Arch StantonYawning Man Nomadic Pursuits
Seven That Spells The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IOTim Bowness Abandoned Dancehall Dreams
user ratings (54)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TrueBlood
August 5th 2013


1388 Comments


Band rules. I reviewed volume I which was awesome. Def check if you haven't already. I own the whole triad. I'll def be checking this new one out. Props.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album is out today. It's amazing, grab it.

Homage - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ah-mEf06qDI
Boozehound - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GGIc5v82jc
Eternal Flow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5tZbdGX-_4
The Juice - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cM3kmfUO-Yk
Mireille - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2sH5zKJK34
Ju-Ju Blues - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qIuwG0W8yw

The whole record in one piece - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWMwcSXxALY

Digging: Amplifier - Mystoria

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I'm listening my way through their catalog. I liked Summer Sessions, Vol. 1 most until I heard this one. It's just beautiful.

NightmareCinema16
August 5th 2013


2016 Comments


This should be featured. NICE JOB.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks. Happy to see people on Sputnik digging this kind of stuff.

Mad.
August 5th 2013


3795 Comments


New Causa Sui? HELL YES

Great review, would pos... If I could

Wait a minute, did you say this is their "best effort so far"? Even more than SS vol 1?!

Digging: Anubis - Hitchhiking to Byzantium

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I love this record. It's not very far from SS vol. 1, but I feel it's more carefully constructed and has some better grooves.

Mad.
August 5th 2013


3795 Comments


I just realised the artwork is almost exactly the same as Samsara Blues Experiment's Long Distance Trip

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, yeah, that's the first thing I've noticed too. I read that Samsara's cover was inspired from some painting, so Causa Sui might have done the same.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2013


20644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta check this. Love this band, particularly the Summer Sessions albums. Props for reviewing this.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks. I'm sure you'll dig this because it has the same summer vibe.

Underflow
August 5th 2013


2562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome band.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2013


19738 Comments


really nice review man i'll have to check this out

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Mad.
August 5th 2013


3795 Comments


Last two tracks are awesome.

NightmareCinema16
August 5th 2013


2016 Comments


Wow, so it did happen. I found the album. /Will listen later.

TheSpaceMan
August 5th 2013


2332 Comments


never heard of this band but I checked em out with the song Mireille and they had some great vibes, gotta look into this! great review, you always tackle some great jamz insomniac

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for featuring this.

@TheSpaceMan - happy to hear that! if you dig this, check out the the recommended records (Samsara Blues Experiment, Siena Root and Methadone Skies)
@Mad - I had a hard time deciding which tracks should I write about in the review. all are really good.

Underflow
August 5th 2013


2562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice call on the Summer Sessions vibe. You can hear it - very clearly, even - on most of the tracks
here. The Pewt'r Sessions don't get enough love, though, and that's unfortunate.

Catatonic
August 6th 2013


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn this is goodddddddddsTUFFFFFFFFFF

AdolfChrist
August 6th 2013


1762 Comments


fuck yes, i love this band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy