AlunaGeorge
Body Music


4.0
excellent

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
July 31st, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 07/27/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid, fun debut showcasing the London duo's electro-pop strengths

The modern r&b/electro-pop duo AlunaGeorge have slowly begun to creep into the British pop consciousness in their skimpy lifespan, most identifiably via their collaboration with another hot British electronic act, Disclosure, on the [almost] chart topping single “White Noise”. As an introduction to the twosome it was honest but incomplete, as their sound is partly comprised of obvious pop hooks and clean, dance-floor ready arrangements, but it is also daubed with left-field, alternative touches. Thankfully, debut Body Music does a sturdy job of satisfying both markets, with tunes set for both nightclub gatherings and morning-after musings.

Early single “You Know You Like It” features, and is every bit as seductive as Aluna Francis’ long legged, smouldery faced pose on the LP cover. The grooves and beats are laid back, and take their time bouncing along behind Francis’ cooing vocals. Follow-up single, “Your Drums, Your Love”, which made a slightly deeper dent on the charts, also appears and it’s hard to understand why it failed in being the duo’s big leap forward on the charts, being the half spacey electro, half laid-back r&b number it is. While it represents a more alternative edge to the pair, when compared to succeeding single “Attracting Flies” especially, it is important to note that the pair’s songs – whether marked as singles or album tracks - blend commercial pop hooks with alternative production touches. Follow up single “Attracting Flies” aids this point, being the most successful pop hit they’ve enjoyed thus far whilst maintaining the leftfield edge with its distorted whistle, and clipped, crunchy beat. Matching the aforementioned with pouncing vocals and one hell of an infectious chorus, “Attracting Flies” is the duo’s blend at its most satisfying and adept – pop music that need not be a guilty pleasure, or a source of irritating carelessness.

Further testament to the opinion that the duo are in it for more than chart scorings is the knowledge that a good portion of the album is comprised of music that, whilst hooky and accessible, isn’t nakedly aimed at the pop charts. There’s quirky, hazy electro-pop on “Kaleidoscope Love” and “Bad Idea”; laid back, silky r&b on “Diver” and “Outlines”, and alternative electro-pop nuggets abundant. The cover of “This Is How We Do It” which closes this fine album is another superb example of the group’s effective makeup. It’s pure joy, pulsing with an irrefusable groove which admittedly borrows from the original’s strong melody, but is brought up to date with Reid’s modern, quirky production touches. And that is a key part of AlunaGeorge – their appeal, their style, their destination – they are a couple clearly thankful of R&B’s past, but only from a post-modern standpoint. Bringing the past up to date with fresh, sprightly arrangements but also holding clear ambitions for pop success, AlunaGeorge are a welcome and worthy addition to British pop music.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples (UK) Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fun album

Review also posted at http://www.thealtreview.net/album-reviews/alunageorge-body-music

SeaAnemone
July 31st 2013


20970 Comments


really excited to hear this
I heard the single (title track I believe?) and was really into it

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think body music has been released as a single. I know 'You know you like it', 'Your Drums, Your Love', and 'Attracting Flies' have, so it might have been one of those

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2013


7427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good job in the main Tom, though overuse of "single" makes the second paragraph seem a bit clunky and repetitive to me. You also refer to Attracting Flies in essentially the same way in successive sentences ("succeeding single," "follow-up single") which seems a bit odd.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I won't lie, it was quite a quick write up so i may have missed a few errors! But thanks for the tip Ali

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2013


31628 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

Nice work

Album is that strange combination of being surprisingly pleasant but also really kind of disappointing at the same time. It's breezy and sunny and forgettable in a summer kind of way, but given their early tracks I was hoping for something that wasn't so disposable

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

royukiyo
July 31st 2013


15 Comments


I definitely enjoyed the singles "Your Drums, Your Love" and "Attracting Flies". Very good production on both tracks.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2013


15082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

superstar is such a bad fucking song

BallsToTheWall
July 31st 2013


44805 Comments


Dem legs.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2013


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Dev

brandontaylor
August 3rd 2013


84 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The songs released before the album came out were a lot better than most of the album, so I was a little disappointed, but this is still pretty good.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2013


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your Drums, Your Love is one of my favorite songs this year

Viales
August 9th 2013


68 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found the latter half of the album (deluxe edition) a bit more difficult to enjoy but I can't get the first half out of my head ^^

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2013


7025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can def vibe with this

someguest
September 20th 2013


21390 Comments


"You Know You Like It" is pretty fucking awesome.

Digging: Pet Shop Boys - Please

chtrenne
October 3rd 2013


75 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agree- a little disappointed after the first five tracks. Would have made a great EP.

Douglas
December 7th 2013


9201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so i am vibing the heck out of this at the moment.

Hungover, on couch with the cricket on watching the Poms getting smashed, eating chips and gravy and got this spinning... ah sunday's of summer.

Anthracks
October 17th 2014


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

such an amazing band

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy