Wintersun
Wintersun


4.5
superb

Review

by Anianki123 USER (1 Reviews)
July 31st, 2013 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An extremely technical and majestic album showcasing the best metal can offer!!!!

This album is one of the bright shining stars in the history of all metal.

Former ensiferum guitarist Jari Maenpaa (forgive me for no accent) has single handedly delivered a classic. I mean give the guy some credit!!! He has played all the instruments except the drums in this offering. The album has achieved the feat of incorporating many sub genres of metal(folk, power, black etc.).

The song writing is exceptional and the lyrics are cold and dark and the way they are supposed to be!!!The album follows a shortest to longest track format which i am not very comfortable with.

Love the songs and all but you will find yourself bored and sleepy in the last tracks. Here is track by track review :

1. Beyond the Dark Sun 10/10 - Short sweet and one of my favourite tracks from the album. Starts with a great guitar riff includes a pretty sweet keyboard solo and harsh vocal by Jari make this a stellar opening to this album.

2. Winter Madness 10/10 - Fast and melodious. Again an awesome intro, Jari singing perfectly and insane drumming!!

3. Sleeping Stars 9.5/10 - I think the first minute was unnecessary. The riff after that genius!!. Love the way the song ends.

4. Battle Against Time 10/10 - My favourite track on the CD!! Words do not do justice to this masterpiece. brutal drumming, insane guitar solo and both harsh and clean vocals the best one can hear in this genre. I would buy the whole album just to listen to this godly song!!! P.S. The chorus of this song rules!!!

5. Death and the Healing 10/10 - Very technical guitar solo and majestic clean vocals. Instills calm in your after the last track!! Slow and an epic song.

6. Starchild 10/10 - This song goes toward the traditional power metal sound, with the frantic double bass and vocal structure. Also a masterpiece.

7. Beautiful Death 8.5/10 - This is the track where i have a problem......too harsh for my taste and the intro is wierd to say the least. Still a good song on its own but overshadowed by epics in this album.

8. Sadness and Hate 9/10 - Sorrowful acoustic guitar intro followed by a heavy riff and very technical drumming.

Conclusion : The instrument playing skills of both these guys is amazing. Jari has certainly created an album which is raw yet refined, technical and grande. He should be considered as a huge immovable force in metal history. This album is one of the best things money can buy so get it!!!!


user ratings (1112)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Time I

Comments:Add a Comment 
DegausserGuernica24
July 31st 2013


1134 Comments


1 of 5 thought this review was well written

July 31, 2013 | 0 replies | 41 views



Someone has been deleting comments. ;D

dragoth
July 31st 2013


237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is pretty great, but review needs a lot more detail

Mister Twister
July 31st 2013


1672 Comments


keep up the track by tracks, Sputnikmusic loves them

qwe3
July 31st 2013


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this might be the worst review ive ever read

i say might because i havent read it yet but i have a feeling

demon of surveillance
July 31st 2013


835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not well written, you should really read a lot of other reviews on this site before making one. Track-by-tracks are not liked at all, and this is one of the worst fanboy jerking-off reviews I've seen on this site.

Digging: Sabaton - Carolus Rex

mindleviticus
July 31st 2013


8292 Comments


i still don't get why people don't like track by tracks. it helps people understand the album better and get familiar with each song.

mindleviticus
July 31st 2013


8292 Comments


Regardless, this review is terrible

OhCarrots
July 31st 2013


335 Comments


Eat shit and die

TrueBlood
July 31st 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

daym

demigod!
July 31st 2013


44722 Comments


modern classic metal hates are gay

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

qwe3
August 1st 2013


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"i still don't get why people don't like track by tracks. it helps people understand the album better and get familiar with each song."

the only way youre going to get familiar with a song is by listening to it. someone describing the really cool riff that happens halfway into song no. 3 is not a good way to assess an album

sixdegrees
August 1st 2013


17190 Comments


what's with all the bad reviews lately

Anianki123
August 1st 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

first of all sorry guys it is my first attempt at reviewing will do better than this ahead and thanks for the suggestions. I think a track by track synopsis gives a clear idea on what an album has to offer.

FrozenVain
August 1st 2013


2445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

!!!!

Anianki123
August 1st 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It sounds like an acoustic guitar but yeah you're right.....thanks for pointing that out

Mister Twister
August 1st 2013


1672 Comments


If you want to make a genuine effort at reviewing, you should definitely avoid track by tracks. Go for more of an essay-like structure that details the entire album on the whole, pointing out the strong points and weak points, rather than just describing each track by itself. The first few reviews are always messy, since the only way to improve at reviewing is through practice. Try your next review in a way that summarizes the entire album rather than focusing on each track by itself.

KILL
August 1st 2013


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wintaaaaar!!!!

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

TrueBlood
August 1st 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

failed, there was no passion there

Anianki123
August 2nd 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If you want to make a genuine effort at reviewing, you should definitely avoid track by tracks. Go for more of an essay-like structure that details the entire album on the whole, pointing out the strong points and weak points, rather than just describing each track by itself. The first few reviews are always messy, since the only way to improve at reviewing is through practice. Try your next review in a way that summarizes the entire album rather than focusing on each track by itself.
Thanks a lot....will do



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy