Speed Dealer Moms
Speed Dealer Moms


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tyler McKaige USER (10 Reviews)
July 28th, 2013 | 9 replies | 591 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It just isn't enough.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Speed Dealer Moms were a short-lived electronic music trio consisting of John Frusciante, Aaron Funk of Venetian Snares fame, and Chris McDonald of the Alison Project. It’s all fairly straightforward, no frills, no actual instrumentation. The EP is a solid seventeen minutes of computer programmed, breakcore inspired, electronic bleeping, blooping and zipping.

It’s clear that each musician is working on equal footing with one another, as this release lacks the signature styles of all three musicians, including Funk’s more erratic, sample driven form of breakcore, Frusciante’s guitar playing and acid house influence that would show up on his later electronic focused records, and the moody ambient atmosphere of McDonald’s Alison Project.

Speed Dealer Moms seems like a project, that had they released more of their recorded material or played a few live shows, could have added something simple, yet also complex and worthwhile to the massive underground electronic music scene. This is music that any electronic aficionado would likely enjoy, as well as fans of either three musicians, especially Venetian Snares and Frusciante's most recent releases. The only real drawback with this EP is that there just isn’t enough content to satiate my need for more of the Moms tunes.



Recent reviews by this author
Mattoid Droids Goodbye, WorldGiles Corey Live in the Middle of Nowhere
Yann Tiersen SkylineJim Guthrie Indie Game: the Movie
Skotein Pokemon Reorchestrated: Kanto SymphonyGhastly FRND SHPS
user ratings (1)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
tragic.details
July 28th 2013



624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review in a few months, critique would be greatly appreciated.

Also, here's a track from this album
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7eJqHeckDI

tommygun
July 28th 2013



24549 Comments


nice review man, short and sweet! pos

jammed this once or twice when it came out but couldn't really get into it

might give it another shot though having been exposed to some similar stuff and getting a bit more used to it... which track did you prefer?

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

tragic.details
July 28th 2013



624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks tommy!

If I had to pick one track over the other, I'd probably choose the second, March Four, if only because it's more driven by a structured melody, rather than the streamlined chaos that is the first track.

I've only spun this around a dozen times myself, but it's been really cool to go back and listen to it after hearing how Frusciante has progressed into this territory of music, especially after listening to his new EP.

tommygun
July 28th 2013



24549 Comments


yea man outsides is great, the second half of shelf is so fucking good

will def give this another go, might check some VS also

have you heard much of his shit? i think one of my buddies likes songs about my cats or whatever it's called lol

tragic.details
July 28th 2013



624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, VS has a fucking huge discog with varying quality. Some of it's really fucking good, while some of it, especially his more recent material, isn't so great. There's a good bit of variety in his discog as well, some of his albums being more influenced by classical or glitch while retaining his signature breakcore style.

Songs About My Cats is definitely one of his better albums, it's a really great glitch album. Rossz Csillag Alatt Szuletett and Huge Chrome Cylinder Box Unfolding are probably his best albums, and there are a few others worth checking out.

This is one of my favorite tracks by him:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWtmBlScDy0

tommygun
July 28th 2013



24549 Comments


alright man will check a few of those, thanks!

can't listen to the song now (at work) but will def jam later

tragic.details
July 28th 2013



624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No problem, man, I hope you dig it.



spookynewghostfriend
January 31st 2014



3328 Comments


John Frusciante, Aaron Funk of Venetian SnaresJohn Frusciante, Aaron Funk of Venetian SnaresJohn Frusciante, Aaron Funk of Venetian SnaresJohn Frusciante, Aaron Funk of Venetian Snares

!!!!!

tragic.details
February 1st 2014



624 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes. and Chris McDonald.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy