The Flying Eyes
Lowlands


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
July 27th, 2013 | 17 replies


Release Date: 07/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A bit more than heavy psych recap.

Gradually rising to the forefront of the current heavy psychedelic/stoner scene, Baltimore-based act, The Flying Eyes have just dropped their second full length. More expansive and heavier than the debut, Lowlands sinks the listener deeper into the band's universe. Offering a wide range of sounds derived from several late '60s and early '70s influences, the record can be found at a crossroad between the acid induced psychedelic blues reminiscent of The Doors, Jefferson Airplane and Cream, along with some Southern rock and, inevitably, traditional Black Sabbath doom riffs. Nevertheless, the chemistry between the band members, resulting in such catchy music and the will to experiment with the sound rather than recycling it, is what sets this above the multitude of average records.

Mostly a mid-tempo affair, Lowlands is rich in groove and the cruising opener, 'Long Road', wastes no time in delivering some stoned, fuzzy licks and cool vocals. There's a casual feel throughout the album that hints at the listener to just sit back and enjoy. 'Rolling Thunder''s steady rhythms would make The Black Keys jealous, only to suddenly break into Wo Fat fuzz shuffle. Naturally, these kind of jams are spread across 10-15 minutes, but The Flying Eyes keep things short and tight without ever falling into that dull, endless solo, musical trap.

Other highlights include the more subdued mid-stretch comprised of 'Alive In Time' and 'Lowlands', both using wah guitars and especially the lap steel to create a haunting, psychedelic feel, backed up by soulful, vintage jams. On the other hand, the pop-tinged, 'Eye Of The Storm', returns the joyful grooves and infectious vocals. The twangy, reverbed guitars, along with the chunky bass line provide an excellent foundation for Will Kelly's playful vocals. Its cinematic coda gives a certain twist to the song, before fading into a wall of noise. Although a bit sparse at times, this type of classic voice adds a lot to the record's appeal.

Even though Lowlands won't be a classic any time soon, it doesn't really matter, because it aims at offering a good time, while showcasing the band's constant progress. Great for a drive out of town or a fun evening with friends, The Flying Eyes can easily get stuck in the listener's head while riding the groove, always leaving room for replay.



Recent reviews by this author
Brant Bjork Black Flower PowerSiena Root Pioneers
The Ting Tings Super CriticalMark Lanegan Phantom Radio
KMFDM Our Time Will ComeThe Asteroid No. 4 The Asteroid No. 4
user ratings (12)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's a bit more to this record than rehashing the past, or at least they are really good at doing that. Constructive criticism appreciated.

Here's the video for Under Iron Feet - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Byss0PaAYkg
Also, an 11-minute pre-listening stream of the record - http://soundcloud.com/noisolution/the-flying-eyes-lowlands-pre

Digging: Brant Bjork - Black Flower Power

EyesWideShut
July 27th 2013


3193 Comments


i remember these dudes, good for a jam here and there.

DrGunther
August 5th 2013


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, had no idea this was out! Was spinning Done So Wrong a couple of months ago quite a bit, good to see this band getting some recognition here. Think I found them via a random youtube link and was pretty impressed.

This sounds just as good if not better after one listen.

Good review as usual Raul - are you planning on reviewing the new Causa Sui? Seen you've rated that already.

Digging: ZZ Top - Tres Hombres

DrGunther
August 5th 2013


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, forget I asked, just seen the review! Great stuff...

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I asked the guys for the promo a couple of weeks ago. I love that album, I think it's their best so far. What do you think about it?

Flying Eyes have always been a cool band that didn't just stick solely to recycled Sabbath riffs. Lowlands wanders in many directions, it's cool. Unfortunately, there wasn't much hype around it, or I've just missed it.

DrGunther
August 5th 2013


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah been spinning both this and Causa Sui quite a bit today, impressed with both! I've only heard Summer Sessions Vol. 1 (on Jamie's rec a while back) and the self titled otherwise by them, and it's all good so far. The s/t's got vocals so they must've turned instrumental early on.

I didn't even know this was out until I was looking for reviews for Euporie Tide and stumbled on another website, but I've only seen The Flying Eyes briefly mentioned on RYM before, which is a shame, they deserve more hype.

There's a band called The Heavy Eyes who sound to me a bit like a cross between this and the Black Keys as well, sure you would dig them.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, cool. I haven't heard of The Heavy Eyes. I'll check them out, thanks.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2013


7431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm digging it. Some great songs on this one.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Eye Of The Storm is my favorite. It's so catchy.

Donchivo
September 7th 2013


466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Real good album! Thou a standout track like "done so wrong" is missing on this album for me, they improved a lot for me! And the best: Gonna see these guys tonight, yeah!!

Digging: Savage Grace - Master Of Disguise

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's really cool. I almost got to see them playing in Wien a couple of weeks ago or so. They should be great live!

Donchivo
September 10th 2013


466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah dude! it was a very nice show! awesome band!!
only complain is that they played way too short and didn'T bring my favorite: done so wrong. Also had a beer with the singer afterwards, nice guys!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2013


7431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool. This is much better than their previous one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Greg - The first one was cool too, but Lowlands is catchier and tighter (in a good way)
@Donchivo - You should've asked him why did they left out that song lol. At least, did they play Eye Of The Storm ? It's such a good tune too!

Donchivo
October 14th 2013


466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, they played that one and also some nice others..as always with lots of sweat, energy and feeling!
love the vinyl i bought there too... this is the perfect music for warm analogue sound...


Donchivo
October 14th 2013


466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

-


KerfuffleinaHussle
February 27th 2014


799 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this jams fucking hard

straight to the point, no bullshit music, i like it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy