Uriah Heep
Into the Wild


3.0
good

Review

by Daniel Dias USER (71 Reviews)
July 26th, 2013 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The end?

Into the Wild was Uriah Heep's 22nd studio album and it was released in April 2011. This is the 2nd album that featured the following line-up: Bernie Shaw; Mick Box; Phil Lanzon; Trevor Bolder; Russell Gilbrook. After Gilbrook's exceptional performance in the band's previous album he established himself as the permanent drummer of the band. In 2008 the release of Wake the Sleeper was unexpected and surprisingly positive. The album itself wasn't exactly innovating or groundbreaking but it was extremely well accepted by the critical press and the longstanding fans. It turned to be a good comeback, a return to form. Russell Gilbrook proved to be very important to the other members of the band, who desperately needed a proficient drummer, and this line-up's success led to the release of one more album.

This album easily turns out to be pleasant to listen to. The members of the band are focused and they're amazingly connected with each other. The production of the album is also very good, and each musician can live up to his task perfectly. There are some minor flaws throughout the album, but what else could we expect from these guys, at this point in their career? We couldn't ask for an album as brilliant as Demons and Wizards, could we? The strong opener Nail on the Head gives us a clear picture of the entire album. Its dynamic and style is incredibly nostalgic, being a bit similar to Suicidal Man. The chorus is very catchy but it gets so repetitive. Nonetheless, this song is perfect for an opener. I Can See You gets even better. It is very stepped up and the instruments create a great environment. Mr. Lanzon showcases his abilities with amazing organ riffs, and Box's solo is wonderful.

Into the Wild's lyricism deserves recognition. The band manages to recapture one of Uriah Heep's trademarks: the fantasy lyrics. Trail of Diamonds is possibly the song that has the best lyrics: I had a dream at daybreak, the whole of time stood still; and in my crystal vision I saw a shadow on a hill; and then she started walking into the bright blue sky; I tried to follow closely and I knew the reason why. Coincidentally, this song is possibly one of the biggest standouts. It's very intriguing/imaginative and it's the song that adequately showcases the musicians' creativity. Then, they basically drain inspiration from other bands. But that's not a bad thing at all. Money Talk, for instance, is very AC/DC influenced. The main riff is similar to most of Angus Young's riffs. Bernie Shaw's voice is amazing in this song and he perfectly cooperates with Mick Box. Southern Star turns out to be a good mix of folk and rock music. It's not exactly the best song of the album, but one can easily listen to the song without feeling bored.

Sadly, some of the songs fail to be captivating or minimally interesting. T-bird Angel is probably the least interesting song of the album. The musicians seem to be uninspired and Shaw can't seem to sing with soul in this song. The organ riff is actually interesting, but it can't save this. Believe only turns out to be a radio-friendly ballad and it's not appealing. The rest of the album is actually very solid. Probably there aren't any new Uriah Heep classics but some of the songs are very strong and catchy.

Overall, Into the Wild managed to showcase the best out of each member of the band. Excluding 2008's Wake the Sleeper, it's probably the best album with Phil Lanzon and Bernie Shaw. In May 2013, bassist Trevor Bolder died of pancreatic cancer and rumors are starting to suggest the end of Uriah Heep. I don't know if the band will not release more albums or not, but if Into the Wild represents the end of an era, I can easily say that this end is as good as it could be. Bravo!

Recommended Tracks

Into The Wild
I Can See You
Money Talk
Trail Of Diamonds


R.I.P. Gary Thain
R.I.P. David Byron
R.I.P. Trevor Bolder




Recent reviews by this author
Green Day SlappyGreen Day 1,000 Hours
Nirvana HormoaningNirvana Blew
Van Halen BalanceScorpions Face the Heat
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This journey is over! This review was one of the most difficult to write.
I hope you had a nice time with this discography, tell me what you think.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Celebrating the end of the discography, i'll do a "Uriah Heep Ranked" list.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I especially want to thank the ones who occasionaly read my reviews:
JamieTwort; Frippertronics; Manosg; LloydNewgreen; Nagrarok; MrSirLordGentleman; Ugrak; Antonius; dannyboy89; Jethro42; etc.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Forgot Menawati ;)

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you bro. Your advice really helped me throughout the discog.
Remember when the walls crashed when i sucked at reviewing? ;)

Nagrarok
July 26th 2013


8292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Congrats on finishing man. I found this one pretty enjoyable, though it's the only newer Heep album I've heard; dug into what I hadn't heard of their discography a while ago, but I didn't feel the urge to continue after Fallen Angel.

Excluding 2008's [i]Wake the Sleeper[/b]


You might want to clear this bit up, but have a pos.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you Nag.
Your Deep Purple and Sabbath discogs were great and your writing was really inspiring and helpful to me.
Thanks for noticing that mistake.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Btw, there are some Heep albums you could listen in the 80s and 90s

Nagrarok
July 26th 2013


8292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Your Deep Purple and Sabbath discogs were great and your writing was really inspiring and helpful to me.


Happy to help ;)

Btw, there are some Heep albums you could listen in the 80s and 90s


Haha, I thought you might say that. Might get into those at some point, but tbh they're not exactly a priority.

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I understand. There are no essentials but they're a fun listen.

manosg
July 26th 2013


6519 Comments


Congrats dude. You showed a lot of dedication and progress throughout those reviews. POS!

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you very much, my friend!

MrSirLordGentleman
July 26th 2013


4754 Comments


Congrats man, awesome discography, I really like to read your reviews , pos'd :D

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you Lord.
You should listen to this album.
Maybe you'll enjoy it.

MrSirLordGentleman
July 26th 2013


4754 Comments


I will, as it seems very different to 80's Heep

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, it's not 70's prog-rock but it's better than most of their 80's albums.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2013


16112 Comments


nice job on the discog

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

danielcardoso
July 26th 2013


2561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Mena.
This album is highly recommended.
Maybe you'll enjoy it.

Jethro42
July 26th 2013


12545 Comments


''Excluding 2008's [i]Wake the Sleeper[/b]''

as Nag pointed out before me.

Review was well written. Nice job on the discog indeed.

TrueBlood
July 26th 2013


1388 Comments


great work!

have a pos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy