The Reign Of Kindo
Play With Fire


4.5
superb

Review

by Cultclassical USER (53 Reviews)
July 24th, 2013 | 91 replies


Release Date: 07/30/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What a glorious reign it has been....

There’s certainly something to be said about a group of men able to connect so keenly not just to themselves and their own distinct sense of beauty, but also with each other in order to weave a lush tapestry of sound the likes of what they’ve accomplished here. The Reign of Kindo are a special breed of collective musicians, ever humble yet supremely in tune with their abilities, always eager to connect with their fans, and always pushing their own musical boundaries itching to see where their new perspectives and experiences in life take them from one record to the next. With their latest effort Play With Fire the collective seamlessly incorporate new pianist Danny Pizarro Jr into their world and add some subtle tweaks to their sound heard on This Is What Happens to create a passionate record perfect for your warm summer evenings.

Those wishing for the band to go back to their more progressive, slow burning sound of their debut Rhythm, Chord, and Melody will unfortunately be disappointed as Play With Fire is definitely a spiritual successor to the more pop-oriented, upbeat style of This Is What Happens. The record keeps a brisk pace throughout its runtime driven by another stellar performance by vocalist Joseph Secchiaroli and drummer Steven Padin. The music has a distinct depth to it akin to the group’s debut yet manages to retain a poignantly jovial mood. Play With Fire accomplishes this through a potent combination of excellent instrumental layering and some infectious hooks mainly by way of the vocals. Personally where The Reign of Kindo has always shone brightest has been in their slower-paced songs and while Play With Fire doesn’t contain as many as previous releases, their vigor has not dropped at all. The band manages to tug at your heart strings as easily and effortlessly as before and combined with lyrics that don’t hide behind metaphors for you to ascertain meaning makes the punch that much more powerful.

An interesting aspect of Play With Fire and further proof of the group’s skillful chops, is the lack of guitar leads. While obviously not completely absent, the guitar is utilized sparingly and usually as back-up for the lead instruments, namely the drums, horns, vocals, strings, and piano. In addition to a healthy dose of trumpet and saxophone, Play With Fire showcases the group’s most diverse array of instruments and by extension the most diverse collection of songs to date. The best examples come way of two Latin/jazz mash-ups, the album highlight “Impossible World”, and “Romancing a Stranger.” The group also explores a wide variety of topics throughout the record as well as producing music which perfectly fits each mood they convey.

The Reign of Kindo are a non-profit organization. They earn no profit from their collaboration yet they still bestow upon the world their biggest, most diverse album in Play With Fire. This record and this band have found a special niche amongst the adult contemporary/pop/jazz/indie scene, a space fit for only them. It’s obvious the group are best friends, not mere colleagues, and every note played in this record cements this fact and whatever legacy they are sprinting toward. Play With Fire is a record suited for any mood, any time of day, for any time of the year, and those willing to sit back and let the music wash over them cannot deny that some emotion in them, however briefly, has stirred.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice The Alchemy Index Vol. I: FireStolas Allomaternal
Follow The White Rabbit EndorphiniaThrice The Alchemy Index Vol. II: Water
He Is Legend Heavy FruitWeird Al Yankovic Mandatory Fun
user ratings (119)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Because of the leak, the band made the album available for sale early.

https://candyrat.com/

Digging: Maxwell August Croy and Sean Mccann - I

Cygnatti
July 24th 2013


22286 Comments


pos'd for calculon. I said this on ap.net but this is one of those bands I should like a lot more than I do. shame.

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013


1388 Comments


pos'd hard bro

i heard about this coming out and was excited then and still am

gotta hear this hard, maybe will get tonight but nice write up

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


10382 Comments


Unfortunately, I don't dig these guys much. They're obviously great musicians, but their stuff has always felt too sterile to me.

Not a bad review, either. Would you like me to leave a bit of constructive criticism?

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Cygnatti
July 24th 2013


22286 Comments


idk what it is, the production, the vocals, it all just bugs me...

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

sure omaha hit me. I wrote this in three separate bouts so there's sure to be some inconsistencies.

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol chipmunk you make me sad yet again but your still cool like always..

Cygnatti
July 24th 2013


22286 Comments


I haven't heard this one yet so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

its pretty much more of the same.

cfbassist
July 24th 2013


333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think everything comes together a bit more on this album, whereas on the other releases there'd be songs i loved the style of, and songs that did nothing for me

now it's more of a "that verse was great but maybe thschorus isn't'

that being said romancing a stranger=pure win

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


10382 Comments


Your writing here reminds me of the way I used to write awhile back. I used to have very specific things to say, but I would dress them up with unnecessary words and descriptions-- much of your first two paragraphs fall into this category. You have very solid and important ideas in your review, but they seem to be buried under flowery language and the like. I'll point out some examples here, and how they could be improved a bit.

There’s certainly something to be said about a group of men able to connect so keenly not just to themselves and their own distinct sense of beauty, but also to each other in order to weave a lush tapestry of sound the likes of what they’ve accomplished here.


This is an incredibly tough read, especially for your opening sentence. I'm also a bit unsure what you're saying-- they're able to connect to themselves (?) but also to each other to create enjoyable music. The first bit doesn't make much sense to me, so I'd find a more concise way to just say they have a knack for writing enjoyable tunes, because that seems to be what you're driving at here.

The music has a distinct depth to it akin to the group’s debut yet manages to retain a palpable jovial mood.


Can you imagine saying this sentence to someone out loud? Yeah, me neither.

the collective seamlessly incorporate new pianist Danny Pizarro Jr into their world and once again add some subtle nuances to their sound heard on This Is What Happens to create a lavishly emotional record perfect for your warm summer evenings.


The adverbs in this bit are both extraneous and difficult. I'd take those out, and "once again," and add commas after main phrases more often (like after "world" and "record.")

Those types of examples pretty much cover it. As I said, you definitely aren't a bad writer-- I see potential in your ideas, and would like to see them expressed as clearly as possible. Just focus on writing in a more simple manner, and I think you'll see a huge improvement overall.


Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I see what you're saying, and if you read most of my reviews I think I do tend to write in a simple manner but for this one I just decided not to. I'll change some of this stuff up when I get back.

Thanks for da feedback.

Cygnatti
July 24th 2013


22286 Comments


idk calc, little things bothered me the first time. I should be liking the overall aesthetic but I don't...

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hey man when you aren't digging something you aren't diggin it no biggie.

btw omaha I made some slight changes on the parts you mentioned but I'm gonna keep the flowery language since rarely use it.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


10382 Comments


Cool, man. The things I said was just advice, so do with it what you will.

I also find it easiest to write reviews all at once, or at least with each paragraph. Otherwise, I get all my thoughts confused.

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh definitely man I wrote this in three separate bouts because I wrote this all at work over two days lol.

Epicenter
July 24th 2013


174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos. Album is Fantastic.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I respectfully disagree with Jacob. I think your first paragraph reads very eloquently and is very appropriate. Subsequent paragraphs have some moments where things can be hard to follow, but the first paragraph is gorgeous.

Overall, a really good review, man.

Digging: Damascus - When Last We Met

elephantREVOLUTION
July 24th 2013


2791 Comments


i've never listened to this band but they sound up my alley. should i start with this album or an older one?

Calc
July 24th 2013


12363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

umm..try their debut first, after that you'll either like the direction they took afterward or be sad they went away from it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy