Cliff Martinez
Only God Forgives


3.0
good

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
July 24th, 2013 | 45 replies


Release Date: 07/16/2013 | Tracklist


Cliff Martinez’s stylistic interests in moody music for neon-drenched noir violence continue to flourish throughout the score for Only God Forgives, which marks Martinez’s second time working with director Nicolas Winding Refn on the music for a Ryan Gosling-led crime thriller (the other being 2011’s Drive). While Martinez’s score for Drive was heavy on its atmospheric elements to complement the stylish and sleek color palette that Drive boasted, Only God Forgives is far from in the full-throttled fast-lane as Drive’s soundtrack was. This is hallucinogenic scenery-setting music that sheds the high-octane speed of Drive, but remains gripping in its own way. It almost entirely relies on ominous builds and leering noise that brings to mind images of pitch black nights and dank alleyways. Although as cold and corrosive as Only God Forgives persists on being, it really can’t help but feel a little aimless and repetitive outside of the film. While they suitably do their job well at providing the soundtrack to the appropriate scenes in the film, these tracks all rise, and rise and then release without amounting to much, and in that way they really warrant no returning listens aside from casting a projection of the film’s saturated tone. Drive projected much of the same visual effects from its music, but that score had a brisk pace coursing through its veins that felt like it was racing listeners to exciting places, while Only God Forgives remains consistently subdued for 17 tracks despite the predictable noisy tension in the midst of each track. Even the songs “Can’t Forget” and “Falling in Love,” that see Martinez collaborating with vocalists, fail to get the blood pumping and come off as uneven among the soundtrack’s score pieces. In a way it’s an experience much like watching the waves of an ocean while far out at sea; you see the waves form and cause commotion but you’re too far from the shoreline to see the crash they’ll eventually amount to. Though they make for memorable ambiance and demonstrate Martinez's knack for precisely capturing the stillness among the chaos, without these mood pieces developing into explosive cuts that would have aided the movie's many brutal fighting sequences, the heft of the compositions on the Only God Forgives soundtrack will each produce an identical effect for listeners.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Drive

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
July 24th 2013


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The film itself was pretty disappointing for me as well, especially after how much I loved Drive. Had some pretty high hopes.

Sleaper
July 24th 2013


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this review is boss. short and sweet.
im so keen to see this movie, it did so bad on rotten tomatoes, but meh.
Drive and place beyond the pines were dope. goslings dope

Digging: Panda Bear - Mr Noah

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


6208 Comments


I too read bad reviews about "Only God Forgives" in local websites..

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50601 Comments


It's getting bad reviews, but most people I know who've seen it liked it

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

XingKing
July 24th 2013


10866 Comments


I'm pumped to see this movie simply for the cinematography and lighting

Sleaper
July 24th 2013


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

most the time i like movies that people seem to hate.
last one like that was spring breakers, cult shitttt.

Im gna go into this movie without any drive expectations... seeing it tomozyyy

XingKing
July 24th 2013


10866 Comments


Spring Breakers did alright critically though. Plus it's use of color was gnarly

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


6208 Comments


Sometimes movie critics don't know how to approach a movie.

As a result, many films are misplaced initially, only to gain a decent or even cult status in years to come.

XingKing
July 24th 2013


10866 Comments


Some films that are classics now were hated critically at the time. Terminator and Blade Runner are prime examples. Critics were like "what the fuck is this shit" and now they are two of the best science fiction films ever created

dimsim3478
July 24th 2013


5186 Comments


As a result, many films are misplaced initially, only to gain a decent or even cult status in years to come.

This happens allllllllllllllllllllllllllllll the time.

Digging: The Pillows - Moondust

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50601 Comments


It's playing in that arthouse in Pasadena but how the fuck am I gonna get there

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50601 Comments


I've heard people say it about Sucker Punch, Tron 2, and Oblivion lol

Sleaper
July 24th 2013


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh i was talking about word of mouth from the audience, not so much critics.

Theres a few reviewers out there, that have an amazing taste, so anything they rec i will gladly see, and most the time im stoked on it.

Im amazed this is the end did so well on reviews tbh. The albums not that funny... and really, quiet cheesy

XingKing
July 24th 2013


10866 Comments


Tron 2 was pretty sweet. Great visuals. Olivia Wilde looking smmoooookkkiiinng. Mother fucking Jeff Bridges. Dem pretty colors and fight sequences! Dat David Bowie impersonator

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50601 Comments


I mean movies that get bad reception initially but become classics

XingKing
July 24th 2013


10866 Comments


I love movies

Wizard
July 24th 2013


19524 Comments


Incredible movie and I need to own this soundtrack. Great review.

im so keen to see this movie, it did so bad on rotten tomatoes, but meh.

Using that site as a review guide is like asking your 4 year old nephew if he thought Lincoln was an exciting movie.

As a result, many films are misplaced initially, only to gain a decent or even cult status in years to come.

If you watch any of Refn's other movies, I would say he's already there.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Tyrael
July 24th 2013


20904 Comments


'the movie's many brutal fighting sequences'

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaa

Wizard
July 24th 2013


19524 Comments


Are you mocking me?

Tyrael
July 24th 2013


20904 Comments


Movie has a grand total of 0 brutal fighting scenes

the only scene that was slightly 'brutal' was the scene with the needles, really

and wizard, how can I be mocking you if I quoted the review

like srs

Don't get me wrong, I loved the movie

very artsy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy