Head Like a Hole
Blood Will Out


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
July 24th, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Greg84 would 4.5 this

I have no frame of reference when it comes to Head Like a Hole and their newest album Blood Will Out. I don't claim to know anything about their history (although I hear it's strange) and all I know is that they formed the year I was born, are from New Zealand, they had a member named Mark Hamill (lol) they're named after that one Nine Inch Nails song, Omnipanzer gave it a 2, the singer sometimes sounds like Devin Townsend, and they were broken up for a while and this album is sort of a comeback album. Now comeback albums are almost always judged by the albums that precede it (duh) but because of my lack of frame of reference, I'm left to critique this album based solely on its stand alone merits.

Blood Will Out is a typical Black Sabbath worshipping hard rock album with drone and doom undertones. It's got blues scale riffs, it's got wah pedal solos, it's got semi-harsh vocals, and none of it is all too inspiring or groundbreaking. But with all that being said, it's a passable album, and I'd even go as far as to say it's good (very daring statement I know). Within the eleven tracks of Blood Will Out, I found nothing mildly offensive or aggravating, and it's catchy enough and interesting enough to keep my attention, but it never does anything to take it over the top and into greatness. I often found myself tapping my toe and nodding my head, but I never was taken aback by anything, I was never stricken with a "wow" moment, and I usually completely forgot it all once my listening experience was over. Head Like a Hole are kind of like stoner rock era Boris, but without the character or musicianship, and that's fine. Ultimately Blood Will Out is like a drunken night out, you completely forget it the next day, but you're pretty sure it was a good time, and that's all that truly matters.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (3)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review was written for the review a random album game

It's an enjoyable record and I don't regret listening to it

You can check it out on spotify

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

SitarHero
July 24th 2013


4679 Comments


So basically, this album is an album?

Also, *critique* *passable*

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


31218 Comments


Such a shit band

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They're pretty well known in NZ I would assume, so I'll also assume that you're the expert on the matter

dimsim3478
July 24th 2013


5086 Comments


I enjoy how you're developing your style, Trebor. Sure, it's Adam Thomas-reminiscent and you throw some Sputnik refs in there, but this review is an entertaining read and your points are well put. My only critique other than the aforementioned two (which were smaller issues/ones you can sort out easily) is that you put a noticeable amount of small digressions/sidenotes in parenthesis for this review like I just did in this sentence. There are other ways to integrate digressions, so I guess just look into those and you're good.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Mad.
July 24th 2013


3869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty nice review, especially since it wasn't your really your kinda thing. It's not that amazing but
I certainly find 'Monsta Z' as a highlight, it's not too derivative and also pretty funky... they're
not that shit Deviant

EDIT: Found a stream here: http://headlikeahole.bandcamp.com/album/blood-will-out

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


31218 Comments


they're not that shit Deviant


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjcEBvfZL2M

Mad.
July 24th 2013


3869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair enough, that song pretty much sucks arse but there's some properly solid stuff on their third album - see Quade.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2013


7397 Comments


So I should give it a whirl?

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Mister Twister
July 24th 2013


1617 Comments


You would 4.5 it, apparently.

SitarHero
July 24th 2013


4679 Comments


Yeah, gotta say the tagline made me chuckle.

Mad.
July 24th 2013


3869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The artwork alone makes me wanna 4.5 it.

Here's Monsta Z for anyone who's interested, especially you Greg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Od2s3qkXEQM&feature

Mister Twister
July 24th 2013


1617 Comments


Good to see some of the reviews for the random album game are getting posted now.

Just need to keep badgering Pestiferous about Majestic now :c

Mad.
July 24th 2013


3869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@raisehell
I felt really sorry for you that it's not getting a staff review :/

pizzamachine
July 24th 2013


12571 Comments


Review is full of win!

Mister Twister
July 24th 2013


1617 Comments


@Mad.

Yeah, I was admittedly a little bit disappointed at first, but then I checked some of the stuff that had staff reviews, and one there had 3 ratings even after a few weeks of having a staff review. Which pretty much says to me that sometimes not even a staff review will get people to check things out.

Still would have been nice because I love that band, but Pestiferous is a good reviewer. I'm sure he'll do fine when he gets around to it.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bumped off the front page before I even woke up

Mister Twister
July 24th 2013


1617 Comments


"It started off good but then turned into a Trebor review"

Mister Twister
July 24th 2013


1617 Comments


That album title sucks massively. Seems like there's a word missing, Blood Will *what* Out? Spill out? Fall out? Drain out? Out isn't a verb dammit :c

Maybe it was supposed to be "oust" and they just fucked it up.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013


50457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

blood will out makes sense



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy