Adventures
Clear My Head With You


5.0
classic

Review

by skramz whore USER (28 Reviews)
July 24th, 2013 | 18 replies | 1,555 views


Release Date: 06/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Every day is an adventure

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Adventures are an indie/emo band formed from three of the members of hardcore punk band Code Orange Kids. They are fairly unrecognized, at least here among the sputnik community. They write music that takes influence from the old emo bands of the 90s, Sunny Day Real Estate, Mineral, Braid, those sorts of bands. Their music remains somber yet catchy, reflective yet invigorating, poetic yet straight-forward. They take everything that is enjoyable about indie/emo music, and amplify it to the maximum, and create hooks so attention grabbing and memorable that even your goldfish would remember them.

The music itself is a very subdued version of indie rock, almost crossing the barrier to emo, especially with the emotive singing and yelling of guitarist Reba Meyers. The drummer, Jami Morgan, retains his hardcore influence, with his drumming remaining very upbeat, with a lot of tom hits. Their music rides the border between upbeat and emotive quite nicely, with songs you could cry to, or dance to. The album also features a lot of bass, most notably on the outro of the second song Promise, my personal favorite here. The song features an ultra-catchy chorus with infectious guitar chords that just make you want to move.

Adventures write music about everyday life; they write music for everyone. Their lyrics aren't about their parents dying, they’re not about anything incredibly specific; they’re about things that happen to everyone. For example, the first song I Can’t Stay, which is co-written by both Jami Morgan and Reba Meyers says,

“Take a ride in your car
Take a walk to your house to fill the holes in sentences
To question sincerity lost in stature.
So I pick and I pull at the facts that my chest needs to give up on me
As your words start to shrink into the weakness of knees
And with the quickest of ease my hands start to shake, cause I’m not walking away.
It only took one call to recognize that I can’t stay.”

This EP is only four songs in all, and spanning only about ten minutes, but it is most certainly short and sweet, and will never lose your full attention. Adventures may be a sad band, but life is sad. Adventures create music about life.



Recent reviews by this author
Rue Morgue Rue MorgueTeen Suicide Goblin Problems
Jeromes Dream SplitNayru Recollections
Big Nig 2014Code Orange Kids Love Is Love // Return To Dust
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This turned out really short.

But oh well, this album is short.

Digging: I Wrote Haikus About Cannibalism... - 8 Song Demo

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Also this band has 5 members, it's just 3 of them are from CoK

IbenizGEO1
July 24th 2013



2258 Comments


I would revise the "yet" sentence in the first paragraph and make it a little more "elegant" i guess. Also the description you gave for the lyrics was a little vague. Maybe be a little more specific about the content then give your example. Ive only written one review and I'm an engineering major so taking my writing advice with a grain of salt. Definitely better than the etienee review though Posd yakity

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Ibby, you should really check this album out

IbenizGEO1
July 24th 2013



2258 Comments


Emo music is kowai.

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

http://adventurespgh.bandcamp.com/album/clear-my-head-with-you

IbenizGEO1
July 24th 2013



2258 Comments


Hahaha straight to the point huh?

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013



1388 Comments


here because yak milk

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You should dig it Ib, it's not too twinkly or sappy.

A bit post-hardcorey even.

IbenizGEO1
July 24th 2013



2258 Comments


I'll listen later when i give American football another go too.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013



48528 Comments


Will check

3 should be three

"They write music that seems to take influence"

I've been learning about the importance of getting rid of filler words that usually end up making sentences weaker. For example, "seems" here makes you seem like you're taking less of a claim, like idk maybe they're influenced by these guys, you don't want that.

"This EP is only 4 songs in all, and spanning only about 10 minutes"

four and ten

"It remains somber yet catchy,"

I wouldn't use "it" here. Perhaps "The Music" "Their music" whatever

You don't really say anything specific about the music, there's no frame of reference, you just assume the reader knows what Sunny Day Real Estate, Mineral, and Braid sound like.

You got a pretty good start of a review here, I would recommend adding more detail about the actual sound of the music


Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

TrueBlood
July 24th 2013



1388 Comments


^now there's a nigga who cares

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2013



48528 Comments


Anything to help a brother out

Also they say teaching is the best way to learn, so yeah. I've been trying to up my game lately after Aids talked shit about my reviews

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks a lot Treb, I appreciate it

Rev
July 24th 2013



9291 Comments


good review, but I'd suggest giving it more weight to justify the 5 rating, even for an EP as short as this

JasonCarne
July 24th 2013



220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is pretty good.

YakNips
July 24th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I just love it a lot.

Thought it needed a review.

YakNips
July 25th 2013



4851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Added a new 2nd paragraph



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy