Arctic Monkeys
Whatever People Say I Am, That's What...


5.0
classic

Review

by Boredybored USER (1 Reviews)
July 22nd, 2013 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Perfectly Imperfect

The year is 2006, it’s a cold January evening and Christmas is well and truly over. But for many, this night is far more exciting than Christmas Eve would ever be: in the morning the most anticipated album in years will finally be released; the Arctic Monkey’s debut – an album that hordes of frothy-mouthed teenagers will pick off the shelves faster than you can say “Mardy Bum”. The British music scene is more buzzing than it has been for years, there are new indie bands popping up almost every day, and it’s pretty much all thanks to these four guys from Sheffield.

Fast forward 7 years to a world where music fans are enthusiastically clearing Rihanna’s newest album off the digital shelves, a world where the final actual, non-digital music shop seems sure to disappear and a world where manufactured pop-acts from the X-Factor have had 5 Christmas number ones. No, this isn’t a dystopian future created by a music-hating lunatic. It’s the year 2013.

Even 2006’s wonder kids have begun to betray the British music scene they once ruled, with their newest single Do I Wanna know? sounding more like it was composed in a desert in America than a garage in Sheffield. Oh, wait...

This is why Whatever People Say I Am... is such an important album, for me at least. It’s a time machine, back to when British music was good – but it’s also an escape route.

When this album came out I was 9 years old. It was the first time I properly got excited about music, and every time I listen to the effortless drum fill that kicks off opener The View From The Afternoon, I can escape back to a simple time when I would rush home from school every day so I could listen to the Arctic Monkeys, and when I would listen to my older sister and her friends talk about this “new, cool band from Sheffield” for hours.

No it’s not the prettiest album ever written, or the most technically proficient piece of music - but with this LP I like to think the Arctic Monkeys defined a generation – because they sure as hell defined my childhood.


user ratings (2172)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
July 22nd 2013


10843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This really should have been a soundoff

DirEnRefused
July 22nd 2013


2186 Comments


not the greatest review, but i agree that the album's significance is undeniable, on a personal and general scale.

Gwyn.
July 22nd 2013


15160 Comments


here are new indie bands popping up almost every day, and it’s pretty much all thanks to these
four guys from Sheffield.


I think you're thinking of Funeral

I don't really like the review, I'm fine with talking mostly about what the album means to you and
your experience but your writing has little to no substance, and your points were mostly things that
you don't really seem to know much about, but I can see where you were going

FourthReich
July 22nd 2013


17849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

used to really dig this but damn has it grown off me, the lead singer is such an annoying pleb

Gwyn.
July 22nd 2013


15160 Comments


never really liked this tbh, which surprises me because from my memory it sounds like something I could dig

Maybe I'll give it another shot

bloc
July 22nd 2013


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed with rating

Sleaper
July 22nd 2013


3403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agree with review and rating. This album was such an epic debut.

Digging: Vince Staples - Hell Can Wait

tommygun
July 22nd 2013


24988 Comments


YOU CAN SWAP JUMPERS AND MAKE ANOTHER MOVE

COS STILL IN YOUR BRAIN YOU GOT SOMETHIN TO PROVE

TO ALL THE SMIRKING FACES AND THE BOYS IN BLACK

WHY CAN'T THEY BE PLEASANT?

WHY CAN'T THEY AV A LAFF?

Thecandyman
July 22nd 2013


33 Comments


Ya this review isn't that good, the album isn't either

tommygun
July 22nd 2013


24988 Comments


fwn is their best agreed

WhiteNoise
July 22nd 2013


3208 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Easily one of my favourite albums ever and possibly the easiest 5 I've ever given

jefflebowski
July 22nd 2013


8252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mardy bum is just the best song

'cause you turned over there, pulling that silent disappointment face, the one that i can't bear'

PumpBoffBag
July 22nd 2013


327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ye mardy bum is ace

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2013


1633 Comments


Rihanna's 2006 release went platinum over there but whatever.

I do not ever want to hear someone pout about how "music used to be so much better man" because it isn't true. Music used to be more comfortable for you, it was easier to swallow. If you can't resituate yourself to the idea that maybe the NME has no idea what they're doing (and they don't) or maybe music with gee-tars isn't the be all end all of music, that's a personal problem, music's fine.



tommygun
July 22nd 2013


24988 Comments


kirk knows

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2013


1633 Comments


I do really like this album though.

"Up rolls a riot vaan and spahks excitement in the boys."

cvlts
July 23rd 2013


8967 Comments


lovelovelove this album

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2013


6486 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Get on your dancing shoes. You sexy little swine

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

jefflebowski
July 23rd 2013


8252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just listened to this again for the first time in ages, can't believe how consistent it is, every track's a winner except for vampires

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2013


16056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i remember this being so totally overhyped when it came out, pretty good though

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy