Nosound
Afterthoughts


5.0
classic

Review

by aggelosm USER (5 Reviews)
July 19th, 2013 | 81 replies | 5,063 views


Release Date: 05/06/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A musical journey...

11 of 11 thought this review was well written

Staring a beautiful landscape and waiting for the sun to hide into the ocean.. That is what I felt while I was listening to the album “Afterthoughts”, by the Italian composer Giancarlo Erra and his band Nosound - which is possibly one of the most beautiful albums of 2013 and another great album in Kscope catalogue.

Their music draws inspiration by bands like Porcupine Tree (early days), Pink Floyd and Sigur Ros. This kind of progressive rock music with a dose of ambient details is greatly combined with the sad atmosphere of the album and the result is nine beautiful songs. Despite the fact that “Afterthoughts” and all the albums by Nosound have the same sad feeling, there is light into them. Maybe it’s just me but I really think of brightness instead of darkness while I’m listening songs like “In My Fears” or “Wherever You Are”. The song called “She” is one of the greatest moments of the album and it’s a proof of what I wrote about brightness. Despite the melancholic and sad lyrics of the song, the overall result brings you pictures of you next to the girl you love, gazing a bright and clean sky in a peaceful landscape. Beautiful isn’t it?

However, there is not only light but dark too. The song “Paralysed” is the saddest and the darkest song of this amazing album. The gloomy lyrics talking about destroyed hopes and fears, the incredible slow guitar solo , a part which G.Erra sings in Italian and the breathless and long scream as an outro gives the most ‘Floydish’ song by “Nosound” and one of their most psychologically heavy songs.

So… To conclude this review, “Afterthoughts” is a perfect album, or almost perfect. The only flaw of the album is the accent of Erra’s singing but I didn’t really care because the overall result is truly emotional and beautiful. Give yourself a chance to listen to this album and travel with it in bright or dark places. “Afterthoughts” is bittersweet…so does life.


user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
aggelosm
July 19th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Plz people. Listen to this one...

Any constructive criticism is welcome

warlordfun
July 19th 2013



383 Comments


sweet review, nice and short. I liked the second paragraph very much. i really need to listen to Nosound. Besides, i want to take a break from all the power and thrash metal staff that i've been into recently.

Digging: Lords Of The Crimson Alliance - Lords Of The Crimson Alliance

aggelosm
July 19th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thank you! you should definitely check this one..

LightRedFloyd
July 19th 2013



606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's about time someone reviewed this. I didn't bother reading it though but I just saw the 5 and scrolled down here and started writing this comment and I'm not going to read it so you can just get over it and I'll neg your ass if you have a problem with that.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2013



3333 Comments


I considered reviewing this when it was released, but I haven't listened to anything before it. It is a good record, however, it's not a 5, maybe a 4. Pos.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

TrueBlood
July 19th 2013



1388 Comments


been hearing about this a lot, gotta sheck

Looks like it might be interesting />

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2013



5986 Comments


this album has been like a sleeper this year but like everyone knows about it too it's weird

bakkermaarten007
July 19th 2013



3300 Comments


Sounds promising, will check. And have a pos for the accurate description.

aggelosm
July 19th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It was a hard decision for me to choose between 4.5 and 5. But I really enjoyed it...

Mad.
July 19th 2013



3587 Comments


Argh, you beat me to it. I'll be reviewing the Nosound discog at some point. Review was good bar a few grammatical errors and the album... what an album.

Nosound are hugely underrated on this site. Anyone who likes this should definitely check A Sense of Loss and Sol29, and as for Erra's voice, I think the accent helps give it a kind of exotic and Italian feel and they complement the music really well, especially in this album. Chris Maitland's drum work is also brilliant.

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

aggelosm
July 19th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Don't be mad mad. :D

Yeah...album is great and it's so overlooked on sput.. I Haven't heard all of their works yet. Only
this , sense of loss and at the pier. But this one...omg!

Gmork89
July 19th 2013



5479 Comments


Really liking this, nice and straight to the point review btw. This reminds me of a less rocking version of Riverside.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Drummerboy123
July 19th 2013



2312 Comments


Yeah album is incredible.

Digging: Sleepmakeswaves - Love of Cartography

aggelosm
July 19th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This reminds me of a less rocking version of Riverside.

Yes... And his voice is pretty similar with the voice ofduda

johnnydeking29
July 19th 2013



8987 Comments


Good review bro, pos'd
This sounds great; if I had more money I'd probs order it and listen when it arrived, but I've got too much on my plate atm to listen...if you shoutbox me in a week, I'll check

Digging: Naked City - Radio

Vakarian12
July 20th 2013



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this needed to be reviewed gj

manosg
July 20th 2013



5710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I must admit that I wasn't aware of this album but your review and all those comments have made me curious to give it a spin.

Also, review is well written, pos.

Digging: Donovan - Sunshine Superman

aggelosm
July 20th 2013



470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks guys. I'll remind you johnny

Mad.
July 20th 2013



3587 Comments


Posted my review of the debut, just thought I'd say go check it

SlMBOLlC
July 21st 2013



4832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

aoty sorry JT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy