Drumsound and Bassline Smith
Wall of Sound


2.5
average

Review

by Will Robinson STAFF
July 18th, 2013 | 52 replies | 1,906 views


Release Date: 07/14/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unabashedly mainstream, unfortunately unremarkable

Drumsound & Bassline Smith’s new album Wall of Sound is entirely average. The 2.5 above sums it up quite nicely - there’s absolutely nothing exciting or horrendous present. It’s completely middle-of-the-road, lacking both the charm of most mainstream drum & bass albums and the shoddy workmanship sometimes present with those releases. Virtually every concept here has been done before, and while the British duo make an admirable effort not to tank any of their 18 songs (an impressive feat), there’s just nothing special whatsoever about the album. Basically the entire thing is standard “liquid funk” cheese, whether it’s the simple piano chord- and vocal-driven “Epic,” the blueprint-created banger “Daylight” (with Hadouken!’s vocals unsurprisingly driving the piece towards “anthemic”), or the could-have-been-produced-by-anybody “The Only Way” (showcasing Ayah Marar in a way she’s been showcased countless times before). Even when Drumsound & Bassline Smith try to switch things up, they don’t get anywhere remotely close to original. There’s your stereotypical “old-school roller” (“All Day”), your stereotypical jungle (“Pull It Up Selector”), and your stereotypical 808- and synth-clap-driven tune (“The Weekend,” which incidentally has one of the most infuriating raps in a while). I could go on and on about Wall of Sound’s unoriginality, but I think the idea is pretty clear. If club bangers and cheese are your thing, this is perfect, but otherwise there shouldn’t be much of interest here.



Recent reviews by this author
Todd Terje It's Album TimeSkrillex Recess
NickBee Empty Your MindDisney Soundtracks Frozen: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
We Roll Like Madmen The Kids Must DieThe Glitch Mob Love Death Immortality
user ratings (2)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



3031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Adam Thomas review! But seriously, there's really not all that much to say about this.

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2013



48587 Comments


Best kind of review

Digging: Banner Pilot - Souvenir

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



30320 Comments


If club bangers and cheese are your thing, this is perfect,


The evolution of brostep - 3 months ago this would have been a 4.5 for you

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



30320 Comments


But in all seriousness, this is a pretty terrible review

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



3031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tell me why please

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2013



20253 Comments


Clicked expecting deviant ripping into you


Was not disappointed

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



3031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I mean it's pretty much a given at this point, although as time goes on and I get more corrupted by the Sputnik system he seems to have less and less to say

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 17th 2013



20253 Comments


Your double act is probably the funniest thing on this site for a while

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 17th 2013



9505 Comments


I definitely don't think this is a terrible review, but its existence feels a bit questionable to me. If the album is simply a 2.5 review, then why should the listener continue reading?

I get what you're saying, but I think you should try to avoid describing the album via ratings.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2013



30320 Comments


Look at it this way:


Drumsound & Bassline Smith’s new album Wall of Sound is entirely average.


Sweet, now I don't need to read the review! Oh okay, I'll stick with it and see if I can learn anymore... Next sentence:

The 2.5 above sums it up quite nicely - there’s absolutely nothing exciting or horrendous present.


This review is a paragraph long, and you've just used the first two sentences to say the same thing. And again why would I read the rest if you've already summed it up? Next sentence:

It’s completely middle-of-the-road, lacking both the charm of most mainstream drum & bass albums and the shoddy workmanship sometimes present with those releases


This is exactly the same as saying "there’s absolutely nothing exciting or horrendous present" so you've just repeated yourself 3 times now. Next sentence:

Virtually every concept here has been done before, and while the British duo make an admirable effort not to tank any of their 18 songs (an impressive feat), there’s just nothing special whatsoever about the album.


Repeat x4

I could go on and on about Wall of Sound’s unoriginality,


You already have

but I think the idea is pretty clear.


Ya think?


PunchforPunch
July 18th 2013



5349 Comments


scary

Digging: Vril - Torus

mindleviticus
July 18th 2013



7948 Comments


Lol. POS'd. I won't listen now.

mindleviticus
July 18th 2013



7948 Comments


Basically you say the same thing for roughly a 2-300 words, but hey I ain't complaining

Typhoner
July 18th 2013



745 Comments



Clicked expecting deviant ripping into you


Was not disappointed


Haha, same

Digging: DjRum - The Miracle

Typhoner
July 18th 2013



745 Comments


but to be serious: I don't think this review is terrible, but I agree there's lots of redundancy in it, which is not that good for such a short review. Also, I would never mention the rating in the review itself because it's some sort of ultra-short conclusion, so you can't refer to it in the beginning of the review.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
July 18th 2013



6250 Comments


Such a shame what has become of Hospital Records. Used to be one of my favorite labels.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2013



3031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, if you couldn't tell I ha a lot of trouble with coming up with what to say here. Thanks for pointing that stuff out Dev, looks like I'll have to pick it back up next time.

BTW this isn't actually Hospital but it smacks of a lot of new-school stuff from the label

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2013



30320 Comments


The other thing too is this:

There’s your stereotypical “old-school roller” (“All Day”), your stereotypical jungle (“Pull It Up Selector”),


I get what you're trying to say here, but these guys were doing this back in '99 so the point is kind of irrelevant

Calc
July 18th 2013



10903 Comments


Nothing against you personally Will but if I had the "clout" Deviant has around here I would mentioned your "sputniking" of your reviews so to speak so often with the repetitiveness as an issue months ago. Seems like you forced yourself to write this against your own will hence the repetitiveness. Don't matta though I'm still gonna read whatever you write

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2013



3031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have to disagree with you there Dev, just because they were doing it back when it was still fresh and exciting doesn't mean they can put out a lackluster carbon copy of something they've done before, especially 15 years later

And Calc, you're right. I was out of my reviewing groove and I wanted to find something to get myself back into it, and this seemed like a good idea at the time. Next time I review it'll be an album I actually have something to say about





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy