Humanfly
Awesome Science


4.5
superb

Review

by ManaYoodSushai USER (8 Reviews)
July 17th, 2013 | 68 replies | 6,276 views


Release Date: 02/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Judging by their music, Humanfly are obviously not from this world...

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Awesome Science is the fourth full length from UK atmospheric sludgesters Humanfly. It incorporates a mind boggling diversity of musical arrangements, from dreamy atmospherics to punk-esque hard rock riffs. It is an extremely unique release due to it being not like anything heard before on this world.

Straight from the outset, the album gives you this impression, as the intro to “Golden Arrows” slowly immerses you into the album’s atmosphere with a calm and dreamy soundscape, whilst lead singer John Sutcliffe sings “just as the earth orbits the sun”. Similarly, “A Majestic Story” features a rather sinister atmosphere in its introduction with the use of synths. The album features a lot of space effects and samples much like the atmospheres created by Ufomammut in their quieter moments. This album is very space inspired, as are the majority of the lyrics which complement the ethereal vibes which dominate the album.

Another aspect that links “Golden Arrows” and “A Majestic Story” is that they both go on epic prog tangents which showcase a diverse range of ideas, as the band swiftly move linearly through sludgy riffs to alien and unfamiliar musical concepts. This is most apparent through the 15 minute prog masterpiece “The Armour Of Science” which is full of alien fretwork and extra-terrestrial riffs as well as the intergalactic heaviness created through the opening riff. This album is extremely progressive, with every musical idea having a somewhat uncanny and unpredictable nature to it.

“The Apple That Never Fell” features one of the strangest riffs ever which occurs after the opening sequence of distorted chimes. It also includes some of the album’s bleakest lyrics which include “into a void of darkness”, and a weird synth passage which actually makes you feel like you’re on a spaceship. Odd time signatures infest every song on the album, a notable one being the bridge into the heavy as *** outro of the last song, “Frozen in Time, Billions of Light Years Away”, a rather bleak number. Furthermore, the album contains lots of high fretwork which makes for a nice change from the usual down-tuned distorted riff.

Overall, this album is a triumphant success. Awesome Science initiates a strange journey for the listener, guiding them through unexplored territory through its flurry of eccentric riffage and outlandish atmosphere. Be prepared, this album has the ability to blow minds.



Recent reviews by this author
Belzebong Sonic Scapes and Weedy GroovesAgalloch The Mantle
Lento Anxiety Despair LanguishIsis Temporal
Ufomammut Opus AlterBong Mana-Yood-Sushai
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
bodiesinflight57
July 17th 2013



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YES! Glad to see this get a review.

ManaYoodSushai
July 17th 2013



90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know right? this album has defiantly slipped under the radar cos it so damn good!

Thecandyman
July 17th 2013



33 Comments


Sounds fircken sick.

Mad.
July 17th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Appears as if it could be jolly spiffing.

Digging: Anubis - Hitchhiking to Byzantium

JAV
July 25th 2013



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was gonna write a review for this but I guess now I don't have to.
I'm curious what happened between darker later and this record because they became way less dark. This one is great though I love the prog elements they've thrown into the music.

Mad.
July 25th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is what I believe a Sputnik user would say "riffs hard"

ManaYoodSushai
July 26th 2013



90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the prog elements are defiantly what makes this album unique

ManaYoodSushai
July 26th 2013



90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and of course the one of a kind sound

Mad.
July 26th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the first I've heard from Humanfly, should I get this first or any of their others?

bodiesinflight57
July 26th 2013



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their earlier stuff is more post-metal/sludge oriented, so it depends if you like that kinda stuff or not. Personally I think this is their best. The vinyl artwork is lovely too.

JAV
July 26th 2013



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is probably the easiest to jump right into. Darker Later took a little while for me cuz it is so raw.
Heavy Black Snow is just amazing though.

bodiesinflight57
July 27th 2013



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're really good live too so you should try and catch them next time you can.

Mad.
July 27th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tis goin' on me list. I don't manage to see many bands live but I'll look out for them

bodiesinflight57
July 27th 2013



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're playing at The Underworld in September at an all-dayer with Palehorse and Art of Burning Water. Should be a good 'un.

Mad.
July 28th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haven't got through the whole album yet but A Majestic Story is a damn good song

deezer666
October 15th 2013



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of the best albums this year. Slept on

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

JAV
October 15th 2013



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They disbanded it looks like.

Mad.
October 16th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wtf really? When?? How?!?! Why?!?!?!

JAV
October 16th 2013



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

On their fb page.

*** IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT***

Following our show at The Brudenell Social Club in Leeds on 31st October 2013 we will be going on an indefinite hiatus.

We have played together as a band for almost thirteen years and now seems like a natural time for us to stop for the foreseeable future. This isn't to say that we won't play together further down the line, we just have no plans to do so right now. Relationships between the four of us are as strong as they have ever been but this seems like a natural point at which to disband and do other things.

A huge thank you to everyone who has given their time, energy and support to this band. We are beyond grateful to you.

Details for the show to be announced soon so please keep your eyes open. In the meantime, if anyone has any shows they'd like to book us for, now would be the time to get in touch.

Thank you!

John, Mat, Andy & Dave (HUMANFLY)

Mad.
October 16th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah that's alright then, basically they're saying they've run out of ideas (I mean, there's not a lot better you can get than Golden Arrows) so they'll probably make more stuff in a few years when they're inspired again. Probably better than a let-down record next year



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy