Bring Me the Horizon
Sempiternal


4.0
excellent

Review

by BenjoJames USER (18 Reviews)
July 13th, 2013 | 61 replies | 2,635 views


Release Date: 04/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Featuring elements of ambient, post-rock, experimental production and even melodic vocals, Bring Me the Horizon traverse new territory and deliver an album capable of turning the heads of even metal's staunchest elitists.

2 of 4 thought this review was well written

Opening with synths and glitch sound effects, introductory track 'Can You Feel My Heart' is quick to establish the Sheffield metallers new found maturity and songwriting ability. Oli Sykes strained singing showcases reflective honesty as opposed to previous post-deathcore histrionics as the track develops, before presenting an epic finish, marrying the power of the metalcore genre with the emotional sensibility of post-rock. Groove riffery heralds 'The House of Wolves', a cynical yet undeniably strong anti-religious statement, replete with both sing along chorus and crushing breakdown. Newcomer keyboardist Jordan Fish's electronics provide the undercurrent of maturity to the record, whether supplying post-rock ambience or haunting gothic flourishes such as on the rousing 'Empire (Let Them Sing)', showcasing the Brits dynamics, as clean sections segue into mosh-pit inducing fury effortlessly.

It's no wonder 'Sleepwalking' is a single. Arguably the bands most (relatively) upbeat song, featuring a catchy synth refrain and even indie-style drumming, if it weren't' for the overdriven guitar artillery one would hard pressed to identify the track as metal. It is 'Shadow Moses', however (the albums first single) that is the LP's true highlight. The riff battery is truly hammering, and whilst Bring Me's experimentation and evolution is truly admirable, it's thankful that that they've not strayed too far from their metal roots on this circle pit promoting riffathon. 'And the Snake Starts To Sing' contrasts this marvelously, as Oli Sykes showcases his newly found clean singing voice, reflecting over a torturous relationship, he trades bitterness for raw honesty, backed by strings, glitch beats and Lee Malia's emotive guitar playing. BMTH's nu-metal influences have never been as present in 'Antivist', as the expletive laden criticism of internet 'activism' grooves and thunders, chock full of gang chants and breakdowns.

All in all, a fantastic album, as Bring Me The Horizon have defied many of their critics and doubters, having delivered an album that's a true gem in their ever expanding canon, if not a benchmark album for modern metal itself.



Recent reviews by this author
Darkthrone The Underground ResistanceSleep Sleep's Holy Mountain
Red Hot Chili Peppers One Hot MinuteIron Maiden Fear of the Dark
Queen Queen IISalem (US) King Night
user ratings (1226)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TooLateToGoBack
July 13th 2013



1755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

>shadow moses
>highlight of the album

BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would attest it to be, yes.

sixdegrees
July 13th 2013



16848 Comments


Featuring elements of ambient, post-rock, experimental production

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes.

Gwyn.
July 13th 2013



14913 Comments


Bring Me the Horizon traverse new territory and deliver an album capable of turning the heads of even metal's staunchest elitists.


I'm pretty sure not lol

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you say so.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2013



49801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

and even melodic vocals goddamn 5/5

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

ZippaThaRippa
July 13th 2013



2415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, the album itself isn't a head turner but the fact that they released a decent album that wasn't critically panned is surprising in itself.

BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. It's like...wow, they're actually respectable now.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2013



49801 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I wouldn't say respectable


BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wouldn't you? Okay.

ZippaThaRippa
July 13th 2013



2415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No, you can't be respectable with songs like Antivist.

BenjoJames
July 13th 2013



178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. 'Middle fingers up, if you don't give a fuck'. I see your reasoning.

TheNexus100
July 13th 2013



2500 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

melodic vox no way

Cygnatti
July 13th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Metacritic: 81/100
wow

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

ILJ
July 13th 2013



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

shit band releases album that isn't shit 5/5 classic best album ever

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

Gwyn.
July 13th 2013



14913 Comments


"If you say so."

if you can find a single "metal elitist" who was impressed by this other than not being as big of a
piece of shit as their past work, i'll curl up in a ball and bite my dick off

ILJ
July 13th 2013



6619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

that's a bold wager gwyn

ChuckyTruant
July 13th 2013



15707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gwyn you are a goon

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Cygnatti
July 13th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gywn I didn't know that you were chad Kroger.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy