Defeater
Letters Home


3.0
good

Review

by ALucidReality USER (1 Reviews)
July 13th, 2013 | 146 replies | 5,851 views


Release Date: 07/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Letters Home has all the elements needed to be a classic hardcore album - most of the time found in the wrong places.

0 of 10 thought this review was well written

Part of "the Wave," third generation melodic hardcore outfit Defeater has once again released a full-length album, this time promising to deliver what is their heaviest material to date. Following suit with their previous two full-length albums, Letters Home is a concept album which follows the story of the father of the brothers from Travels and Empty Days & Sleepless Nights, set before the former. As the latter was very melodious in nature, Letters Home has scrapped away any acoustic tracks in favor of a more upfront hardcore sound. How successful their venture actually was, well, was nothing short of average.

Opener "Bastards" paves the mood of the album, displaying a dark setting accompanied by a dark man. Angrily, vocalist Derek Archambault belts lyrics giving way to the context of the album, albeit in a scratchier lackluster fashion. Guitarist Jay Maas provides vocal support against heavy guitar and fast-paced drums. Up next is "No Shame," an introspective expression of a man with no regret. Bass tones previously heard on Lost Ground can be clearly heard on the track. "Hopeless Again" does much of the same as the previous tracks. What could be considered the downfall of the album are the middle tracks, "Blood In My Eyes" and "No Relief." Neither song supplies in sort of change in tone, melody, structure, and both are weighed down by almost unintelligible vocals, primarily on the latter. Make Do and Mend's James Carroll makes an appearance on "No Relief," but fails to make the song standout. Lyrically, the album maintains its monotonous exposition of the struggles of war, more often than not from a cathartic viewpoint. The only really significant track on the concise release is the closer, "Bled Out." As Defeater quite often does, "Bled Out" is riddled with references to their previous works. Opening with a quiet guitar riff, the song explodes into a rant about the events of the album before submerging itself into a few minutes of instrumentals, growing more and more desperate with every passing second. Much like Travels, the album closes with the same sentence last heard in the opener, sans the anger.

Defeater's Letters Home has all the elements needed to be a classic hardcore album - most of the time found in the wrong places. While many criticized Empty Days & Sleepless Nights for its departure from Travels, Letters Home will inevitably come under such scrutiny.


user ratings (301)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Jacob Royal STAFF (3.5)
Let me be damned....

Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (2.5)
And still all I see is that bastard in me...

NothingForSomething (3.5)
Defeater’s third LP is what you make of it....

Charlie (3)
Defeater's third outing "Letters Home" is largely competent but ultimately forgettable, and sees the...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ALucidReality
July 12th 2013



83 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First review. Would have been more fun had the album been better. By the way, if that actually isn't James Carroll and I'm a complete moron, let me know.

Cygnatti
July 12th 2013



20137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

already?

Digging: Lo-Fang - Blue Film

Gwyn.
July 12th 2013



14068 Comments


You don't really say anything - All you really do is describe songs

You don't say if they're good, why they're good or bad or whatever, the closest thing you ever do of giving a proper opinion is saying lyrics are monotonous

InfamousGrouse
July 12th 2013



2905 Comments


lol?

Gwyn.
July 12th 2013



14068 Comments


also this is just garbage

InfamousGrouse
July 12th 2013



2905 Comments


so did you write this during your first and only playthrough or..?

TheNexus100
July 12th 2013



2377 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

band stinks so bad now, album is a 2.3

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and Madlib - Pinata

ShadowRemains
July 12th 2013



19445 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Defeater's Letters Home has all the elements needed to be a classic hardcore album - most of the time found in the wrong places. While many criticized Empty Days & Sleepless Nights for its departure from Travels, Letters Home will inevitably come under such scrutiny.


what

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9185 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Seconding everything Gwyn said. This is more of a commentary about what is happening in the songs than a review. Throw in your thoughts about some of the partsyou liked and disliked, where they succeeded and failed, cool riffs and drumming, generic riffs and bad lyrics there, etc..

Cygnatti
July 12th 2013



20137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"the wave" thing is over man. it was a joke to begin with.

While many criticized Empty Days & Sleepless Nights for its departure from Travels, Letters Home will inevitably come under such scrutiny.
pretty sure most people criticized it for being way too similar to previous efforts, with too much acoustic ballads on it as well.

ALucidReality
July 12th 2013



83 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goctha. Thanks for the advice.

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9185 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

What the fuck is going on with the production on this album? It's horrible

Cygnatti
July 12th 2013



20137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I love the vocals, his vocals were always great (though still monotonous), but the album doesn't really do anything for me.

Gwyn.
July 12th 2013



14068 Comments


It amazes me how can he really sound this bad now

I loved his vocals in Travels so much

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9185 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This is impressively shitty. I can't wait to see how that average turns out

Hep Kat
July 12th 2013



14028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

lol already

Digging: Fucked Up - Year of the Dragon

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2013



20283 Comments


what does this actually sound like?

i cba to listen

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

Gwyn.
July 12th 2013



14068 Comments


like defeater

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2013



48593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Disappointment


Digging: Banner Pilot - Souvenir

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9185 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"what does this actually sound like?"

It's an obvious attempt at trying to capture the Travels aggression with the Empty Days style, all with horrible production to top it off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy