Warren of Ohms
Untitled


3.5
great

Review

by elbaliem USER (2 Reviews)
July 12th, 2013 | 1043 replies | 8,450 views


Release Date: 06/28/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I’d trade a thousand ohmu shells for a good night’s sleep

7 of 8 thought this review was well written

It was becoming harder for myself to sleep, I don’t know whether it be from the anxiety I had, or the other reasons that even I don’t recognize. It happened from time to time for so long. So I tried music to make myself at ease. Every night before I fall asleep I listened to many kinds of musics, ranging from ambient to metal,. Sadly, it didn’t work, each song I listened made my mind became more restless and it’s getting harder than before, but there’s a good point of it, the good point is somehow I started to appreciate music more, I had much more variety of music to listen than I had before. One of new music I found is the Untitled from Warren of Ohms.

This album falls under the screamo category. It has 8 songs and clocking in at 22 minutes, most songs in this album are very short, about one or two minutes long except the last two songs.

From the first song “Eleanor Send Her Regards” you can tell that the guitar works is the main spotlight on this album. You’ll find so many delicious and enjoyable mathy guitar riffs such as in the middle of “Eleanor Send Her Regards” and in “False Impication, Silent Approval”. What made this album better is the bass, it’s audible and has its own moments like in “Hearts of Concords”. The drumming, too, doing a skillful job filling in for each song. The vocals also doing a good job filling its duty adding emotions to the song by applying variations in vocals, ranging from screaming, shouting and small amount of whispering.

Lyrically this album touching several topics like happiness, death and loneliness profoundly, you’ll find several lines you can relate like “This is not how all the lonely people wanted to be looked at. This is not how I wanted to be looked at”.

While the first half of this album sticks to the same formula and a little bit monotonous, the second half of this album is great, each song has its own style to put on the table, whether it's the fun drumming pattern and the shifts between shouting and screaming in “Hearts of Concords”, the guitar solo in “False Impication, Silent Approval”, or the obvious post-rock influenced “Frequency” or the acoustic guitar intro and spoken word in “I’ve Seen Things You People Haven’t Seen”.

So, is this a perfect album? No, it has its own minus points. Sometimes the vocals are sounded a little bit too forced in some part, the example is the intro of “Prognosis of My Long-Term Survival”. Another problem is the duration of the last two tracks; “Frequency” and “I’ve seen Things You People Haven’t Seen” tend to drag on and kill the short and straightforward feeling in this album. It would be better if the songs had shorter duration.

Even though the album is not perfect there are no bad tracks here. It is clear that this is a great album you should listen. Especially if you really get into Screamo or mathy stuff.


user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
elbaliem
July 12th 2013



674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this review is a part of review a random album game.

you should check the album on http://warrenofohms.bandcamp.com/

This album was made by Sputnik user XingKing.tell him how good his music is



TrueBlood
July 12th 2013



1388 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh swee dude butt i think you mistakingly forgot to 5 this

its cool i won't report you butt you gotta be more careful next time...

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9043 Comments


Stoked that you enjoyed the album and I appreciate that it was reviewed but I gotta be honest and say that with English not being your first language, this was a bit of a challenge to read lol

elbaliem
July 12th 2013



674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, i guess i need to learn more

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9043 Comments


It's cool man. Where are you from?

elbaliem
July 12th 2013



674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indonesia

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9043 Comments


Right on man. Nice to meet my first Indonesian fan! I am actually really happy you noticed the bass work in Hearts of Concord. I wasn't sure if the vocals would steal the spotlight away from what I consider to be a gnarly bassline



TrueBlood
July 12th 2013



1388 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I felt you wrote this review quite well bro. Keep up the great work!!

tempest--
July 12th 2013



10808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, Xing. A high 3.5 from me, verging on 4. Keep up the good work! :-]

tempest--
July 12th 2013



10808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wtf cap you totally said what I said lol

elbaliem
July 12th 2013



674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Xing: Hearts of Concord is my favorite track here
TrueBlood: Thanks for the appreciation, i still need to learn more though


SitarHero
July 12th 2013



4010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a good review! Your english will get better the more you practice and write, but you made your points clearly and did a good job of describing the music and the songs. Pos.

ABjordanMM
July 12th 2013



1290 Comments


where'd the album art come from if i may ask.

Digging: Manchester Orchestra - Cope

elbaliem
July 12th 2013



674 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's an ohmu from nausicaa of the valley of the wind.

ViperAces
July 12th 2013



12357 Comments


pos
"the last two song that clocking at 5 minutes ad 7 minutes respectively. "
i dont really understand that sentence at all

ViperAces
July 12th 2013



12357 Comments


ok nvm, i got it. xing is right, i dont wanna be rude but the english in this review is beyond my
comprehension. i think you should have somone reading your review and correcting it before posting,
because i really cant understand what you talk about at some points of the review.

dont stop reviewing though

MrElmo
July 12th 2013



1950 Comments


It was became is actually a pretty cool grammatical error

MrElmo
July 12th 2013



1950 Comments


The flow of the review is a bit odd, the argumentation could be a bit richer, the typos and expression should be corrected but other than that the review ain't bad (the first paragraph could have came as unecessary but I like it). Keep reviewing and read other reviews and you'll get the hang of this

SharkEthic
July 12th 2013



572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

right on, Xing. this deserves attention!

Digging: Drug Church - Paul Walker

XingKing
July 12th 2013



9043 Comments


Thanks for all the kind words friends. I second everyone saying keep up your writing, elba. It'll only get better!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy