Kanye West
Yeezus


4.5
superb

Review

by GeorgeNelson USER (21 Reviews)
July 10th, 2013 | 48 replies


Release Date: 06/18/2013 | Tracklist


‘Yeezus’ is rubbished by almost everyone – that’s the point. It’s very different to ‘The College Dropout, ‘Graduation’, but it is inseparable from them. Someone said it’s a bit like Stockholm syndrome, I thought that was cool. Kanye West is so gigantic and, in an odd way, supervisory. He’s been there long enough for us to feel a strange, unwarranted sense of attachment. I’m glad it’s all worked out for him.

I can’t hate West. If someone’s narcissistic and I don’t care then by God, something’s not right! I’m just not used to terrific music being this egotistical. ‘Yeezus’ charms people it oughtn’t and, if magnificently stirring music is going to be this intravenous all-of-a-sudden, I pray my Pearl Jam phase wasn’t for nothing.

Lou Reed said Kanye West doesn’t “think of music as a challenge”. I think he does. I think that, being as un-confused and un-despairing as he is, he’s a whole lot cleverer than anyone else at his end of the peculiarity spectrum. I think he hates almost every ‘Late Registration’ listener because, while they might write-off excellent music as being too avant-garde, they don’t misunderstand it. I think West can’t stand people misinterpreting his ‘pushed so far it’s toppled-over’ madcap normality for plain old straightforwardness. That’s why he did it, why he chose the screeching drill, washing machine thing – critics dig ‘Yeezus’ and pretty much no one else does, his ‘challenge’ acts as a filter he’s impudent enough to design, one that we’ll either fall for or begrudgingly respect. Now, when he says he doesn’t care about what people think, he’s only half lying.

It’s thrilling, I think, because it’s bizarre but nothing like madness. It’s the contrary: ‘Yeezus’ is an avant-garde, low-fi industrial paroxysm that, at its heart, is never counter-cultural. It’s so delightfully incongruous because it is curiously regular – ego, not mutinous snivel, is pushed as far as it can be. I’m scraping a bunch from what is only a facet I know, but it takes titanic self-esteem to coordinate lurches, as Kanye West does, across these sonic mountain ranges. Examples are good – how about that shadowy, palpitating bit as ‘New Slaves’ winds down. That’s a devastating cataclysm, a beautiful over-frazzling, and isn’t there some shimmering ‘808s & Heartbreak’ in there? Half the time I’m listening to music I’m after a brilliance that tells me at least something’s in safe hands. If creative deterioration can be put on hold for 6 albums then I’ll swap pyrrhic reassurance for actual optimism. He bolts some glistening autotune onto a grinding opera thing but gets it right because, as Broadway guys (probably don’t) say, he has got it.

‘Yeezus’ was always going to be funny, it’s called Yeezus, for God’s sake. But we’re sophisticated enough to hold two incompatible opinions, and that I can lionise Kanye West whilst ironically wearing a pair of bright yellow Shutter Shades says a tonne about celebrity.



Recent reviews by this author
Arctic Monkeys AMDe La Soul 3 Feet High and Rising
Ramones RamonesThe Notorious B.I.G. Ready to Die
Rihanna UnapologeticPrince Sign o' the Times
user ratings (1475)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
July 10th 2013


5609 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

VOCABBBBBB

Funeralopolis
July 10th 2013


11364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

correct rating

Digging: Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick

Funeralopolis
July 10th 2013


11364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this review is abominable

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
July 10th 2013


10238 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ugh are you really telling me that the same man that wrote I Am A God is a visionary? Don't agree with that and pretty much everything haha but great review either way. Pos'd

Gyromania
July 10th 2013


15712 Comments


lol this review

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
July 10th 2013


10238 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Didn't mind the vocab but I do disagree with pretty much everything too

Gwyn.
July 10th 2013


15101 Comments


‘Yeezus’ is rubbished by almost everyone



I'm not sure where you are but the entirety of the internet jizzed its fucking pants over this, that include mainstream reviewers which threw pretty much nothing but praise

I don't understand this review, at all.

GeorgeNelson
July 10th 2013


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, this comments section is proof enough that that's simply not true!

Gwyn.
July 10th 2013


15101 Comments


outside of here, obviously. Sputnik isn't the whole internet/world bro

bach
July 10th 2013


12603 Comments


hurry up with my damn croissant

Digging: Tim Hecker - Haunt Me, Haunt Me Do It Again

GeorgeNelson
July 10th 2013


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha a condescending bro, good God.

I know mainstream reviewers are into it, that's sort of the point. Music critics (whatever standard) liked it and the public didn't. I maintain that's true, and comments from Sputnik users can't be universalised but they represent public opinion enough to show there's certainly mixed opinion. Have you really found that everyone's loving it? I can't survey every member of the public but it's widely accepted that they weren't wild about it - chart sales can't indicate much but they're one thing that gives us an idea of that.

To be really pedantic, you did write "the entirety of the internet"; any comment on Sputnik debunking 'Yeezus' is enough to prove that wrong, and we've had a few.


GeorgeNelson
July 10th 2013


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha I might've gone a bit over the top with the vocab but keep it constructive! And thanks to the guys that liked it.

Gwyn.
July 10th 2013


15101 Comments


"Haha a condescending bro, good God."

lmfao

"To be really pedantic, you did write "the entirety of the internet"; any comment on Sputnik debunking 'Yeezus' is enough to prove that wrong, and we've had a few."

I didn't mean actually the whole internet, dude, it was a way to say "A lot of people on the internet"

But w/e this is pretty pointless... I dunno what to think of what you say, but I never expected the public to like this either

TrueBlood
July 10th 2013


1388 Comments


such a surprise to see everyone liking this

I thought it was pretty bad when I heard it but I'm wondering if I should listen again

GeorgeNelson
July 10th 2013


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, of course, that's why I said it was pedantic! I did disagree with the sentiment though. I've found - everyone else has found - that the public aren't massively into it. A couple of (admittedly limited) indicators we've got do show that up - chart sales and this comments section! Still, I'm glad you read my review!

TAZDUHCREATER
July 10th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm tired of everybody talking about this, it's so damn annoying.

Reah7
July 10th 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this review is abominable


Cygnatti
July 10th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ugh you guys, don't make me reinstate my 5.0 for this!

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

IbenizGEO1
July 10th 2013


2258 Comments


Sweet Yeezus!

ZombicidalMan
July 10th 2013


1804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listens to Yeezus > writes review about Yeezus that only talks about the music for three sentences > Goes to thesaurus.com > posts on Sputnik



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy