Between the Buried and Me
The Parallax II: Future Sequence


5.0
classic

Review

by RyanKnowles USER (2 Reviews)
July 8th, 2013 | 107 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Prog-metal at its finest.

I’d never really given BTBAM any thought until last year when they showed up at a festival. Though they only played two songs in their half hour set, I knew pretty much then and there that I’d enjoy their presence on my Ipod and in my cd collection. So I downloaded their full discography and got lost, but not in the way I was expecting. I dropped in at the beginning and couldn't reconcile that sound with what I’d heard at their session, so I moved up to Colors, but again I got lost. It was just too big for me, and still is. When I finally got to The Great Misdirect, I was starting to get disheartened. Even though I really liked what they were doing with the new direction to their sound, I couldn't quite sink my teeth into them. Finally, Parallax emerged, and I found the BTBAM I was looking for.

Parallax II is a real trip, with complicated and focused songwriting revolving around an interstellar story involving astral projection, space travel, and evil owls. The music is complex, with forays into avant-garde and some absolute wizardry in the rhythm section (Richardson and Briggs are terrifying musicians) and some stellar guitar, keyboard, and vocals to boot. But what makes Parallax II so much more than its predecessors is the pacing.

Of the 12 songs in the album, 6 are under the four-minute mark, offering the longer tracks of the album some breathing room. These range from acoustic intros and outros to off the wall underwater adventures, but all of them give Parallax II a pacing that has been lacking in their other albums.

This isn't to say that they've lost their spark for the long-haul productions. In fact, “Silent Flight Parliament” might be their finest work yet, an incredible work that pulls from all of the previous songs on the album. Musical themes that you loved from everywhere on the album come home in a masterful reworking that is absolutely breathtaking to listen to.

In short, this is the prog-metal album I've always wanted. The musicians are incredibly talented, the pacing is as close to perfect as you can get, the story is fantastic, and everything comes home in an impressive and culminating finale.

Recommended tracks (but honestly, you should listen to the album as a whole to get the full effect):

Astral Body
Telos
Bloom
Melting City
Silent Flight Parliament


user ratings (1226)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
tempest--
July 8th 2013


13914 Comments


5? Neg.

Calc
July 8th 2013


12251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So what's the music sound like?

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

TheMoreira
July 8th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah all he does is mentioning the pace of the album.

To the reviewer: Delving into the technical aspects of the music itself would be a good thing. Think
about that in the future. 50% of the review is around your path to the Parallax releases.

renegadestrings
July 8th 2013


1450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

since its release, i have absolutely been unable to stop listening to this. the amount of talent, care, and energy that went into this album is staggering.

your review needs some work, but its only your second so i won't neg. your journey towards BTBAM appreciation is easily-understood and relative, but try getting into the album a bit more. talk about ze music. there's plenty of it

Motiv3
July 8th 2013


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Whilst I agree with most of the points you've made, you really fail to expand and further them in this review as well as explain more about the songwriting, instruments and technical aspects of the album. Also delving a little bit into the concept would have also helped seeing as it plays an absolutely vital role in this album. Also there is absolutely no Avant-Garde in this album, this is straight up prog metal. I'd suggest reading into what Avant-Garde music actually is.

I won't neg you but even though I'm far from a reviewing expert, you need some serious work.

tempest--
July 8th 2013


13914 Comments


the never ending storYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Gwyn.
July 8th 2013


15160 Comments


I Wanna neg you just for the score but I won't I'll just neg for the review instead

TheMoreira
July 8th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good guy gwynbleidd

Induces folks into thinking he'll neg for a badly written review in a sarcastic fashion

Doesn't neg

MikeC26
July 8th 2013


3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

decent album but a 5? C'MON!

TheMoreira
July 8th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Or a 4.5.


A 4.5 is fine too.

YakNips
July 8th 2013


11964 Comments


Nah

Digging: Purge. - Sewage

MikeC26
July 8th 2013


3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that's a little less absurd i guess. The general praise (excluding this site) for this as well as Periphery 2 makes me feel so disconnected to a scene I once loved back like 3-4 years ago. Maybe I'm old???

bach
July 8th 2013


12910 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kgtxf_1aKi8

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

DegausserGuernica24
July 8th 2013


1134 Comments


'Prog-metal at its finest.'

*cough* Operation: Mindcrime and Metropolis Pt. 2 *cough*

SlMBOLlC
July 8th 2013


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

astral body is one of the most over indulgent and bland songs ive heard in a long time

tempest--
July 8th 2013


13914 Comments


Degausser those are lame THIS is true progressive metal

TheMoreira
July 8th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The general praise (excluding this site) for this as well as Periphery 2 makes me feel so disconnected to a scene I once loved back like 3-4 years ago. Maybe I'm old???"

This and PII are my favorite albums of last year. hehe

As for the getting old thing, i can't answer that. But i'd say it's just your taste. You seem to have never liked BTBAM all that much anyway!

SlMBOLlC
July 8th 2013


5232 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeh this truly progresses. I mean who else can make whole songs of scales and directionless wanking amd gain a following of blind fanatics

MikeC26
July 8th 2013


3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This and PII are my favorite albums from last year."

You should probably branch out a bit man

ChuckyTruant
July 8th 2013


15725 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh fuck off

Digging: Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy