Letlive.
The Blackest Beautiful


3.5
great

Review

by Tony Li USER (36 Reviews)
July 7th, 2013 | 34 replies | 2,976 views


Release Date: 07/09/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The (much too) well-oiled machine

7 of 8 thought this review was well written

One may dare say that Jason Butler IS Letlive. Although the rest of the band cannot be discounted, Mr. Butler himself should be credited with much of the power behind the band’s appeal. Jason’s insane on stage presence forms an interesting polarity with his intelligent demeanor off-stage; this polarity combines with his substantial talents as a vocalist, and thus the frontman of Letlive becomes a very commanding man indeed. This brings up an important insight into the band’s mindset while diving into their newest album, “The Blackest Beautiful.” Jason and his buddies in Letlive are very intelligent; they knew exactly what they were doing. The new album was to escalate their fame with more mainstream appeal whilst still seeming like a natural evolution from the sound they showcased with their critically acclaimed “Fake History”. In this respect, they have succeeded to some extent.

Letlive has always thrived on the building up and sudden breaking of tension, and while “Fake History” does this more subtly, “The Blackest Beautiful” accelerates this process by making it more sudden and frequent. This is evident in many areas on the album, from the sudden acoustic interlude on Banshee, to the scream-punctuated breakdowns in White America’s Beautiful Black Market. The whole album itself even attempts this to a certain degree in terms of song placement, albeit with poor results; the album’s backbone rests on the first five tracks on the album, from Banshee until the ending of That Fear Fever. Five aggressive, chorus-driven songs build up the tension, only to be diffused by the low-energy tracks Virgin Dirt and Younger. The album picks up once again with The Dope Beat, but the damage has already been done. At this point, the spoken-word passage of 27 Club becomes quite intolerable.

Despite how derivative the band is, Letlive manages to make the most of their influences. Their strength lies in their high-octane songs and their bombast choruses, and they have chosen to exploit this as much as possible without seeming homogenous. One common criticism against the album is the production, and indeed, it sounds much more produced than “Fake History”. This does not bode well for a band with fans that highly value authenticity. The passion of Letlive’s songwriting is at odds with the hollow production. The vocal production on Jason’s clean vocals becomes borderline ridiculous at times, but fortunately he hits the right notes. The other production touches also become rather absurd, with the laughter samples in Pheromone Cvlt being the most ludicrous of the bunch. The mix is muddled and the guitars are often barely audible, drowned out by the omnipresent bass drum and Jason himself. Another area the band falls flat on is the song structuring; each song is essentially structured similarly, and seeing as how the new Letlive puts focus on Jason’s clean vocals and choruses, the end product seems homogenous and mechanical, with few standout instrumental parts.

The mainstream appeal the band was going for will likely be gained, but old fans are likely to be disappointed with the band’s newest offering. But taken by itself, “The Blackest Beautiful” is what Letlive intended it to be; a hook-laden cacophony tuned to pander to pop sensibilities. As squandered as the band’s talent is, they have managed to churn out something gritty, emotional, and powerful. Take it or leave it, and hope that the band's next release learns from the criticism.



Recent reviews by this author
How to Dress Well What Is This Heart?Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence
The Amity Affliction Let the Ocean Take MeClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
Adestria Gilded HeartsSave Us From The Archon Thereafter
user ratings (658)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cheers

Tried to write a more balanced review for this very confusing album

Calc
July 7th 2013



12143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's only confusing because this site apparently hates it while other sites apparently don't.

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thanks man

this album was a grower for me; it grew much faster than fake history

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah it was xD

Gwyn.
July 7th 2013



15017 Comments


This is not a bad review, in fact it's a good review, but there is some blabber talk to be found and
some contradictions as well.

"The new album was to escalate their fame with more mainstream appeal whilst still seeming like a
natural evolution from the sound they pioneered with their critically acclaimed “Fake History”."

They pioneered nothing, and one paragraph later you state how derivative the band is, so you're
effectively countering your own point.


Despite things like that, this is nicely done. Pos'd.

Digging: diSEMBOWELMENT - Transcendence into the Peripheral

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

oops, yeah sorry about that, I had lots of trouble with this review, will edit

Edit: Fixed

Gwyn.
July 7th 2013



15017 Comments


I am still interested in hearing the version with the best quality possible

I can't see my opinion changing all that much but I refuse to believe the production is this bad unless it was done on purpose (I.e. Darkthrone, etc)

Cygnatti
July 7th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

not yeezus
neg

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

heh knew you'd see that

Cygnatti
July 7th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5



pepster50
July 7th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Finally a review that mentioned the production. God it sucks, but the album is great. I think there is still plenty of heavy parts and I feel that this album is just slightly below fake history. Saw these guys live yesterday at warped tour, they were absolutely amazing. Most entertaining show of the day thats for sure.

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

was that when he stripped and it looked like he had a boner

pepster50
July 7th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha no he did come out afterwards to perfrom a Chariot song in his boxers. During their set he threw around the floor boards, ripped off his shirt hulk style, and during hte instrumental section of 27 Club he climbed over the fence and ride (this was at Molson Amphitheatre, there were waterslides and stuff), found a inflatable boat, dragged it to the stage and then threw it on the crowd then leaped on top of it and crowd surfed on the boat hahah. It was awesome

JesusaurusRex
July 7th 2013



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"not yeezus"

:-(

JesusaurusRex
July 7th 2013



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, rating is fair.

Album is just so catchy. Can't wait to see some of these songs live.

JesusaurusRex
July 7th 2013



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

T-t-triple post because last time I watched them Jason snowboarded on top of the crowd

Venue was the size of my living room, too.

JackSparrow
July 7th 2013



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been waiting for a high quality version to listen to this, is there one yet? I didn't really like Banshee

Azn.
July 7th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah I can't wait for the spotify stream

LuigiPichardo
July 7th 2013



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was there too Pepster! Crazy performance. But just when I thought no one could outdo them, The Chariot played next :P

pepster50
July 7th 2013



328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha small world ! I saw like two songs from the Chariot, and I liked them (never listened to them before that, going to download their cd), and then I had to go watch August Burns Red. But to me, Letlive took performance of the day for sure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy