Europe
Wings of Tomorrow


3.5
great

Review

by my trash taste is stuck in the past USER (27 Reviews)
July 6th, 2013 | 30 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist


One-hit wonder. The label is dreaded by any musician, and any labelled as such are often seen as poor composers who got lucky once. Is it fair? Not really, but it's how some people interpret the term. Oftentimes, however, this could not be further from the truth. Take the case of Europe, for instance. Most well known for The Final Countdown and Carrie, very few people are able to name any other songs by the group. Does this make them a one-hit (well, two-hit) wonder? Probably. But on the other hand, does it make them incompetent? Wings of Tomorrow proves that this is definitely not the case.

From the first moments of the opening track, Stormwind, you can tell that this album is going to dig into your mind. The riffs and leads are undeniably infectious, and while they are decidedly simple, they're still packed with energy and serve their purpose effectively. Joey Tempest's voice is soaring and passionate, sounding genuinely emotional, effectively spearheading the charge of the band. While the bass and drums don't truly get a chance to shine, they are still played competently, and this does not deter from the album on the whole.

Europe knows not to push their boundaries outside of where they are comfortable. The tracks on this album are short but sweet, with only the aforementioned Stormwind passing the mark of four and a half minutes. While this implies that Europe is not capable of holding interest in their music for a longer song, it ultimately proves that the band knows where they are comfortable. They manage to stay within their comfort zone while still being enjoyable to listen to.

Ultimately, Europe is a band which is mainly recognized for tracks which are not their strongest. Searching through their entire discography reveals that there is more to the band than the simple but catchy pop-metal found in their biggest hit, and they are genuinely capable of writing enthralling material which does not overstay its welcome.

Highlights:
Scream of Anger
Aphasia
Wasted Time



Recent reviews by this author
Hangar Last TimeFueled by Fire Spread the Fire
Excel Split ImageFallen Angel (SWE) Faith Fails
Tantara Based on EvilPentakill Smite and Ignite
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

The Final Countdown

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mister Twister
July 6th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wrote this for the Random Album Game held by Atari. A bit out of my comfort zone, never had much to say. Apologies if it's not very good.

Didn't know what to write for the summary at all, might edit one in later.

scissorlocked
July 6th 2013


3511 Comments


this is actually good

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

ViperAces
July 6th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sweet review, this album is amazing imho.
stormwind and t/t are so good m/ i can help you with a sum if you want

Mister Twister
July 6th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll see if I can't come up with something myself first.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2013


19933 Comments


nice job man, pos'd

here's some feedback for ya:

I liked your opening paragraph. It did a good job of getting my attention and wanting to read on. However, I think you should maybe elaborate just a little bit. maybe mention another song that stood out other than stormwind and why it was enjoyable? It's good that you talked about the album as a whole you don't want to do a track by track, but after that opening paragraph i think you should mention more than one standout track just to strengthen the point your trying to make. Just my thoughts was definitely still a good review ;)

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

Mister Twister
July 6th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I think I'm having trouble finding a mid-way point between the more general essay review and the in-depth track-by-track. I know I should, just need to find a way without jamming it in the review at random.

ViperAces
July 6th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

everyone who likes heavy metal should check this honestly. this is classic heavy metal like accept

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2013


19933 Comments


it's not a bad review at all, i think it's one of your better reviews actually. I just think that describing one of the other standout tracks you posted at the bottom of the review would make it even better as well as help add a bit to the length ;)

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2013


16057 Comments


nice review, i detest this band tho bcos of final countdown

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Mister Twister
July 6th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As I mentioned in the last paragraph, the song that got them big isn't their best work. This stuff is actually quite solid. Aphasia's an amazing instrumental.

ViperAces
July 6th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

mena, im 90% sure that you would dig this album, give it a shot

Mister Twister
July 6th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Now Pestiferious needs to write that Trinity Overture review. I swear, I'll stop Pest-ering you about it.

OH GEE I MADE A PUN

facupm
July 7th 2013


8087 Comments


cheesiest band ever

Digging: Dissect - Swallow Swouming Mass

Mad.
July 7th 2013


3981 Comments


Well written, but perhaps you could have mentioned more tracks like Atari said.

Also this sentence what is a bit weird: " it ultimately proves that the band knows where they are comfortable, and doesn't stray too far from this comfort zone, while still being enjoyable."

Mister Twister
July 7th 2013


1683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, I fixed it up.

Aphasia is awesome.

ViperAces
July 7th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yea it is

facupm
July 7th 2013


8087 Comments


nice review, pos'd!

ViperAces
July 15th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I LIKE TO SIT BESIDE THE FIRE

demigod!
July 15th 2013


44727 Comments


final countdown objectively the greatest song of all time

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

ViperAces
July 15th 2013


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

one of the first songs ive ever heard, i remember dancin to it with my friends back in early elementary



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy