Like Moths to Flames
An Eye For An Eye


2.5
average

Review

by DragonHeartstring USER (48 Reviews)
July 3rd, 2013 | 12 replies | 7,161 views


Release Date: 07/09/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dull and lifeless, but at least this has one or two redeeming features

Like Moths To Flames are yet another case of a band that is content to do absolutely nothing new with their genre, nor make any progression from their debut. Whilst their first album was flawed, it was at least an enjoyable piece with an extremely angry vocal performance and a few tracks such as You Won't Be Missed. It seemed that from there, the band decided to take anything good and praise-worthy from their effort and make the most mundane and lifeless follow-up in recent years. This is not a bad album, but it is certainly nothing to sing and dance about.

An Eye for An Eye is their 2013 sophomore album and essentially follows the same formula of When We Don't Exist. This means that there are an influx of breakdowns throughout many of the songs, a whole lot of open strings guitar riffs and a split between very angry growls/screams and clean songs, each of which spitting out immature venom in the lyrics. You've already heard it before if you've heard bands such as Trivium, early Bullet For My Valentine and early Demon Hunter and you know the drill. Whilst their debut did exactly the same thing, at least that particular album had soul, whereas here much of that is missing. The music is still angry sounding, but it feels too forced and even more watered down than before, whilst the lyrics have just gotten even more juvenile as time has passed. The band that was once a guilty pleasure are not just a laughing stock content to put out a miserable album with very few solid aspects.

The Common Misconception is a perfect example of why this band is going stale to the point of stagnancy. Their guitar work opens up with the a clear homage to bands like Trivium, whilst the vocals jump between screaming, shouting and singing whilst a slightly more enjoyable riff comes in, but the chorus only ruins this with some of the most abysmal guitar work ever. Simplicity is not really a problem in music when done correctly, but when covered with a prre-chorus involving a fade effect on the vocals and some of the most pedestrian drumming ever recorded, it really needs something to drive the music, and it fails. Another example of where the band is going wrong here is found in single Shapeshifter, a three minute snooze-fest that sounds rather like someone crying over a backing improvisation. The clean vocals are whiny and the half-shouted sections are cringe-worthy, whilst the screaming is completely monotonous.

This is not a complete trainwreck, however, as there are at least a few standout points about the album. The production in particular is a nice job here, with some nice crisp guitar tunes and the mixing is mixed so that the vocals and drums do not completely overbear the mix (as was the problem with their first album). A few of the choruses are quite catchy as well, whilst the clean guitar introduction to The Blackout before the vocals kick in sounds rather awesome and brings back memories of early A Day To Remember. In fact, pretty much the entirety of this track is fun, with the half-shouted screams sounding like their vocalist is trying to call on the demons of Hell, whilst the rest of the band actually put on quite a tight show here. Aside from these factors, however, there really is no need to check out an inferior follow-up to an already flawed debut.



Recent reviews by this author
Mathew Lim ImpressionsKorn Korn
Fractured Fairytales UnvaleAutopsy Severed Survival
Slayer Seasons in the AbyssBlack Veil Brides We Stitch These Wounds
user ratings (93)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
merpmerp (2)
Gee, where have I heard this before?...

willchambers216 (3)
A solid, angry album, but expect no new territory....


Comments:Add a Comment 
lucasjcockcroft
July 3rd 2013


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this band has so much potential
its a shame they waste it

willafrant
July 3rd 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why did you review a song that isn't even on the album?

willafrant
July 3rd 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah expanded of when we don't exist

pjquinones747
July 3rd 2013


764 Comments


comparing this band to trivium what the fuck

Digging: GWAR - War Party

pjquinones747
July 3rd 2013


764 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30mNVhQ_kjc

explain yourself

wacknizzle
July 3rd 2013


13177 Comments


Band can play their instruments well but they have next to no creativity, this is as boring and generic as can be.

Digging: Ritual Mess - Vile Art

Digitalsea
July 3rd 2013


3 Comments


Please do not take offence to this, take it as constructive criticism. I do not think this review was well written at all from a grammar and accuracy point-of-view. I really struggled to understand some of your sentences, you make claims but don't really back up some of the things you say. If you're going to have an opinion, you should at least try and explain the best you can why you think like you do. Once again, not personally attacking you, but I think the quality of this review alone to me subtracts away from its credibility.

While I do agree this album isn't really anything we haven't already heard done before by other bands in the same genre I think there are a few inaccuracies in your claims especially in relation to the band going stale. You can't base a claim of a band going stale off of one track, I agree it's not a very interesting track and in hindsight probably not a great second single, but there are some decent tracks on this record.

To me the first half of the album sounds a bit boring and repetitive with similar riffing and vocals, but track seven onwards I think the potential of LMTF really starts to rear it's head. The track, "In Dreams" is the most different thing the guys have ever done, it's poppy and gutsy considering the rest of the album is very heavy. If they made an entire album of similar sounding tracks to "In Dreams" I think this album could be a solid 4.5 for me personally, but as it stands for its outstanding production and few good tracks it has it is definitely a solid 3.5 at least.

Surprised the fact they've gone for a more nu-metal sound this time around wasn't mentioned. It does sound like they at least attempted to try some new things but fell into the trap of repeating themselves one too many times at least for the first half of the record anyway.

For the record, LMTF are nothing like Trivium. I think Trivium are arguably a better band capable of doing more than LMTF could currently do which is not to say the Like Moths To Flames guys aren't as talent, they are just not pushing themselves as hard and forward as they could but given this is their second release I will reserve judgement for their third release.

bbdmittenz
July 3rd 2013


218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm here to say that this isn't anywhere as horrible as I predicted it would be.

tresm87
July 3rd 2013


827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is sounding great so far and they have progressed idk what your saying
deathmarks is beastly

Digging: Texas In July - Bloodwork

m00nr0ck
July 6th 2013


2 Comments


This album is awesome what the eff are you talking about!

Digging: Acrania (UK) - Totalitarian Dystopia

reversethefallen
April 9th 2014


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find it funny that everyone who reviews albums of this genre says the same damn thing! "They are doing nothing new with the genre." Maybe it's because it's already cool as fuck as it is! Stop saying the same things over and over again. If you don't like it, simply don't listen to it. And why waste your time writing the same reviews over and over again?

lucasjcockcroft
April 10th 2014


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

for the same reason these bands make the same album over and over again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy