Joey Bada$$
Summer Knights


3.5
great

Review

by Guzzo CONTRIBUTOR (25 Reviews)
July 3rd, 2013 | 57 replies


Release Date: 07/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Word is bond rings most true with Joey Bada$$'s 'Summer Knights'

Joey Bada$$'s '1999' garnered a ludicrous amount of attention for an independent release from a relatively unknown kid from New York last year. Getting praise from Pitchfork as well as from Complex Magazine who ranked it their 38th best release of 2012, it's safe to say Joey struck gold with his first release. While it was highly praised, it also had its critics who claim that he was stuck in the wrong era of rap, his flow never really changes and many songs sound similar to each other. While these are true in their eyes, you can't say that it isn't a breath of fresh air for mainstream rap where trap-rap and electro-experimental rap are seeing their rise. What Summer Knights brings to the table is exactly what 1999 brought last year, and that isn't a bad thing at all.

It is clear that Joey adores his hometown. From his style to the album cover of Brooklyn's Prospect Park, it seems he yearns for you to love New York as much as he does; evident with every boom-bap beat featured on Summer Knights. Unlike 1999 where all the songs shared the same type of tempo and aurora with the beats, SK's features a sort of cloud-rap feel in songs such as 'Right On Time' and 'Trap Door.' And while the departure in these songs from their boom-bap brothers provide a slight distraction, the difference never truly feels like anything different at all.

Joey's flow has improved since we last saw him on 1999. Where he never really differed his flow on bars before, here varies it from being aggressive on '95 Till Infinity' and 'Amethyst Rockstar' or showing off a slick flow basically tripping over syllables on 'Hillary $wank' to just his signature flow on tracks like 'Death of Yolo' and 'Unorthodox.' Its superior to the samey flow he had on 1999 and shows he is growing from a technical standpoint. He has also grown as a lyricist, as the amount of dick jokes and themes of sexing woman have decreased significantly and the lines actually have thought and wit to them such as the lyrical play on words ''I don't drink too much, but I know the bud wiser" found on 'My Youth.' Songs like 'Unorthodox', '#LongLiveSteelo' and 'Amethyst Rockstar' showcase a broader lyrical spectrum, especially for someone who is barely eighteen. There is still a fare share of the lyrical naive-ness that was seen on 1999, but the blame can squarely be shouldered by the fact the mixtape is slightly bloated.

You either love him or hate him, so was the case with listeners when 1999 was released. And for better or for worse depending on your opinion of Joey, the same will be said with Summer Knights. It's a mixtape that showcases Joey stepping up in some area's while remaining horizontal in others. Either way, it's still displays enough growth to warrant him a spot under most anticipated album's of 2014.



Recent reviews by this author
Royal Blood Royal BloodHow to Dress Well What Is This Heart?
Ab-Soul These Days...Tigers Jaw Charmer
La Dispute Rooms of the HouseArmand Hammer Race Music
user ratings (88)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

1999

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sleaper
July 3rd 2013


3385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is solid dude, well done.
I think this is his best work for sure. Stoked on this one

Digging: Thom Yorke - Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I really enjoyed it. Not sure if I like it more than 1999 yet, but its on an even plane right now.

JazzHands333
July 3rd 2013


312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Found 1999 a lot more interesting than this. The production here's so cloudy that, for me, he and the instrumental end up blending and not really leaving any lasting impression. Good review, though: have a pos.

Tupik
July 3rd 2013


672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Download link for those interested :
http://www.livemixtapes.com/download/22392/joey-bada-summer-knights.html

Have yet to listen to this, nice review btw.

elephantREVOLUTION
July 3rd 2013


2747 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review. i've tried to listen to this a couple times and i wasn't feeling it that much.

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1627 Comments


You're one of my favorite reviewers on this site based on selection alone. Another great review.

I think kid is overhyped. When he said he had a style with no gimmicks I was like "Yes you do, it's called the 90s."

Hep Kat
July 3rd 2013


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

listening to this now for the first time. young mr. bada's voice has changed. it's adorable!

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahaha, "It's been awhile since they seen a style with no gimmicks." yeah I remember that line and thought the same thing.



@Hep Kat, I think his voice was better on 1999 before he became a ''man''

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude is beyond overrated but he def stepped his game up

His flow used to be atrocious but it's not bad o here, and he has some great lines like that I don't drink too much, I know the bud wiser

Probs around a 3.3-3.5 but I also haven't listened to this enough

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

FUCKKKK, you have no clue how hard I was trying to remember that line when I was reviewing this.

FourthReich
July 3rd 2013


17704 Comments


i really dug 1999 but i have no yearning to listen to this at all

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you really liked 1999, you'll enjoy this imo

FourthReich
July 3rd 2013


17704 Comments


just don't think i have it in me to endure 17 tracks again. i'm so over the bloated track list trend in rap

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah thats the problem here, it can get long in the tooth listening to it from beginning to end. But when he is on its great.

Listen to Word Is Bond/ Amethyst Rockstar/ Unorthodox for they are the spotlights imo

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


9034 Comments


I like this more than 1999

FourthReich
July 3rd 2013


17704 Comments


joey completely copied this dude's style though-http://www.sputnikmusic.com/bands/Perrion/34678/

oltnabrick
July 3rd 2013


30904 Comments


I bet this sucks




His sound is so forced

Digging: Rich Gang - Rich Gang: Tha Tour Pt 1

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2013


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lil B has control of your mind Oltna

oltnabrick
July 4th 2013


30904 Comments


hmmm i actually liked this a little more than i expected to.


edit NVM

FourthReich
July 4th 2013


17704 Comments


*$ummer Knight$



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy