Pulp
This is Hardcore


4.0
excellent

Review

by Amanda Murray EMERITUS
March 25th, 2006 | 16 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


More sophisticated than 1995's brilliant Different Class, This is Hardcore sees Pulp move into a more mature light. The basic themes of lust, rebellion and carefree frivolusness still permeate the album, but they are tackeled from different angles which showcase an aging frontman Jarvis Cocker confronting his demons and beginning to grasp his inadequateness as a father, husband and person. This is a highly introspective album for Cocker, and from the outside looking in it gives an interesting, at times disturbing, but all together engaging listen. It isn't an optimistic album - at every turn, Cocker is either sighing which resigned indifference or gasping with a varying degree of trepidation toward the unwinnable battles he still has to come. Even on the songs which are musically upbeat, the lyrics never fail to offer a disheartening view of how bad life can get. Those looking for an upbeat album should steer clear. Those looking for an intimate glimpse into the mind of a man who has lost all hope but at least has the knowledge of mind to admit it - This is Hardcore is a record for you.



Recent reviews by this author
Jonas Brothers A Little Bit LongerThe Divine Comedy Absent Friends
Katharine McPhee Katharine McPheeGwen Stefani The Sweet Escape
The Killers Sam's TownJustin Timberlake FutureSex/LoveSounds
user ratings (203)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Ben Thornburgh (4.5)
For Tomorrow: A Guide to Contemporary British Music, 1988-2013 (Part 36)...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sepstrup
April 18th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is growing on me slowly. I like a lot of the tracks, and the line: "I'm not jesus, though I have the same initials".This Message Edited On 04.19.06

Sepstrup
April 26th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Umm... My tracklist goes:



1. The Fear

2. Dishes

3. Party Hard

4. Help the Aged

5. This is Harcore

6. TV Movie

7. A Little Soul

8. I'm a Man

9. Seductive Barry

10. Sylvia

11. Glory Days

12. The Day After the Revolution



Odd...

morrissey
Moderator
April 26th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I screwed up when I was inputting it, I forgot #8, 'I'm a Man'. I've just corrected it. Are you sure you don't have "Like a Friend"?This Message Edited On 04.26.06

masada
April 29th 2006


2733 Comments


This is good, but I think I like Different Class more.

Sepstrup
May 20th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Fear is such an amazing song...

morrissey
Moderator
August 26th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I'm going to have to expand it, my opinion still stands, but I'd like to elaborate.

Sepstrup
September 6th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still don't understand why I don't have the song "Like a Friend" but this album is really amazing. Jarvis is one of my favourite vocalists.



Does His N' Hers compare to this? I want that album.

morrissey
Moderator
September 6th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His n Hers isn't as good as this, and its less dark thematically, but it is a good Pulp album. Check out my review for my full opinion.



I would definitely recommend it to you though, knowing you like their other two good albums.

Sepstrup
September 6th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would've bought it already, but couldn't find it at a good enough price. I bought We Love Life because it was cheap, but I don't like it that much.



So His N' Hers is the last good Pulp album?

morrissey
Moderator
September 6th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Unfortunately, yes.

bicepman4000
October 4th 2006


246 Comments


Good START of a review, this left me wanting more, more! Can somebody else write a review for this?

morrissey
Moderator
October 4th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heh yeah it's on my list, I'll get around to it eventually.



FYI this wasn't meant to be a review, it was originally a blurb but it got ported over.

CaptainAaarrrggghhh
November 27th 2012


420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The title song is probably their most epic creation.

Funeralopolis
March 25th 2013


14065 Comments


cool album

Digging: Belphegor - Totenritual

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2015


5280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first six 6 tracks here are probably among their best work. This Is Hardcore balances sexy and disturbing perfectly.

AcidCaravan
August 25th 2015


375 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pulp's true masterpiece.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy