Imagine Dragons
Night Visions


2.5
average

Review

by I want to see Jigglypuff fuck the shit out of a Gyarados USER (1 Reviews)
June 27th, 2013 | 24 replies | 2,438 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Repetitive Gimmicky and annoying at times

7 of 9 thought this review was well written

Imagine walking into a bakery and you find yourself looking at a cake...let's go with chocolate. It looks incredible, the top is covered with sprinkled strings of caramel and almonds, blue icing is along the edges, and purple flowers bloom from the sides. You can even smell its chocolatey goodness through the glass counter in front of you. You have to buy it. It just looks too good. However, when you take it home and sit down in your kitchen to take that first bite, anticipating the taste of the wondrous high glucose dessert you've acquired, you realize something...there’s no cake. All it is is icing and you sit there alone in your kitchen overwhelmed with feelings of confusion and disappointment.

Imagine Dragons is a similar experience. Something you’re excited about at first then you are horribly disappointed. Maybe not "horribly" disappointed because icing by itself isn't that bad, but it's not enough to fill your stomach. The album Imagine Dragons is exactly like that, icing without the cake.

So let's start the review

Dan Reynolds - Vocals, Percussion
Ben McKee - Bass, Backing Vocals
Wayne "Wing" Sermon - Guitar, Cello, Backing Vocals....Hahaha his nickname is Wing....i copied and pasted from wiki i don't feel like talking about the band members. I don't care enough
Dan Platzman - Drums, Viola, Backing Vocals

Night Visions is one of the most popular records of the mainstream music industry today, and not without reason. It's fun, sounds cool, and is catchy (at least to the musically uninclined). Night Visions starts with arguably the best track on the record, Radioactive. The song is a great introduction to the world of Imagine Dragons. The melody is full of life, energy, and excitement. Radioactive is comparable to the excitement of that first bite of cake I described earlier. However, as you sink your teeth into Night Visions you begin to hear its lack of…well music. All the songs basically stick with the same structure; an athematic beat in the background to give that "we can get through anything feeling" and Dan Reynolds singing forgettable lyrics. The frosted-coated formula is also often accompanied by a choir of background vocals to put some extra sprinkles on top the icing.

Now let’s discuss some of the tracks on the record. I won’t go over all of them because I’ll end up repeating myself. I’ll start with the opener, Radioactive, the one I mentioned previously. The track is likeable immediately with a catchy drumbeat, Reynold singing epic uninspired lyrics, and “Whoas” as backing vocals. Hmmm doesn’t that description sound familiar. It’s Time introduces clapping and a string instrument to the recipe. Demons’ hook is found within the chorus vocals. On Top of the World, my personal favorite, has a bouncy feel and adds some more “silly” sounds on the cakeless, cake. The next two songs are relatively forgettable with similar sounds as the previous tracks but with less attractive hooks. The few songs following those specifically Every Night and Underdog both suffer from annoying repetitive two line choruses. As the Night Vision reaches its end the songs begin to pick up in quality again. The River’s epicness factor is reduced, and has an attractive raindrop-sounding guitar. The track has an interesting melody like water flowing down a creek. One of the better tracks simply because it’s different, and the closer track Selene has an addictive, clean and crisp guitar riff.

Each song in Night Visions uses variations of the frosted-coated formula, so the songs at least sound a little different. Oh I forgot the lyrics for each song are also different. Essentially what I'm saying is that as you listen to Night Visions it becomes increasingly repetitive. Imagine Dragons didn’t even use more than one color of icing on their cake of lies, which makes me want to give this album a 2.0 instead of a 2.5. They never really give their own sound a chance. The sound they created isn’t bad, but it seems they were more focused on the production of their music more than the music itself.
Cake without icing will always beat icing by itself.


user ratings (452)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
SuaveDino (3.5)
Imagine Dragons have exploded onto the scene with "Night Visions." The band adds an unexpected touc...

teslabarrier (1)
indie trash...

Green Baron (2.5)
A solid first half can't make up for the absolute snooze-fest that is the rest of the album....

SowingSeason STAFF (2.5)
So polished that it slips right in one ear and out the other....

related reviews

The Archive
trending alt & indie albums

AM

Lowborn

To Be Kind

Reflektor

Comments:Add a Comment 
IbenizGEO1
June 27th 2013



2258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hope it doesn't suck first try at reviewing...

Green Baron
June 27th 2013



19383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

meh. won't neg since its your first, but it's not that great of a review.

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

IbenizGEO1
June 27th 2013



2258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well constructive criticism would be nice. Suggestions?

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2013



3439 Comments


Hey man, welcome to the site. I'll give some constructive criticism because I like to think I'm OK at that (plus as your friendly neighborhood contrib I have some experience as well).

You start your review off well, and if you actually went somewhere with the intro it'd be even better. However, halfway through the second paragraph it seems like you totally run out of ideas and just talk about the music very generally. Which wouldn't be bad, but your last (and massive, may I point out) paragraph kind of runs on and on without really saying all that much. Plus, there are quite a few examples of amateurish sentences. I'll pick out a few:

The album starts with possibly the best track on the album. You can decide if that was good or bad decision because the band pretty much says in the beginning of the record, "Yea this is the best we got, so it only goes down from here."

(also note that describing too many individual tracks really briefly is usually a bad idea. not something unfixable in the least, though - just make an effort to talk about the album as a whole in the future)

An athematic beat in the background to give that "we can get through anything feeling" and Dan Reynolds singing forgettable lyrics.

This is not a complete sentence.

The best example of this variation of the formula is the track "Underdog" which has an electronic riff played throughout the song as Mr. Reynolds repeats the line, "I love to be the underdog." Which brings me to another issue. The song after "Underdog", "Nothing Left to Say." I really don't get it. A random 9 minute song in the middle of the record. No other song is nearly as long as "Nothing Left to Say." Why is it there?



See what I mean? Now, I'm not tearing apart your review needlessly (and truth be told I give quite a bit of constructive criticism, and this is far from the worst review I've seen). I really want to see you improve, which will inevitably happen if you continue to write while really thinking "how do I make this review better?" Next time you write a review (and I really hope there is indeed a next time), think about the following questions:

1. Am I talking about the individual songs too much without focusing on the album as a whole enough?
2. Are my sentences long enough to not feel choppy and well-constructed?
3. Am I going somewhere with every point? (I myself need to work on this one)

Have a pos considering it's your first review, and it's not bad at all. I look forward to seeing you around these parts again!

BTW your avatar is awesome!

Friday13th
June 27th 2013



2337 Comments


Welcome dude. Pos'd for a decent first review.

Digging: East of Eden - Mercator Projected

IbenizGEO1
June 27th 2013



2258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Brostep

Thanks I appreciate it. I'll admit half way through I did get bored and realize this was more going to be more difficult than
I thought. It seems that you caught me. I'll probably revise this review later when I have some time.

Thanks I like my avatar too

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2013



3439 Comments


No problem man. If you're going to review something, though, I'd strongly advise (read: DO THIS) doing your best the whole way through. It took me about 2 weeks to write my first review because I had no idea what I was doing, and it's still not very good.

Green Baron
June 27th 2013



19383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

damn brostep, you did exactly what i wanted to do.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2013



3439 Comments


I try haha

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2013



9700 Comments


@IBenizGEO1 Welcome to sputnik! Don't worry you'll get better as you write more reviews. I'm 16 reviews in and I still need lots of work.

By the way, definitely split that last block of text into two, maybe even three paragraphs. Makes reading it a lot easier. Gonna pos cause you definitely have potential! Read my first review man it prob sucked so bad haha

Green Baron
June 27th 2013



19383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm 33 and still shit. :s

Ecnalzen
June 27th 2013



6495 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Brostep is extra good with the feedback giving.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2013



9700 Comments


Sure is. He gave me like two pages of feedback on my Chevelle review haha

IbenizGEO1
June 27th 2013



2258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not great but I think it's much better than my original. I haven't seriously proofed it yet. So there's probably going to be some grammatical errors

IbenizGEO1
June 27th 2013



2258 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yep, I already see sentence structures i dont like

TheSpaceMan
June 28th 2013



2270 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly thats a really good intro for a first review, so its a shame you never took it anywhere. it
completely described my first experience with the album: I heard the delicious chocolate icing that is
"Radioactive" but when I sat down for the rest when I finally got the album...

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2013



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Demons’ hook is found within the chorus vocals"

Isn't that the point of a chorus?

Azn.
June 28th 2013



5604 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

^

Agree with review, although it wasn't written very well

DotEight
June 28th 2013



5482 Comments


"Band" sucks.

Toondude10
June 28th 2013



3748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

God, Radioactive and It's Time are SO fucking overplayed.

Digging: Breaking Benjamin - Phobia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy