The Killers
Battle Born


1.0
awful

Review

by raidynC USER (3 Reviews)
June 26th, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Battle born ends up more like achilles once his heel has been thrashed

The Killers are a great band and they have been one of the best since the advent of Hot Fuzz in the earlier 2000s. With their incomperable single Mr Brightside and Somebody Told Me, they became the break out stars of their years. But with the follow up Sam's Town they took a weird approach, then went back to pop, mixing it with the weirdness in Day and Age, and now we have finally arived to Battleborn, their newest album, and needless to say, it doesn't look too bright for Mr Brightside Flowers.

First of all, what is up with the lyrics? I'm running out of time and I'm turning on a dime? How does that even make sense? That's from the opener Flesh and Bone, and things only get worse from there, like Here With Me's "Don't want your pictures on my cell phone, I want you here with me". That is so dumb, it's ridiculous how stupid it is. You don't put the word cell phone in your song becuse it immediately dates the song. It would be like if an 80s song said don't want your walkman in my pocket. It just doesn't make any since at all to me, at least.

Other than that, the songs are just boring. Every single one has a big chorus and spacey feelings to it, it all seems made for a arena anthem rock, like they have been heading to. I am not a big fan of arena anthems but they do a good job with it I guess. At least Flowers sounds like he is into the songs, even though the song writing itself is awful. They are at least passionate about what they do and I have to commend them for that. Hopefully they go back to the fake British new punk feeling of Hot Fuzz, then I will be a happy camper.


user ratings (325)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

yeah so this album is so bad

dylantheairplane
June 26th 2013


2171 Comments


No this review is

raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

whats wrong with it?

Artuma
June 26th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nice review










neg'd btw

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2013


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

summary made me giggle for some reason, thanks for that, ye album is pants

raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

thanks mena!

Crawl
June 26th 2013


1647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not really.

DegausserGuernica24
June 26th 2013


1134 Comments


The perfect blend of pop-punk and electronica. Killers take notice!




Oh wait....

BillTheButcher
June 26th 2013


289 Comments


"Don't want your pictures on my cell phone, I want you here with me". how does this lyric not make sense to you? how is it stupid?

raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

huh?

raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i explained it in the review

SatelliteYears
June 26th 2013


190 Comments


"Hot Fuzz"

That's when I knew this review would be negged.

SatelliteYears
June 26th 2013


190 Comments


"Hot Fuzz"

That's when I knew this review would be negged.

raidynC
June 26th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

why?

BillTheButcher
June 26th 2013


289 Comments


so, in conclusion, to make a good rock song you should avoid acknowledging any technology, or any aspect of current culture, that may someday be outdated?

Artuma
June 26th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

duh this is crandynewman what did you guys expect??

DegausserGuernica24
June 26th 2013


1134 Comments


It's a shame that Nandy Crewman was banned immediately.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013


16921 Comments


Hot Fuzz hahahahahahahaha

This album is crap, but your review needs a bit of work. Most of it is just grammar issues that makes it difficult to read...but you can't have an error as blatant as misspelling the band's breakthrough album.

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Tyrael
June 26th 2013


20971 Comments


Sowinngggg

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2013


16921 Comments


Tyyyy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy