Lil B
100% Gutta


2.5
average

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (92 Reviews)
June 25th, 2013 | 113 replies


Release Date: 06/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I can't cook to most of this, it's not very based :(

Yes it's that time of the month again, another #rare Lil B tape to collect. Now I'm no Ash Ketchum of swag, but I got eight tapes so far and I'm always down to see what the BasedGod has in store. It's actually been three months since the release of the last tape which is a bit uncharacteristic of the Based God. This relatively long gap between albums had me hoping Lil B was going to drop somewhat of a game changer, like a God's Father 2, type album, or even the long awaited rock album he's been promising would have sufficed. Instead what we got was 100% Gutta, an epic collection of 34 tracks that neither try anything new, nor repeat past successes.

A lot of Lil B tapes tend to be on the long side, and usually have a bit of filler. It's fair to say that most of his tapes comprise of several amazing tracks that elevate a lot of good to great tracks. The major problem with 100% Gutta is that there are only a few standout tracks, and most of the 34 tracks on the album are bad to average. Sure there are tracks like "Mr. Dopeman," a touching tale of an encounter Lil B had with a college aged drug dealer that inspired him to take down the local drug kings, but most of the songs are just Lil B spitting average flow over average beats. Among the few standout tracks are "Celebrate for Lil B," and "Live Thru Me," which are good, but ultimately just sound like God's Father b-sides. A couple of the cooking tracks are amusing like "4 Me," and "Still Flexin Membership," but they still pale in comparison to classic cooking music of past Lil B tapes. With so few standout tracks there's really no reason that 100% Gutta needs to be as long as the masterpiece God's Father.

Overall, 100% Gutta is a huge step down from Lil B's last few tapes. The more serious songs aren't as good as the serious songs on Pretty Young Thug and Glassface, and the humorous tracks are nearly as funny or amusing as the ones on Pink Flame. After a three month wait The BasedGod desperately needed a game changing album, and 100% Gutta is the complete opposite and a train wreck of an album.



Recent reviews by this author
Have Mercy A Place Of Our OwnPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
user ratings (61)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Weakest Lil B album I've heard easily

Stand out tracks:

Mr. Dopeman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wapyq22zeJc

Twerk Like Miley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M73euKRkPTg

4 Me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdO_LcMLSu8

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

YakNips
June 25th 2013


12758 Comments


"Now I'm no Ash Catchum of swag"

God I love your reviews Rob

Digging: Black James Franco - Sun House

Gwyn.
June 25th 2013


15255 Comments


isn't it ketchum

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lol yeah oops

ZilbelPing
June 25th 2013


6164 Comments


$w@g motherfucker, do you have it?!?!?!?

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


1697 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Short, simple, and great.

Ire
June 25th 2013


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

damn and pretty young thug was so wag

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I know man, last few were all great

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


4507 Comments


100% Gutta is the collision of water/city... mind/body.

tommygun
June 25th 2013


25094 Comments


first paragraph last sentence should be 'nor' not 'or'

either/or + neither/nor

gd review

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


23964 Comments


"Now I'm no Ash Ketchum of swag, but I got eight tapes so far and I'm always down to see what the BasedGod has in store."

do you mean that you actually purchased the tapes or did you just download them?

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

They are all free

Just like how you don't need to buy pokeballs if you find them laying around

treeqt.
June 25th 2013


10855 Comments


rare based review

Digging: Alisa Weilerstein - Solo

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lol he has way more than 4 a year

Ire
June 25th 2013


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

swag

treeqt.
June 25th 2013


10855 Comments


isn't releasing ridiculous amounts of the same old bullshit literally the pop punk ethos?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2013


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lol

pesbiros
June 25th 2013


547 Comments


andcas name me one reason why you arent jammin with us

http://plug.dj/teeth-of-truth

treeqt.
June 25th 2013


10855 Comments


even if there was one I am afraid I wouldn't be able to name it

pesbiros
June 25th 2013


547 Comments


so in other words dude embrace the riffs

http://riffs-of-truth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy