Meishi Smile
mYSTERIOUS sUMMER vACATION


4.0
excellent

Review

by MisterTornado CONTRIBUTOR (46 Reviews)
June 20th, 2013 | 53 replies | 2,860 views


Release Date: 02/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Drowning here in summer’s cauldron

Garrett Yim (aka Meishi Smile) has kept himself busy the past couple of years. He is the founder of his own label Zoom Lens, which hosts a series of enigmatic bedroom auteurs creating synth-laced dream pop, spiked by the occasional experimental/harsh noise project (one project that Yim records under, Yūko Imada, falls under the latter). It’s interesting to hear Yim embracing such a wide array of sound, clearly possessing an acute ear for both extremes. Far beyond the abrasive harsh noise of his Yūko Imada project, resting somewhere off the coast of a small, desolate island inside the pages of a wild and colorful manga is Meishi Smile, who lives off the code “the eternal feeling of summer and youth taken by 2D form”.

Taking his own description into account, mYSTERIOUS sUMMER vACTION marks the first new material from Meishi’s tropical Japanese paradise since 2012’s Lust. vACATION is a remix EP of sorts, but what exactly it’s “remixing” I know not, so we’ll use the term loosely. Right away we’re met with an ocean-soaked house thump on “"課後の約束 (☼ SUMMER BREEZE ☼ RMX.)”, opening the EP with a wondrously inviting launch party of seaside brass and cascading vocals. It’s the kind of up-tempo blue-skied charm you’d find scoring the fast-paced eternal dreamscapes of the Emerald Coast in Sonic Adventure. Cleaning up the fetti is “L/M/B/W/Y (*** REAL LIFE ANIME IS REAL LIFE™ RMX.)” a similarly club-ready celebration of glitchy Japanese kawaii vocals, ultimately making for a more aggressive mix as thick red strobe lights drench the straw and tiki walls.

The party quiets down a bit on “zZz (LULLABYE RMX.)”, opting for a glitchier set of dreamy repetition, something that this bold world of infinite tropical optimism would call a “ballad” of sorts. A slight stylistic shift is found following this on “FOR U (♂ INNOCENCE RMX. ♀)”, an even more stripped down and emotional mix than its predecessor, ideal for reflection by the shore while starring out into an immensity of blue water and sky. After this reflection we’re met with the most gorgeous mix of all on “バーモント・*ッス (DREAM POP RMX.)”, a lavish hallucination of aural cumulus clouds drenched in light-as-air femme fatale. It’s an opus of imagination and daydreams on the wing, like starring out the plane window and reflecting on your tropical fantasy vacation to foreign nebulous realms. And that’s what mYSTERIOUS sUMMER vACTION is all about, taking us somewhere far beyond our perception of reality, to a place where optimism and tropical grandeur reigns in a hazy artificial world known as consciousness.



Recent reviews by this author
Oneohtrix Point Never Commissions IEcho Lane Afterschool Inc. bikes clouds cranes phones
Taku Sugimoto Quartet / OctetWhite Suns Totem
Delroy Edwards Teenage TapesAnne Guthrie Codiaeum variegatum
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To fans of all things kawaii and tropical daydreams, look no further.

放課後の約束 (☼ SUMMER BREEZE RMX. ☼): https://soundcloud.com/meishismile/summer-breeze-rmx

✄ LOVE ORCHESTRA ✄: https://soundcloud.com/meishismile/meishi-smile-secret-imouto



Digging: Echo Lane Afterschool Inc. - bikes clouds cranes phones

Rev
June 20th 2013



9292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds like i need this immediately


also the girl on the cover looks just like Urabe from Nazo no Kanojo X

Rev
June 20th 2013



9292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ALSO HE'S APPARENTLY PERFORMING AT ANIME EXPO WHICH I WAS SUPPOSED TO BE GOING TO.

GODDAMNIT.

mindleviticus
June 20th 2013



7938 Comments


whoa

pizzamachine
June 20th 2013



12568 Comments


lol I was just playing Sonic Adventure, alright I'm on this

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"ALSO HE'S APPARENTLY PERFORMING AT ANIME EXPO WHICH I WAS SUPPOSED TO BE GOING TO. "

take me with u!

@pizza: were you also running away from the killer whale in the emerald coast?

pizzamachine
June 20th 2013



12568 Comments


I was : ), I haven't got very far lol.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I understand. I'd sit around and stare at the big blue sky too

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw that video, so raw

treeqt.
June 21st 2013



7844 Comments


Lust was kinda cool so I'll probably get this

Digging: Jason Lescalleet - Much to My Demise

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes you probably will. looks great as a folder in your desktop w/ a pamyu pamyu background!

treeqt.
June 21st 2013



7844 Comments


hehe

too bad i got a f#a#∞ background

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is post-nothing so it won't work. unless you want to be ironic...

Rev
June 21st 2013



9292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is it bad i can name all the samples on this?

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:o name me some

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013



14884 Comments


tornado, you're the man. cooking up a jefre cantu-ledesma review rn

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for devotion?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013



14884 Comments


yerp

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2013



4172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome, looking forward to it. suggestion: all CAPS because let's face it that's really the only way to justify that EP...

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2013



14884 Comments


reading this right now.

"It’s interesting to hear Yim embracing such a wide array of sound; clearly possessing an acute ear for both extremes."

^ if you keep this as is it should be a comma instead of a semicolon. you could keep the semicolon if you turned the second half into an independent phrase like "he clearly possesses an acute ear for both extremes"

"And that’s what mYSTERIOUS sUMMER vACTION is all about; taking us somewhere far"

i would change this semicolon to a comma too

this review is pretty ridiculous and i love it. good work



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy