Queensryche
Q2K


3.5
great

Review

by PsychicChris USER (61 Reviews)
June 20th, 2013 | 84 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Q2K is the first that doesn't feel like a true Queensryche album but it's still pretty decent.

In a world where so many bands only have one or two original members in their ranks, it is sad to see how severely Queensryche was affected by the loss of one guy. Having been the main writer and business overseer, Chris DeGarmo’s departure greatly changed the band’s dynamic as Geoff Tate assumed leadership and a series of guitarists were brought in to cover his tracks. The first of these was Seattle producer Kelly Gray, a former bandmate of Tate’s, who would quickly become a controversial figure among fans despite this being his only appearance as an official member.

Despite DeGarmo’s departure, Q2K’s sound isn’t too far removed from Hear In The Now Frontier. Some of the subtle nuances have lost their impact but the grunge influence has been kept in tact and most of the songs have kept their loose execution. However, there may be a little more variety and there is a fairly good mix of ballads and heavier tracks.

The band’s performances also don’t seem to be too affected though that has more to do with the style than anything else. While Gray isn’t much of a lead player, the focus on rhythms lets him fit in well and the vocals seem to be holding up as well as they were on previous efforts. In addition, Rockenfield seems to be a little more prominent as songs like the opening “Falling Down” and “Burning Man” are driven by his percussion skills.

Unfortunately, the lack of nuances and weaker songwriting do bring this album down to a degree. There is still nothing bad on here and having a few less songs on here does make it feel more solid than Hear In The Now Frontier, but this is the first Queensryche album where the listeners spends more time looking for diamonds in the rough than enjoying a consistent release.

Q2K’s diamond ends up being “The Right Side Of The Mind,” a brooding closer that channels the Promised Land days with its subdued vocals, spacy guitar and bass work, and unsettling chorus. In addition, “Falling Down” and “Sacred Ground” make decent grunge rockers while “How Could I” and “Beside You” respectively stand out for a passionate chorus and almost gospel motifs.

In addition to having the dumbest title for a Queensryche album this side of Operation: Mindcrime II, Q2K is the first that doesn’t feel like a true Queensryche album. Tate’s vocals may have been their most unique asset but their sophistication and strong dynamics made sure they still sounded like themselves through even the most blatant sellouts. It’s a slight step below Hear In The Now Frontier but it’s still great compared to just about everything that would come after it…

Current Highlights:
“Falling Down”
“Sacred Ground”
“How Could I?”
“Beside You”
“The Right Side Of My Mind”

Originally published at http://psychicshorts.blogspot.com



Recent reviews by this author
Rigor Mortis Slaves To The GraveRigor Mortis Rigor Mortis
Pentagram Last RitesPentagram Show 'Em How
Pentagram Sub-BasementPentagram Review Your Choices
user ratings (179)
Chart.
2.1
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
PsychicChris
June 20th 2013


217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I wrote the first review for this on here. Neat.

ViperAces
June 20th 2013


12466 Comments


nigga you cray

NeroCorleone80
June 20th 2013


29279 Comments


You seem to like every Ryche album

piroga84
June 20th 2013


129 Comments


i like your review, never heard the album though
but reads like a 3. 3,5 tops

tempest--
June 20th 2013


13882 Comments


This was one of the first QR albums I heard because my dad randomly had it on CD.
It would probably get a .5 boost for the nostalgia, but it can't see it being more than 3.5 for me, and even that's a stretch.

facupm
June 20th 2013


8026 Comments


You seem to like every Queensryche album yeah, i was expecting this one to be a 3 at most but good review anyway, i suppose you dont dig Mindcrime II

Digging: Dissect - Swallow Swouming Mass

sonictheplumber
June 20th 2013


4627 Comments


this is insane

NeroCorleone80
June 20th 2013


29279 Comments


"i suppose you dont dig Mindcrime II"

I wouldnt count on that the way these reviews are going.

Titan
June 20th 2013


5055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Right Side Of My Mind is the only good song here.


'but it’s still great compared to just about everything that would come after it…'

This is the worst QR album outside of DTC.

either way, pos'd

PsychicChris
June 20th 2013


217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This probably should've been a 3.5 but I think it does have some good moments. To be honest, I hadn't even listened to it in its entirety before I started this review series.

As for Mindcrime II, my feelings are . . . mixed. Ask me again this weekend.

facupm
June 20th 2013


8026 Comments


well, im waiting for that review

facupm
June 20th 2013


8026 Comments


and by the way your review reads, it seems more a 3.5 than a 4, so you could easily change that if you want to

SitarHero
June 20th 2013


4698 Comments


The review is good, but pos'd for recommending Boggy Depot and Ogre Tones.

Titan
June 20th 2013


5055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'To be honest, I hadn't even listened to it in its entirety before I started this review series.'


Why review albums that you're not familiar with?

dannyboy89
June 20th 2013


12027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Pos'd, though I think a 4 is a bit too high. I like this myself, but couldn't
possibly 4 it.

And I have heard this more than once btw.

sonictheplumber
June 20th 2013


4627 Comments


titan has a point

PsychicChris
June 20th 2013


217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say it was mostly to see what kind of surprises were in their discography that I had previously overlooked due to their unpopularity. In addition to this album, I hadn't heard much of Hear In The Now Frontier and American Soldier before this series and I ended up loving the former and thinking the latter was okay. And if it helps, I've also listening to this band religiously for the past couple months and have probably given each album about 3 or 4 listens each.

Willie
Moderator
June 20th 2013


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Q2K’s sound isn’t too far removed from Hear In The Now Frontier. Some of the subtle nuances have lost their impact but the grunge influence has been kept in tact and most of the songs have kept their loose execution.
I always saw this album as a return to their older sound and a removal of the grunge influences. It sounded to me like Empire pushed through a mainstream rock filter.

It’s a slight step below Hear In The Now Frontier but it’s still great compared to just about everything that would come after it…
I just don't understand how people like Hear in the Now Frontier. It was such a terrible album. I thought it was their worst album even up until Dedicated to Chaos... now it's just their second worst. Also, I think Tribe was better than this.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

dannyboy89
June 20th 2013


12027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sorry to disagree Willie, but just jammed HitNF and imo it crushes this. American Soldier is possibly my fave after DDeGarmo stopped being an official member.

HorrorBusiness78
June 20th 2013


109 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've never cared for this one. Right Side is a good tune, but the rest are boring. Tribe is much better, not perfect, but the closest to a real QR album until the recent self titled.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy