Reign of Fury
World Detonation


4.0
excellent

Review

by my trash taste is stuck in the past USER (27 Reviews)
June 12th, 2013 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While not the most original creation, World Detonation is nevertheless a passionate and fun album.

Reign of Fury is nothing if not passionate. With a sound straight out of the '80s, World Detonation serves as a love letter to the glory days of thrash metal. While this isn't exactly groundbreaking, the album fortunately comes packed with enough catches and little things to put itself ahead of the masses of generic re-thrash currently available.

If one searches the album for the typical elements found in thrash metal, they will not be disappointed. Riffs are abundant and varied, with enough aggression and kick to hold the listener in for the full ride. The harsh, punk-ish vocals front the music quite well, and fit nicely. However, something sometimes forgotten in thrash metal is present here; melody. Sometimes, bands go for an all-out onslaught of pure speed and bone-crunching heaviness, a formula seen in bands such as Demolition Hammer. As a result, there is no break from the speed, and many bands lose themselves in the anger and sacrifice variety and interesting composition for the sake of brutality. On the other hand, bands such as Evile have shown that, when done poorly, slower passages can also be disastrous, breaking the flow of the song and feeling tacked on. Reign of Fury has effectively weaved slower, melodic passages into their songs without bearing a detriment on the rest of the album as a result. Sometimes it is a simple slow opening leading into a fast song, other times it is a subdued passage serving as a break from the speed. In either case, it works well, and contributes nicely to the album.

Another point to make which is something that takes a while to set in is how catchy some songs are. While one may not think it right away, it's damned near impossible to stop thinking about some tracks from this album once they've been heard. Or course, this does not mean the songs are soft, they're just quite memorable. The album is actually addictive, and will leave the listener returning for multiple listens, never losing the edge it had the first time.

A knock against World Detonation is the partial lack of originality. While the album still stands up well enough on its own that this is only minor, it still may come off as "just another re-thrash album" if one listens to a snippet of a song. This may deter the listener slightly, or at the very least leave a poor first impression.

In spite of this flaw, World Detonation is a very impressive debut release from a bright new thrash band. Ideas meld together quite well, and overall the package presented is highly satisfying.

Highlights:
Envy The Dead
Heaven Waits/Hell Takes
World Detonation



Recent reviews by this author
Hangar Last TimeFueled by Fire Spread the Fire
Excel Split ImageFallen Angel (SWE) Faith Fails
Tantara Based on EvilPentakill Smite and Ignite
user ratings (2)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mister Twister
June 12th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, so nobody went and wrote up their own review. I tried to re-write the one I wrote yesterday.

Nobody is going to read this at all or listen to this album, are they?

NOTE: I was not intending to insult Demolition Hammer in any way through this review. They slay. I meant that too much brutality without substance is not a good thing.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


19962 Comments


you review some cool stuff man, i'll have to check this out. have a pos

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


19962 Comments


I see what you mean by the melody this is fun as hell can't believe it only has 1 rating

Mister Twister
June 12th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I added it to the database two days ago, nobody has really tried to look into it. Apart from my list where I asked someone else to review it, this is the only thing anybody has done related to it on the site. Shame, it's such a fun album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


19962 Comments


lol damn dude i never saw your list i would have reviewed this no problem but you did a good job

Mister Twister
June 12th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only made that list because Sputnik devoured the review I wrote that day. Had it gone through this would have been up two days ago. Either way, as long as people are getting around to it I'm happy. Deserves to go around.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


19962 Comments


i hear you man. yeah this is definitely worth listening to so props for reviewing it. gonna rate it after a few more spins. you should review xentrix's debut album?

Mister Twister
June 12th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might, if I get around to it. Would rather re-write the really bad track-by-track I made for For Whose Advantage? before I do that though. Must atone for my past sins and all. If you still wanted to write a review, you could check out an album called Trinity Overture by the band Majestic. I made the review for their first one, but nobody has really looked into them. They are my all-time favorite band, so seeing their second album get its own review would be awesome too. Every track is on YouTube.

Just if you were in the mood to write a review, that's a band I highly recommend.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


19962 Comments


Cool i'll keep it in mind ;)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2013


19962 Comments


i'm sick of hearing that about every new thrash band lol.

listen to Heaven Waits/Hell Takes it's pretty awesome


Mister Twister
June 13th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"A knock against World Detonation is the partial lack of originality. While the album still stands up well enough on its own that this is only minor, it still may come off as "just another re-thrash album" if one listens to a snippet of a song. This may deter the listener slightly, or at the very least leave a poor first impression."

I even acknowledged that in the review. Once you give it a chance, it's more than just another re-thrash album.

BlackLlama
June 27th 2013


1699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All thrash sounds generic... that's why it's thrash :D Really, what else do people expect them to do? Originality died with Exodus and the genre was basically perfected by Heathen and Demolition Hammer.

That being said, this was a fun release, and I welcome our throwback thrash overlords.

Digging: Pitch Black Forecast - As the World Burns

Mister Twister
June 28th 2013


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, going in to this expecting it to break new ground will only lead to disappointment. This is top of the line in its class, though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy