Black Sabbath
1969 Demos


2.5
average

Review

by John Marinakis USER (35 Reviews)
June 11th, 2013 | 45 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The humble beginnings of a Rock ‘n’ Roll juggernaut.

It was just a few days before Sabbath’s new album would become available online, when I discovered these very early recordings. Dating back to 1969, these songs were recorded during a transitional period when the band’s name was still Earth. So, for all of you who are interested in Sabbath’s backstory, this offer is intriguing to say the least.

Regarding these early recordings, Tony Iommi said:
We didn't write those songs. They were written by a chap named Norman Haines. At the time we were managed by Jim Simpson, who was a local Birmingham guy. He insisted that we record these songs. We just wanted to play, so we recorded them. We wanted to write our own songs and make our own record, but this was just an initial effort. We had never been in a recording studio in our lives before that.

So these demos are indeed Black Sabbath’s baby steps. Their very first attempt at becoming a studio band. Seeing that this work is not a result from a band who has set their goals, do not expect the doomy ‘n’ gloomy kind of music that followed just a few months later. Even if there are some foreshadowing elements, the overall feeling is that you’re listening to a typical 60’s British Rock band. The recordings sound happy, naïve and really cheesy for a band that, only a few months later, forged the noisy and loud Heavy Metal genre.

Apart from Tony Iommi, who’s lead guitar playing really steals the spotlight, Butler and Ward seem to be confined. Ozzy’s voice is surprisingly good in these demos. His signature off key-wails were unwoven at the time. The twenty one year old Iommi acts like a leader. The fluidity of his playing doesn’t surprise me at all as he was an active guitarist since 1963-1964, playing with local bands in various pubs and clubs around his neighborhood. Sure, he wasn’t an accomplished musician yet, but he was an experienced guitar player already. His bluesy, imaginative solos are not that different from what you hear on the first Sabbath record.

To summarise, these demos are nothing more than a low budget attempt by a bunch of kids trying to exploit their first studio opportunity, disclose their potential and enjoy themselves at the same time. Little did they know for what fate had in store for them. Unbeknownst to them at the time, they would shake the very foundations of Rock music like no other band had done before.



Recent reviews by this author
Crypt Sermon Out of the GardenGary Moore Bad For You Baby
Cathedral The Carnival BizarreCathedral Cosmic Requiem
Cathedral Statik MajikCathedral The Ethereal Mirror
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
rockandmetaljunkie
June 10th 2013


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It had to be done.

NeoSpaz
June 10th 2013


4519 Comments


the rebel is fucking amazing

Titan
June 10th 2013


7633 Comments


excellent review and extremely informative....pos'd

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2013


4467 Comments


I didnt even know this existed. I'll check this out tonight after I'm done with my review for 13- it will be nice to go from their lastest to the very first.

POS'd.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 10th 2013


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@NeoSpaz

Yeah, it's funny and all that.





@Titan

Thanks man.





@SgtPepper

Didn't know either. I stumble upon it simple because someone posted it here in Sputnik. Whoever was

I thank him for that.





"after I'm done with my review for 13"



Sweet, can't wait to read your review man.

YoYoMancuso
June 10th 2013


11399 Comments


awesome choice for a review. pos.

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp a Butterfly

Spec
June 10th 2013


27777 Comments


69


omg... that's so fucking funny






omg

facupm
June 10th 2013


9237 Comments


never checked this, even when i listened every single album by them, including all tony martin era

scissorlocked
June 10th 2013


3514 Comments


that's crazy stuff man!!

pos hard

ps. that is some good writing!

VinesOvThorn
June 10th 2013


198 Comments


hmm I was unaware about this album.

This is gonna be a cool listen

rockandmetaljunkie
June 11th 2013


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the feedback guys.



@YoYoMancuso

Yeah, I wanted to do this because "13"'s release.



@facupm

Check it out, it's not a great dig but an interesting one nonetheless.



@scissorlocked

Thanks for the kind words dude.



@VinesOvThorn

"This is gonna be a cool listen"

Indeed

Antonius
June 11th 2013


255 Comments


well written and pos'd man! Indeed its excellent to see the origins of Sabbath's self-titled song. And secondly, the rebel is a very interesting song!

manosg
June 11th 2013


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Very well-written review man, pos. Interesting fusion of flower-power and the blues.



I think there's some more Sabbath demo material on The Ozzman Cometh.

Digging: The Gathering - How to Measure a Planet?

Rastapunk
June 11th 2013


789 Comments


Review is damn good!

Never heard of those recordings I will definitely check them out!

TheSmashBro
June 11th 2013


260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked these demos, even if they aren't entirely Sabbathy.

Good review, too.

YUJOS
June 11th 2013


971 Comments


Nice work again man.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 11th 2013


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Antonius

Indeed, that track came as a complete surprise to me.



@manosg

I'll check it out then.



@Rastapunk

Any time you like man, these demos are essential for all Sabbath freaks.



@TheSmashBro

3.5 ? That's too high man...



YUJOS

Thanks man. I'm wondering when I'll see your first review. :-P

YUJOS
June 11th 2013


971 Comments


^ Don't prizoneis me my friend hahahahaha.

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8252 Comments


"To summarise, these demos are nothing more than a low budget attempt by a bunch of kids trying to exploit their first studio opportunity, disclose their potential and enjoy themselves at the same time."
Haa rock 'n roll, precious garage days.

Have a double pos for reviewing this.

RunOfTheMill
June 27th 2013


1698 Comments


Good review dude. I remember hearing The Rebel and Early One Morning a few months back, and they weren't all that great, but Thomas Jane sounds like it's quite something.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy