Big Big Train
English Electric Part 2


4.5
superb

Review

by aggelosm USER (5 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2013 | 31 replies


Release Date: 03/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Best progressive rock album of 2013? Hell yeah.

Big Big Train is an English progressive rock band formed in 1990. I got into this band with the album 'The Underfall Yard' and I was totaly blown away.Their sound is based on the progressive rock of 70s and they have many elements from this golden era. Many people say that Big Big Train are the new Genesis (early days) and I think tha this simile is fair.. English Electric Part Two is the second chapter of the English Electric concept and it was released on March 4th. The etherial atmosphere and the great variaty of musical instruments and guest musicians make this album a gem for every progressive rock collection.

The musical journey of English Electric Part Two starts with the best way. 'East Coast Racer' is the first and the longest song of the album with 16 minutes of music and makes the listener to have high standards and requirements for the next parts of the album. 'Swan Hunter' is a ballad with a fantastic atmosphere and very emotional background. David Longdon is a great vocalist and one of the best of his genre. He reminds me a lot of Peter Gabriel. Personal favorite of the album is the song 'Worked Out'. It has a very emotional and etherial first half and an amazing groove with guitar solos , flutes and synths on the second half. Trully amazing!

'Leopard' is the shortest song of the album , very simple and unnecessary. Personally I think it's the only flaw of 'English Electric Pt2' because it acts like a combo breaker between all these great songs. 'Keeper Of The Abbeys' it's an up-tempo song with great musicianship ,which reminds me more than anything else of early Genesis. Fantastic outbursts , great guitar solos combined with the sounds from guest instruments like cellos, violins and flutes. The next song is the relaxing 'The Permanent Way' which have some great details like the backing orchestrations parts and some spoken words that make this song one of the most emotional moments of the album. This musical journey ends the best way. 'Curator Of Butterflies' have nothing to envy from all the previous songs. An acoustic guitar , a passionate voice , some orchestration details and a magical outro are enough.

Big Big Train is one of the most charismatic bands of our times and I wish they'll get bigger because they deserve it. 'English Electric Part Two' is one of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard and I am not getting bored after so many listens. For me it's their second best after 'The Underfall Yard' and probably one of the best albums of 2013.


user ratings (39)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
aggelosm
June 2nd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You can listen the full album from their bandcamp page. http://bigbigtrain.bandcamp.com/

FANTASTIC ALBUM.

Mad.
June 2nd 2013


3832 Comments


Nice review, especially as I gather English is not your first language. Could do with more commas instead of full stops and therems the odd blip of Engrish hear and there but all in all it's good, have a pos!

This band's on my 'to-listen-to' list. Which of their albums should I start with?

aggelosm
June 2nd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you. I'll try to make the review better.
Well , 'The Underfall Yard' is my favorite by them. This one is a beast album too. Both 4.5 for me.

I suggest you to start with the underfall yard. The title track is 23 minutes long. Orgasm. Definitely their best song.

JS19
June 2nd 2013


4283 Comments


This finally got a review. Nice!

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

aggelosm
June 2nd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

:-D

warlordfun
June 2nd 2013


389 Comments


nice review man have a pos. i'll check this asap

AnimalsAsSummit
June 2nd 2013


740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Beat me 2 it

Digging: Bolzer - Soma

AnimalsAsSummit
June 2nd 2013


740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Madcreator I'd start with The Underfall Yard

aggelosm
June 2nd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Underfall Yard is one of favorite progressive rock songs.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2013


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Sadly I don't dig it as much as part 1. Good review.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

aggelosm
June 2nd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

part 1 is also great.

manosg
June 3rd 2013


6093 Comments


Nice review friend, pos.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

aggelosm
June 3rd 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks mano!

AnimalsAsSummit
June 5th 2013


740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

East Coast Racer honestly has the potential to be the greatest prog epic. The crescendo development from 8:47 - 11:41 is probably one of the best I've heard.

DrHouseSchuldiner
June 5th 2013


5643 Comments


Nice rev for a rockin' album

aggelosm
June 5th 2013


470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@AnimalAsSummit yes , East Coast Racer is a beast track too , but I have to stay with 'The Underfall Yard' as the prog epic.
@DrHouse thanks.

SirArthur6
July 1st 2013


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This thing needs more votes. Might just be my favourite album to come out this year.

Artuma
July 1st 2013


13111 Comments


heard one of their other albums and it was just incredibly good. need to check this

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - Blazing Fires and Helicopters on the Fro

Jethro42
July 1st 2013


12440 Comments


I need to check this too

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2013


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will listen soon, part one grew on me like..um..some really slow growing thing that grows a lot, nice review

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy