Etienne Sin
The Paradox Divide


1.0
awful

Review

by You have been banned for the following reason: fuck off USER (31 Reviews)
May 29th, 2013 | 92 replies | 4,687 views


Release Date: 04/19/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Warning - Side effects may include self-destructive or suicidal thoughts.

9 of 18 thought this review was well written

I hope to god you are not the future, Etienne.

I am 15 years old. I can make it through an Asking Alexandria album without a hitch. I am a self-proclaimed fan of Periphery and Veil of Maya, and have no difficulty taking a genre like "deathcore" seriously. That being said, this is an asinine, dull, and entirely naive piece of garbage, like every piece of music involving Etienne Sin.

I actually went through and listened to this whole EP from start to finish. I went through every pointless song, read every uninspired lyric, and suffered through every ear-wrenching fry scream.

I'm going to assume you already know the background of this guy. Yeah, he sings like a girl, and not in a good way. Yeah, he screams like he's trying too hard (P.S. he is). Yeah, he has an ego bigger than Kanye West's with no talent to back it up. Yeah, he plays breakdowns that are more than a dime a dozen, but what is there to say about Etienne that hasn't already been said?

I sure as hell don't have anything. Can this release really be worse than anything he has released in the past? Certainly. Whether it be the extreme, and I mean SEVERE irony to him screaming "Your scene is dead, this can't be stopped, I cannot be stopped." Or his unfortunate belief that "We are the future", Etienne finds his vanity and hollowness at an all time low here.

It's almost to hard to describe how awful and generic this EP is. It is almost (ALMOST) a downgrade from his releases in the past. It's the same dull song 7 times in a row. Sound fun to you? I didn't think so.

*** this, I'm going to go listen to some American Football.

Pros

- It has an ending

Cons

- Indescribably asinine
- Artificial, counterfeit, and uninspired
- Horrible lyrics and generic instrumentals



KILL IT WITH FIRE



Recent reviews by this author
Julia Brown An Abundance of StrawberriesElvis Depressedly mickey's dead
Alex G DSUFlower Face Homesick
Big Nig Marque un: le point de vue de nigs résuméRue Morgue Rue Morgue
user ratings (29)
Chart.
1.2
awful
other reviews of this album
PoisonCupcakes (1)
Etienne Sin said it himself, "I Don't Give A Damn" so why don't we just follow his lead?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Never again

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Just Got Back from the Discomfort

Lakes.
May 28th 2013



26868 Comments


"I am a self-proclaimed fan of Periphery and Veil of Maya"

Digging: BABYMETAL - Babymetal

sixdegrees
May 28th 2013



16917 Comments


I am 15 years old. I can make it through an Asking Alexandria album without a hitch. I am a self-proclaimed fan of Periphery and Veil of Maya, and have no difficulty taking a genre like "deathcore" seriously.


haha

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Sorry?

PunchforPunch
May 28th 2013



6228 Comments


well i'm 20

TheMoreira
May 28th 2013



7173 Comments


"I can make it through an Asking Alexandria album without a hitch. I am a self-proclaimed fan of Periphery and Veil of Maya, and have no difficulty taking a genre like "deathcore" seriously. That being said, this is an asinine, dull, and entirely naive piece of garbage, like every piece of music involving Etienne Sin."

Okay so apart of our 5 year difference you sound a lot like me to an extent. And you don't like this. This admittedly points out that i shall never listen to this.

Haha anyway yeah, listened to 2 or 3 songs by this guy a while ago.. I swear i don't get the world sometimes.

Digging: Ulcerate - The Destroyers of All

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Totally agree Moreira.

And please, don't listen to this. I'm not even sure why I took the time to review this. I guess I just wanted to practice writing 1 reviews.

Scoot
May 28th 2013



17731 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

oddly enough this review actually fits the quality of the music

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Scoot.

Gonna go kill myself now.

TheMoreira
May 28th 2013



7173 Comments


LOL scoot. I won't go as far as saying the review is professional or anything beyond a rant tbh. Still, i do believe he speaks truth and why even bothering reviewing this correctly. I think we can all agree on that, and the dude has wrote some good stuff, it seems.

Your Dance Gavin Dance review seems cool btw Yak. Keep it up man, cheers.

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man, it's good to hear positive words.

Nice CoC review, even if I didn't dig that album too much.



TheMoreira
May 28th 2013



7173 Comments


Don't mention. And cheers.

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Cheers.

mindleviticus
May 28th 2013



8220 Comments


I'm listening to his first album right now

Cygnatti
May 28th 2013



21350 Comments


I am 15 years old. I can make it through an Asking Alexandria album without a hitch. I am a self-proclaimed fan of Periphery and Veil of Maya, and have no difficulty taking a genre like "deathcore" seriously. That being said, this is an asinine, dull, and entirely naive piece of garbage, like every piece of music involving Etienne Sin.
my sides, they hurt so much from laughing.

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Glad I could do that for you Cyg.


mindleviticus
May 28th 2013



8220 Comments


review is lmaobad. At least it's short and to the point, though.

YakNips
May 28th 2013



9703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Not sure why I even wrote this, took like 5 minutes.

Just ranting.

mindleviticus
May 28th 2013



8220 Comments


This was a fun read dude

TheMoreira
May 28th 2013



7173 Comments


My pov too. It's a fast and fun read



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy