Chevelle
Sci-Fi Crimes


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nick Mongiardo CONTRIBUTOR (78 Reviews)
May 28th, 2013 | 12 replies | 803 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Easily Chevelle's best record to date.

When it comes to bands that play alternative rock or metal, there is usually an overwhelming amount of polish that goes into them. Samples are often used and the vocals are perfected to be exactly the way that the band wants them to sound. Though this is not necessarily a bad thing, sometimes it is more evident than it should be. Chevelle chose to take the mother of all risks and just go into the studio and play without the use of samples and cleaned up vocals to give the album more of a live feel. This risk was certainly not misguided because it pays off remarkably well because the album boasts exemplary lyrics, fantastic music, and a great vocal performance from Pete Loeffler for the most part.

Pete Loeffler may not be as versatile as some other alternative metal artists, but he certainly gets the job done. For the most part, he hits notes with ease and almost near strains to hit a note. Though he is not perfect, he is capable of being quite powerful and the opening track, "Sleep Apnea," is the perfect example of his amazing vocals. The same can be said about the band's lyrics because they are quite absorbing. The record contains a wide variety of content, but some tracks are not set in stone because they can be taken in numerous directions. However, some are quite clever because "Jars" is about a play on words: trying to put the environment into jars to protect it. "Letter From a Thief" is about how some of their gear was stolen on tour. The lyrics are very diverse, clever, thought-provoking, and enjoyable to the ears.

When it comes to the bands musicianship on Sci-Fi Crimes, they do not disappoint. The bass and drums are very fitting and each guitar riff is exceptionally stirring. "Jars" and "Shameful Metaphors" is quite catchy while "Roswell's Spell," Mexican Sun" and "Sleep Apnea" are incredibly empowering. "Fell into your Shoes" has the best guitar riff on the album and it is quite a memorable song as a whole. All of this aside, the album is still a little top heavy. "Highland's Apparition" has great lyrics as always, but the acoustic nature of this song simply doesn't suit Loeffler's voice and it's easily the worst song on the album. The last two tracks are quite decent, but they are not as memorable as anything in the top half of the album.

Chevelle outdid anything that they ever created before this because they showed that you don't any samples or perfect vocals for a record to be exceptional. Standout tracks like "Sleep Apnea" and "Roswell's Spell" really showcases how fantastic this band can be. Sci-Fi Crimes is essentially incredible raw music and any fans who have never heard this record is missing out on the band's best material to date.

Pros
-Powerful vocals
-Clever and absorbing lyrics
-Great raw sound

Cons
-Highlands Apparition
-A little top heavy



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionDeftones Saturday Night Wrist
Deftones DeftonesA Bunny's Caravan Draining Puddles, Retrieving Treasures
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereAnberlin Lowborn
user ratings (944)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013



3415 Comments


Just saying, you've improved a shit ton since your first few reviews. Have a pos. Would you like some more detailed feedback?

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 28th 2013



9603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks! And yea definitely.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013



3415 Comments


All right, here goes then (and be prepared, usually I go pretty in-depth):

an overwhelming amount of polish that goes into them

Vague pronoun: who is "them?" The bands, or their music?

Samples are often used and the vocals are perfected to be exactly the way that the band wants them to sound. Though this is not necessarily a bad thing, sometimes it is more evident than it should be.

1. This seems just a bit unnecessary. You don't really need to describe exactly what the "polish" means (especially with "Samples are often used" as that part is totally superfluous).
2. Why is it bad to be "evident?" I love when things are polished, personally.

Chevelle chose to take the mother of all risks and just go into the studio and play without the use of samples and cleaned up vocals to give the album more of a live feel.

"Mother of all risks" is excessively casual - not necessarily bad, but just not good for this place. Also, the sentence is just a bit long and run-on - maybe split it in two?

This risk was certainly not misguided because it pays off remarkably well because the album boasts exemplary lyrics

two "becauses" in a short span, fix it

almost near strains

Don't really know what this means

The same can be said about the band's lyrics because they are quite absorbing.

This is mostly stylistic, but I'd change "because" to "as"

but some tracks are not set in stone because they can be taken in numerous directions.

Again, don't really know what this means

However, some are quite clever because "Jars" is about a play on words: trying to put the environment into jars to protect it.

They're not clever because Jars is a play on words, they're clever, and "Jars" is an example of their cleverness.

more next comment

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013



3415 Comments


"Letter From a Thief" is about how some of their gear was stolen on tour. The lyrics are very diverse, clever, thought-provoking, and enjoyable to the ears.

1. don't need the first sentence, it doesn't add anything
2. "enjoyable to the ears" isn't necessary, just make it "enjoyable"

When it comes to the bands musicianship on Sci-Fi Crimes, they do not disappointment.

proofreading, man

"Jars" and "Shameful Metaphors" is quite catchy

are

"Highland's Apparition" has great lyrics as always, but the acoustic nature of this song simply doesn't suit Loeffler's voice and it's easily the worst song on the album.

This is probably the best point you've made so far in the review. Rather than say vague things like "it's incredible" and "it's really memorable" you point out specifically what's wrong with it and say why it's wrong. Keep this in mind when you continue to write: specificity is key. Nail down exactly what you like or not and the review gets way easier. As you get better, you'll find it's easier to stray from that idea of explicitly stating things, but that comes with time.

quite decent

"quite" is unnecessary

Chevelle outdid anything that they ever created before this because they showed that you don't any samples or perfect vocals for a record to be exceptional

use something like "samples blah blah are not necessary for a record to blah," since "you" shifts the center of attention awkwardly.

Overall: really nice improvement over your previous work. Your writing is still just a bit rough, and it seems as though you don't have as much experience as some of the star writers on the site. You've clearly got a strong foundation, though, and with time you'll get a lot better.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 28th 2013



9603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks I really don't have as much experience, but I love doing this. Read my review for Linkin Parks A Thousand Suns because that was imo my best so far. Anyways I have some editing to do. The "disappointment" thing was just a dumb mistake haha

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013



3415 Comments


That's how we all started, I think. Read some of my earlier reviews as well - they're way lower quality than my current ones. It takes time, sure, but as long as you love doing it this should be awesome.

FCY
May 28th 2013



205 Comments


Pos'd. Thanks for reminding me about this album, I enjoy it much more than the bull record so I'll
give it a few spins.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 28th 2013



9603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been listening to this in my car lately and I'm just like why haven't I reviewed this yet haha

PistolPete
May 29th 2013



3579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review man! reminds me how shitty my review is for this album

brostep's right, you just get better and better with practice

Digging: Jolly - The Audio Guide to Happiness (Part 2)

JokineAugustus
August 27th 2013



5856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Band is quite consistent, but I don't think they'll ever reach classic status IMO. Shameful Metaphors and Letter From a Thief rule.

Digging: Renaissance - Scheherazade and Other Stories

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2013



9603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh wow I forgot I reviewed this haha. This record is so good. Sleep Apnea and Jars all the way.

savaah
April 7th 2014



407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just gave this another spin (including the three bonus tracks) and I can safely say this is their best. I have to lower that rating though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy