Part Myth Part Legend
Almagest Codex


3.5
great

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
May 28th, 2013 | 16 replies


Release Date: 05/25/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Part Myth Part Legend may not live up to their name yet, but they’re certainly on the right path.

Almagest Codex is an ambitious EP from a young band. Part Myth Part Legend have relied heavily on their influences to create a debut EP that wants for more creative juices, but ultimately impresses. It impresses because this is clearly a talented band and they have nowhere to go but up. It also impresses because despite wearing their influences on their sleeves, their energy and go-to-it-ness is exciting, with the listener equally enthused after hearing it. Their aggression is a bit startling considering the generally melodious nature of the music, but it does prod interest.

Easily the most distinctive part of the band’s sound is contributed by the lead male vocalist. He has a high-pitched delivery similar to Anthony Green or Charles Finn, only his vocals are even louder and more ear-splitting. I personally found his vocals a bit irritating despite my generally liking high-pitched vocals, but opinions will differ. I also noticed his voice to be nasally, which is never good. However, he hits the high notes surprisingly well (perhaps in part to autotune?) – whatever the case he certainly has pipes.

Almagest Codex is heavy on time signature toying, with some interesting song writing. The burst of screams in ‘Veneka’ after a trippy Tool-like section is brilliant; I also dig the riff-crazy moment in ‘Vita Lyrica’ at 2:23. Originally I believed the band’s sound leaned more towards Circa Survive, but I’m feeling a strong The Mars Volta vibe. They generally get their hands too dirty to sound as calm or smooth as Circa Survive. With immense vocals, crazy synthesizers, and the drummer’s pounding, frenetic fills mixed together, the result is a snowstorm that the listener is caught in the middle of.

Almagest Codex hits more than it misses despite vocals that may overstay their welcome. The EP does ultimately sound too samey, but the music is generally tasteful with enough stand-out moments and gusto to remain interesting. The band has untapped potential, but in the meantime Almagest Codex is a great start.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Immoralist Widow
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
May 27th 2013


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album stream: https://soundcloud.com/part-myth-part-legend

wassup?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


7127 Comments


and what do we have here?

pizzamachine
May 27th 2013


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

An excellent review? ;)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


7127 Comments


yeah but there's no pos button so how can i tell ; ]

pizzamachine
May 27th 2013


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I dunno, how about using your BRAIN? ;)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


7127 Comments


where do you find that on sputnikmusic?

I'm actually thinking i should give this album a go lol

pizzamachine
May 27th 2013


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's a worth try for sure

infinitetcetera
May 27th 2013


38 Comments


The vocalist's range definitely gives me some pause, I don't hate the timbre as much as I thought I might. Weird/cool dissonance and harmonies too. Excellent review indeed sir, I'm excited to see what a full-length from these dudes would sound like.

Mental pos, even though your username makes me hungry.

dawija1017
May 28th 2013


574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The singer is from Australia btw

leobrodinho
May 29th 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Part myth, part legend, part crap. I couldnt hate more a vocalist. I'll have nightmares for weeks. The review is good. The band is technically good, but dont delliver nothing special. Not even non special. It's impossible to listen it more than once and generally it is a characteristic of the mediocre.

dawija1017
May 29th 2013


574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One might say the same of the newest Ministry album =/

pizzamachine
May 29th 2013


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tbh I probably won't listen to this album again but it wasn't that bad.

leobrodinho
May 31st 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Most people say that of the newest Ministry album. It's not a personal comment. Dont take the pain to you. I didnt like the album at all and gave my main reason, the vocals.

dawija1017
May 31st 2013


574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I can understand if it was just that, but what you said was pretty unnecessarily harsh (nightmares for weeks?) ... you're just one of those guys that enjoys putting people down

leobrodinho
June 2nd 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ministry again. If I like to put people down only I would never write that of the newest Ministry record. And I could tell zillions of good things about lots of bands that I like (my playlist at the moment - Drive Like Jehu, Corsair, Novos Baianos and Mother Superior) And nightmares for weeks was really harsh, i admit, but not impolite as you think.

swordsforhands
August 3rd 2013


425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome band, especially considering it's just two guys. I'm a sucker for this type of music, especially the instrumental side. Vocalist has an incredible voice, too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy