Evile
Skull


2.5
average

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (67 Reviews)
May 27th, 2013 | 109 replies


Release Date: 05/27/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After seven years Evile still show no signs of progression.

If I had to describe Evile’s career with one word it would be “samey.” They have a very formulaic and downright generic approach to metal that they very rarely, if ever, deviate from. Five Serpent’s Teeth was a step in the right direction – the riffs were faster, the hooks were better, and overall it wasn’t the same thrash-by-the-numbers snoozefest like the rest of their catalog. But this brief period of progression was no more than a fluke, as proven by 2013’s Skull, which is a classic case of one step forward, two steps back.

Instead of relying solely on speed to grab your attention, Evile takes a more melodic approach with Skull – this is both a good and bad thing. Some of the hooks are nice, namely the passionate guitar solo at the end of ‘Tomb’, the wonderful dual guitar solo in ‘Head of the Demon’, and the forty or so second outro of the same song which sounds like a rejected Deliverance-era Opeth riff being far and away the best moment of the album. However this increase of melody really shows the band members’ limits, such as Matt Drake’s less than stellar clean singing and the guitarists’ inability to write an interesting interlude. You’d think that a break from insanity for a few seconds would be nice, but more often than not the soft passages do nothing more than leave you waiting for the next distorted riff to come blasting through your speakers.

It’s no surprise that Evile’s greatest strength is still their speed, and they do deliver some bangers. Opener ‘Underworld’ is a standard thrasher that aptly prepares you for the mind numbing beat-down that is Skull. ‘The Naked Sun’ is a good example of their signature speedy riff style fused with just the right amount of melody, and ‘Outsider’ is nothing more than three and a half minutes of maniacal, merciless thrash. Yet at this point even their tremolo-picked style of riffing has become one-dimensional – there’s no spark, no hint of ingenuity that separates them from the crowd and makes you want to come back and listen again. Everything on Skull has been done better on Enter the Grave and Five Serpents’ Teeth, and done even better by countless other bands which makes the existence of Skull ultimately redundant.



Recent reviews by this author
Septycal Gorge Scourge of the Formless BreedXerath III
Inanimate Existence A Never-Ending Cycle of AtonementWithin the Ruins Phenomena
Sonic Syndicate Sonic SyndicateOrigin Omnipresent
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
VisionsFromTheDarkSide (3)
Groundhog day......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


21255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Recommended tracks: The Naked Sun, Head of the Demon, Words of the Dead


short review, didnt feel i needed to describe it much since youve heard it all before

head of the demon is a pretty kickass song though

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

tempest--
May 27th 2013


13626 Comments


yea pretty short review dude but i can't see how this would be only 2.5

they're not Sylolsis

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


21255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wouldn't really compare these guys to sylosis but they're both mediocre for different reasons

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


7047 Comments


Getting the same kind of vibe, but it turns out a little better if you're just looking for a little thrash-y 'fun'

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


21255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

even then there are so many better fun thrash albums to listen to. i mean this isn't bad, its just really harmless and forgettable imo

NonApplicable
May 27th 2013


1962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sylosis...? mediocre...?

That's a good one!

Mister Twister
May 27th 2013


1615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Everybody rate it a 5 to nullify the 2.5

NeoSpaz
May 27th 2013


4519 Comments


Goddammit NonApplicable.

Anyway, this band is ok for like 1 song then I lose interest, good review man

BigPleb
May 27th 2013


36740 Comments


Band has been on a slippery slope since their debut.

dante1991
May 27th 2013


544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While I think this is better than a 2.5, I agree with you on many points.
Enter the Grave was their best due to them having lyrics which are much more fun/tongue in cheek ("Killer from the Deep", "Thrasher", "First Blood") along with faster riffs.

Evile seriously need to change things up a bit (I thought there was supposed to be a death metal influence on this. That sounded like it could be interesting, but I can't hear it tbh). There's nothing particularly wrong with this album, except that it all sounds too similar and it's getting to be a bit thrash-by-numbers.

I thought the title track was pretty cool though, almost progressive in places.

dante1991
May 27th 2013


544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought their debut was great fun, and really enjoyed Five Serpents. You're right though, if they
keep going this way, they're gonna fade into obscurity...

apert
May 27th 2013


3032 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i'm listening now, there's nothing inherently wrong with the album, but its just boring and an obvious rip off of 80s bands

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


20746 Comments


Doubt I'll bother checking this out. Only heard their debut and that was nothing special.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

NonApplicable
May 27th 2013


1962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goddammit NonApplicable

lol! They're baiting me on man!

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2013


21255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"i'm listening now, there's nothing inherently wrong with the album, but its just boring and an obvious rip off of 80s bands"

that's my main problem with this band. there's nothing unique about them at all and i can't think of a single reason to listen to them over slayer, megadeth, sodom, etc

bloc
May 27th 2013


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Shit, this isn't the band that did the Ninja Turtles theme?

Downloaded this for nothing...

NonApplicable
May 27th 2013


1962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i can't think of a single reason to listen to them over slayer, megadeth, sodom, etc

Songwriting ability? Unfortunately, it doesn't seem particularly great here.

Head of the Demon is pretty awesome though



BlackLlama
May 27th 2013


1672 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree 100% with this review. Stunningly average release.

BlackLlama
May 27th 2013


1672 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wouldn't really compare these guys to sylosis but they're both mediocre for different reason"

There are a few bands that are falling into that mediocre rut. Sylosis, The Sorrow, KSE... all throwing out samey releases. Kinda like just 1 step above radio rock bands like Creed and Nickelback.

I'm holding out hope that August Burns Red or Of Mice and Men do something decent.


NonApplicable
May 27th 2013


1962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think you may have some brain damage.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy