Integrity
Suicide Black Snake


3.0
good

Review

by I am TheMoreira for we are many. USER (13 Reviews)
May 24th, 2013 | 47 replies | 4,114 views


Release Date: 06/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The album in which Dwid discovers the meaning of life.

Integrity are a band who define the word 'esoteric.' From the dark, macabre brilliance in the early nineties to the Earth Crisis and Misfits-posturing of the 2000s and the experimental maturation within the 2010s, the band has been through so many phases it's hard to count. So where does that leave Integrity in 2013?

Well according to mainman Dwid Hellion, a darker, rawer outfit that dwells in its own little Nietzechien world. With their latest album, it's hard to argue the point. Suicide Black Snake is far more stripped down than its predecessor both in production and song length. This album shows a far more focused set of influences than The Blackest Curse's metaophorical melting pot. Rob Orr's guitar work is a mutant hybrid of John Christ and Randy Uchida as well as the obvious blues influence in the ingenius use of a harmonica in 'There Ain't No Livin' In Life.' These influences slide effortlessly into the album's overall framework and really push the gothic horror atmosphere into far more mature, brooding territory. This is the album at its best.

Unfortunately on the flipside the same rigid adherance to the framework that Aaron Melnick created still seems to hold the band back at times. Some songs just feel as if Rob Orr is just trying to force his style of guitarwork into the structures from earlier albums. On occasion it can work, 'There Is A Sign,' for example sounds like a dead ringer for a track from Seasons In The Size of Days however the merger just feels awkward in songs like 'Detonate VVorld Plagues' and 'Beasts As Gods.' Also there are many ideas that feel completely clumsy or unfinished: 'All Is None' feels like a senseless waste of riffs; 'Suicide Black Snake' builds up to a worthless climax; and Dwid's vocals on 'Into The Night' are shoddily lumped onto a set of Uchida-esque leads that go nowhere.

This leaves the album feeling rather half-baked. While there's no denying this album has it's high points those high points are only when a song feels well thought out and/or original and when nearly half the songs feel awkward or clumsy, it does leave this album quite lacking. Combine that with the fact two thirds of this album is re-recorded material that has been put out two or three times before, it does leave one feeling quite disappointed.

For all the complaints that can be levelled against this album though, it's bright spots do show a lot of promise, especially in growing away from the Melnickian template. It remains to be seen whether they can capitalise on this but if they can and if they can get the consistency of the songwriting down, then the next album should be something truly special.



Recent reviews by this author
Fall of Because Life Is EasyHusker Du Everything Falls Apart
Gridlock FormlessCompromise Compromise
Black Dog Productions BytesGodflesh Decline & Fall
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Dormition (4)
Integrity are merely continuing the evolution of their sound, all the while retaining that trademark...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ResidentNihilist
May 24th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The other guy is probably going to lynch me for not giving it the same rating.

Evreaia
May 24th 2013


4031 Comments


This rating is more correct. Such a disappointment.

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

Dormition
May 24th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I won't lynch you, in fact it's refreshing to read your take on it. After a few weeks of playing this album (even before the recent stream), it really grew on me, and it ultimately had more lasting power than The Blackest Curse. At first I wasn't convinced of the albums success, but it became apparaent with repeat listens. I dig the shortness of those few faster tracks, which are bookended by the more slower ones. The music is simple in execution, but it harkens back to their older material, which I'm sure most everyone enjoys. Dwid hasn't lost his touch, and albeit some corny lyrics, the guy still has that recognized bellow of his. I just really enjoyed the album, more so than I thought I would.

ViperAces
May 24th 2013


12428 Comments


good review, i agree with the high points, but your low points are also high points for me

ResidentNihilist
May 24th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you guys, really appreciate the feedback . I can see where you're coming from in terms of it being a grower, I think it could be so my rating may go up slightly but I'll wait and see how that turns out.

Viper, how do you mean those negatives became positives for you?

Also check out Master's Unreleased Album 85', it kicks major fucking arse.

ViperAces
May 24th 2013


12428 Comments


how can i check it if its unreleased?

i meant that the songs you mentioned, especially into the night, are some of my favs. there aint no is prob the best

ResidentNihilist
May 24th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's the album title of that Master album. The label just titled it as Unreleased Album 85 and left it at that when they released it. Pretty stupid tbh.

Ah ok gotcha. Cheers for clarifying.

ViperAces
May 24th 2013


12428 Comments


i cant find it here, could you link me up?

how can you not like into the night? its so catchy

ResidentNihilist
May 24th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Into The Night was originally an instrumental track with voice samples over the top of it. When I ever hear it now though, it just feels like the vocals were badly placed over a track that wasn't meant to be a vocal track in the first place so it all sounds really lumpen as hell. Honestly if they'd rewrote the song a bit or adapted the vocals to the song itself better it would've been far better.

ViperAces
May 25th 2013


12428 Comments


how do you know that? was it released on some EP or something?

fromtheinside
May 25th 2013


18202 Comments


what an esoteric band

Digging: Tragedy - Vengeance

ResidentNihilist
May 25th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Viper, this was the original demo track. It appeared with some of the other tracks on the album.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maidZ-SIIos

ViperAces
May 25th 2013


12428 Comments


maybe you feel that way about the track because you heard the demo version first, for me the vocals fit perfectly

Scoot
May 27th 2013


17748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ain't no living in life is one of my favorites of the year

ViperAces
May 27th 2013


12428 Comments


that song is awesome, yeah

ViperAces
May 27th 2013


12428 Comments


damn, easily one of my favs of this year

Owantjaaaa
June 30th 2013


3231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3,5 is too low

Digging: Roses Never Fade - Devil Dust

Sunn177
August 16th 2013


286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i gotta admit it I really can't vibe with this album. As much as I love Integrity's early stuff the material they've been putting out lately has been a little bland to me.I always hope though with each new record they put out. Great review Resident agree with this review a lot.

demigod!
August 16th 2013


44341 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

albums okay, didnt' dig as much as blackest curse though

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

ResidentNihilist
August 16th 2013


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers guys, I think the main problem with this album is the consistency and the choice of stuff they re-recorded. I mean the Black Heksen Rise EP they put out a while back was amazing, almost Those Who Fear level, but this is in comparison feels like such a let down. Plus they also had a ream of better material that really did need re-recording and yet they chose the worst of it for the re-recording.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy