CunninLynguists
Will Rap For Food


4.0
excellent

Review

by frigyourgenre USER (1 Reviews)
May 20th, 2013 | 16 replies | 2,410 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The closest you ever came to a punchline was waiting for refreshments at the prom in 89

3 of 5 thought this review was well written

Right from the opening track you can tell cunninlynguists are poor, hungry, and have a strong hatred for commercial rappers . The first thing that grabbed me was the production. It has a gritty southern feel with a New York style boom bap under tone. Quite different compared to other releases.

This album boasts lots of battle raps and subject matter much different than their newer material which focuses on more conscious flows. Will rap for food is filled with fun, humor and tons of *** talking but, also has it’s serious moments as well. For example, on mic like a memory deacon and kno touch on their struggle coming up in the rap game and their dependency on drugs and alcohol. Also losing family members. The track

***inwichu is one of those hilarious moments where Deacon and Kno rap about random over the top things similar to Eminem’s alter ego slim shady. Also sampling him in the process. Family Ties takes a stab at their parents and how they didn’t provide and weren’t around much growing up. The album wraps up with one of my favorite track 616 Rewind. The track features Celph Titled and Tonedeff who absolutely murder their guest spots with some of the best verses on the album. Overall, a very solid effort from the Lynguists with excellent production.

Cons:
Some of Kno’s rapping
Some filler

Pros:
Beats
616 Rewind

Recommended Tracks:
-Thugged Out Since Cub Scouts
-Lynguistics
-Mic Like A Memory
-Ain't No Way
-Halfanimal
-616 Rewind


user ratings (169)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
frigyourgenre
May 20th 2013



1407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is my first review give me some feedback

Digging: Amon Tobin - Supermodified

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



6065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review seems really rushed, consider some transitions and expand a little more on some of the points you make, particularly things that you like.

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

EaglesBecomeVultures
May 20th 2013



5193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos because you reviewed will rap for food and not oneirology

review needs work though

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

Ricochet
May 20th 2013



1764 Comments


one of my favourite albums
negd review though

sideburndude
May 20th 2013



2782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay a review

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



6065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wait wtf did this not have a review before?

Cygnatti
May 20th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

loved this, preferred it to oneirology tbh.

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Cygnatti
May 20th 2013



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos because you reviewed will rap for food and not oneirology

review needs work though [2]

ConcubinaryCode
May 20th 2013



2033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this has some great songs but i still prefer southernunderground.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



6065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best cunninlynguists probs

frigyourgenre
May 20th 2013



1407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not their best still awsome though

frigyourgenre
May 20th 2013



1407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Commons like water for chocolate is in need of a review too

bloc
May 20th 2013



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So good

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



6065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

same with illadelph halflife iirc

i wish i liked these guys more since i'm from kentucky but they just seem so overrated to me

CK
June 27th 2013



4888 Comments


Lol album title

demigod!
September 28th 2013



43891 Comments


im broke as shiiit


Digging: Black Flag - My War



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy