Glassjaw
Worship and Tribute


3.0
good

Review

by yidnarc USER (18 Reviews)
May 18th, 2013 | 38 replies | 1,613 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Although this isn't a great album and it keeps getting held back by its same sounding songs and lack of a decent production, it's still a solid album that longtime fans of the band will wanna hear.

0 of 17 thought this review was well written

Way back in 2002, after even Everything you wanted to Know About Silence, Glassjaw released Woshrip and Tribute, to mixed success. On one hand its a cool, raw, unrefined post hardcore classic but on the other its maybe a little TOO raw and unrefined for my tastes. It certainly starts out pretty cool with the song Tip Your Bartender, likely a little nod to the band's name. Its a very interesting guitar intro; who knew that the guys could play so well way back then? But unfortunately that is not long lived as it quickly transitions into Mu Empire. That leads me to my first problem, which is the titles. They use to have the Fall Out Boy syndrome where their titles would always be a thousand words long and make no sense. Hardly a major concern though, the song itself is pretty good. Its got a catchy dissonant riff and some cool vocals.

Vocals are interesting on this album; Daryls's voice hadn't really changed since then, so the vocals on this album seem very raw. Sometimes they actually work in the songs favor like here and Stuck Pig, but they seem to get a little more worn as the album goes on. Maybe they recorded it all at once, I don't know. What I do know is that the vocals for the first few songs are great, but you can't really say the same thing about the silly lyrics. If you couldn't guess the album is about heartbreakers then just close your browser and go to bed. The lyrics are very silly and metalcore esque, and though they aren't technically bad, it just feels really over the top. Having said all that the songs themselves are very good.

And like so many other albums, after the first few tracks, it kind of starts repeating itself. Ape Dos Mil is another great song and has a really cool riff and Stuck Pig is a weird but sort of cool dissonance song. But after that the songs start to kind of sound the same with maybe the acception of Trailer Park Jesus. The only downside is that it's 5 minutes long and definitely wears out it's welcome before too long. And by the end you're kind of bored and just want to go back and listen to the beginning again, but overall it's definitely not a bad album. I think Glassjaw learned from their mistakes and made a slightly more polished album with Coloring Book. But its definitely an interesting ride to take to go back and see what they used to sound like.



Recent reviews by this author
Defeater TravelsGlassjaw Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About
Letlive. Fake HistoryWeezer Death to False Metal
Weezer HurleyWeezer Raditude
user ratings (1842)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
yidnarc
May 18th 2013



147 Comments


better than the first album i know

chesse13
May 18th 2013



2326 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They use to have the Fall Out Boy syndrome where their titles would always be a thousand words long and make no sense.

what

Rev
May 18th 2013



9296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review is bad and you should feel bad

Calc
May 18th 2013



10899 Comments


awful awful review :]

didn't expect anything less!

sixdegrees
May 18th 2013



15785 Comments


wow another gr8 review, have a pos

Digging: Tam Tam - Polarize

BeeRyan
May 18th 2013



23 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Completely inaccurate review, sorry.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2013



48574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"On one hand its a cool, raw, unrefined post hardcore classic but on the other its maybe a little TOO raw and unrefined for my tastes."

my god this is a terrible sentence

"That leads me to my first problem, which is the titles."

don't need "which" plus you already mentioned like 2-3 problems

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2013



48574 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Vocals are interesting on this album;"

The purpose of a semi-colon is not so you can make the first part of the sentence not make sense, just put a fucking "The" at the beginning and you won't need it.

Crymsonblaze
May 18th 2013



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

Sharpside
May 18th 2013



61 Comments


This entire review is a mess. Try again, buddy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2013



9503 Comments


Woshrip and Tribute,

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Skoj
May 18th 2013



919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2edgy4me

Digging: Kvelertak - Kvelertak

YoYoMancuso
May 18th 2013



10175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Glassjaw released Woshrip and Tribute


holy shit

Digging: The Wonder Years - The Greatest Generation

pizzamachine
May 18th 2013



12568 Comments


NEG

Blaizend
May 18th 2013



647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[Load of bullshit]

['Having said all that the songs themselves are very good.']

Negged.

sniper
May 18th 2013



18590 Comments


saying this album sounds samey is pretty absurd regardless of your opinion on its quality. there is tons of variation here.

coocoocachoo
May 18th 2013



221 Comments


lololool

sniper
May 18th 2013



18590 Comments


Vocals are interesting on this album; Daryls's voice hadn't really changed since then, so the vocals on this album seem very raw. Sometimes they actually work in the songs favor like here and Stuck Pig
atrocious writing.

johnnydeking29
May 18th 2013



8678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its a very interesting guitar intro; who knew that the guys could play so well way back then?

I almost pos'd; sadly the rest was total shit

Digging: Naked City - Naked City

Crymsonblaze
May 18th 2013



7321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty funny



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy